Listening to a knock-knock-knock on my inner door

Looking to distant horizons

Sometimes deep inside a knock comes.  Persistently it knocks.  Steadily it calls.  “Come and answer the door,” it says, “and do not delay.”

You walk out, perhaps onto a sandy beach, and listen quietly in the dawn for your inner visitor to reveal its purpose.  “What do you want?” you ask your deepest self.

If you are lucky–and listen well–the inner visitor will speak.  You may feel the words as an answer to a longing.  It may feel like a breeze on your cheek.  But when you walk away from the beach, you’ll know what you must do.

Just wanting to share with all of you…I’ve booked a ticket out to California for this upcoming weekend.  Even though it feels so soon after the Florida trip to visit family, this journey feels right.  I’ll be traveling to visit a friend on a mountaintop near Yosemite, followed by a drive up to Lake Tahoe to visit another friend. 

In many ways, it feels like a spiritual quest.  A pilgrimage to…someplace the deepest self…needs to travel right now.  Hopefully I’ll be able to share some photos with you. 

(And, best of all, the ticket was free!  I have enough accumulated frequent flyer miles.  Plus, it’s a slow time of year with both my part-time jobs, so… stay tuned…distant horizons beckon.)

20 responses to “Listening to a knock-knock-knock on my inner door

  1. Kathy – I’m reallying enjoying the photograph you used today. Sort of like a telescope looking into the distance …

    … Your up and coming Spiritual Quest sounds Divine (no pun intended). I know you will have an enlightening time.

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/

  2. Thanks for sharing the musings and calling of the spirit when it is needed the most…Have a wonderful peaceful time…

    Kim

  3. this is a really cool shot.
    i like it

  4. I’m looking forward to the journey.

  5. I wish you a wonderful and spiritually fulfilling pilgrimage west, Kathy. You’ve earned some time out. We’ll be here to welcome you back. :-)

    • Thank you so much, Reggie. Don’t know whether I’ll be able to post photos–or blogs–most days, or whether there won’t be Internet in certain places.

  6. Many blessings on your travel quest…lovely photo today.

  7. Have a wonderful trip! So exciting…

  8. Have a wonderful trip!

    And great photo!

  9. If you find the Holy Grail, let me know. :) Looking forward to your recount of your visit to Yosemite.

    • The Holy Grail, Scott? Oh my goodness, do you suppose…? Smiling. I don’t know if I will actually get to Yosemite. I think probably I will mostly stay on my friend’s mountaintop near Yosemite. Don’t you think there will good pictures there, as well?

  10. Have a wonderful journey. Riches yield their beauty when we listen like that. Knock Knock. I love that you have answered “Yes!”. Love, S

    • Hi Suzi! Less than two days now…have talked (or emailed) with both friends today. Can’t wait!! (You see, it’s great to live in the boondocks, but also great to be able to travel, as well…)

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

