Daily Archives: June 11, 2010

My mom just sent me to my room…

My mother just sent me to my room.

Honest.

We finished eating the most delicious Mexican chicken over spaghetti–plus steamed pea pods–and she said, “Kathy, go to your room and write your blog now.”

So…what does any good daughter do?  Goes to her room, of course!  And writes TWO blogs!  Can you imagine it?  What kind of person writes two blogs while she is on vacation? 

Someone who has 153 photos and six billion words running around in her head, that’s who.

Maybe my mom will let me out of my room when I get both of these blogs written.

Mackinac Bridge...bridging two peninsulas

OK, I’m downstate in Yale in the Thumb of our great state of Michigan.  I could write until midnight and still not tell you all the Exciting Things that have happened.  If you want to read my post from yesterday, skip on over to the Baby Blog.  Last night (while awaiting my brother and sister-in-law to arrive in Bellaire) I wandered into the third coffee shop of the day and played on the computer while anticipating their arrival.  Click here if you want to read that exciting blog, too.

I have at least a dozen photos to show you about Bellaire cuz I couldn’t stop clicking photos.  But those shall have to wait.  Instead you can view the Lake Michigan and Mackinac Bridge photos from yesterday.  And I shall share some of the songs I listened to on the radio.  Because you can’t imagine how exciting it is to finally get at least 20 radio stations!  It’s like heaven!  I kept scanning between all twenty, over and over again.  The songs are in italics as this blog continues.

One of these nights…in between the dark and the light…swear I’m gonna find you…

First, you guys must appreciate the bridge photos.  Because I have a secret to tell you.  Actually it’s not a secret.  Since I was four years old and tried to cross a swinging wooden bridge…I’ve been scared of bridges.  When the kids were young and we traveled downstate I would insist upon story-telling and loud singing as we crossed the bridge.  My heart palpitated and great fear filled my body!  I knew we would careen off into the Deep Blue of Lake Michigan. My hands would sweat.  It was horrific.

Yesterday I–this is so weird to type–actually casually took photos as I crossed the bridge at 25 mph.  This goes to prove that phobias can be cured!  Of course I didn’t actually aim the camera while taking the pictures.  That would have been too dangerous.  I kinda positioned the camera in the general direction of the bridge and snapped.  Luckily some of the photos turned out!

Who is taking pics of the bridge while driving?? Shame! Hands on the wheel...

No one could look as good as you…MERCY!…Pretty Woman.  You look as lovely as can be.  What do I see? Is she walking back to me?

It was lovely to stop along Lake Michigan and amble along the shore.  It was cool in the Upper Peninsula yesterday. Maybe in the 60′s.  A sweatshirt was needed.  I parked the car and walked down on the dunes.  Took at least 50 photos. 

Ohmygoodness...look up above!

Cracklin’ Rosie get on board, we’re gonna ride…you got the way to make me happy…you make me sing like a guitar humming…

The cottage that my brother and his wife own in Bellaire is maybe six or seven hours away from our house in the Upper Peninsula.  You have to drive four and a half hours east, followed by one and a half hours south and west.  My parents bought this cottage when I was thirteen years old.  We grew up along the shores of  Intermediate Lake playing on paddleboards and swimming in the waters.  I am so glad my brother bought the place…and it remains in the family. It’s a good stopping-off point when I head 550 miles down to my parents’ house in the Thumb.

Feather. Up close.

I’m back in the USSR…You don’t know how lucky you are…Moscow girls make me sing and shout and jo jo jo jo jo jo’s always on my mind…

Excuse me.  In my mind I’m still singing all the classic rock songs.  I listened to WHNN on the way down. In ancient times it used to be called Honey Radio and it played 1950′s tunes.  Now it plays classic rock AND oldies.  I bounced along on the seat for miles and miles.

I also practiced deep breathing.  I am here to announce that if you breathe really slow (innnnnn and outtttttt) you can breathe 2-3 breaths per minute.  I measured it against the road markers.

Seriously. 

Breathe deep the gathering gloom…

And whence came this eggshell? Who lived here?

Everybody dancing in the moonlight; everybody feeling all right…

Beautiful Lake Michigan

Drop of a hat she’s as willing as
Playful as a pussycat
Then momentarily out of action
Temporarily out of gas
To absolutely drive you wild, wild..
She’s all out to get you

Please do not try to ascertain the meaning of these song lyrics.  They are all random.  Whatever lyrics came across the 20 stations as I drove, drove, drove for 525 miles into my parents’ loving arms.

Beach pea plants

Until my mom sent me to my room.

Oh to relax along Lake Michigan. Oh, happiness!

 Just like in the old days.

Can’t wait to spend more time with them.  In fact, it’s time to get out of this bloggin’ room and join them in the family room.  Thank you for stopping by. 

And what’s one of YOUR favorite oldie songs?

I see trees of green, red roses too
I see them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue and clouds of white
The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people going by
I see friends shaking hands saying how do you do
They’re really saying I love you.

I hear babies cry, I watch them grow
They’ll learn much more than I’ll never know
And I think to myself what a wonderful world
Yes I think to myself what a wonderful world.

Suzy, Suzi…this Pasty is for You

I am aiming, dear reader, to write TWO blogs tonight.  This shall be the first.  The second shall be…we hope…upcoming soon.  With details of my Trip dowstate. Depending who appears at the house to visit with Aunt Kathy.

If others appear at the door to visit Aunt Kathy, I shall have to sign out until Later.

But am typing at the speed of lightning now trying to get the TWO blogs published.  Type faster, Kathy!

Suzy...I mean Suzi...here are your Pasties.

OK, this blog is another invitation to photographically play suggested by Suzi at Laundry Line Divine.  I think she suggested that we photograph weird food signs.  Or weird food places.  Or something like that.  She suggested that I would have it Easy because the Upper Peninsula of Michigan is filled with restaurants selling Pasties.

Do the rest of you know what Pasties are?  They are meat, potato, carrot, onion and rutabaga pies.  They were brought over to our fair Upper Peninsula by the Finnish folk, or perhaps also from the Cornwall crowd.  Our babies are weaned on pasties.  We eat ‘em like the rest of the world eats hotdogs and hamburgers.

(Excepting for us, of course.  We’re vegetarians.  We could eat vegetarian pasties, but don’t.  We do, however, have memories of years of eating pasties.)

Hey, Suzi, are you impressed that someone named a pasty for you?  LOL!

Hilltop Restaurant. Home of the world famous Sweet Roll.

I took a picture of the Hilltop Restaurant sign as I was leaving L’Anse yesterday.  Not because they have weird food.  Au contraire.  But they do serve one of the biggest sweet rolls known to mankind.  We wean our babies on these, too.  They are the size of small bricks.  They are also very tasty.  Unfortunately, we do not eat these either.  Although, years ago, they made great breakfasts for our camping adventures with the kids. 

(And you want to know why we don’t eat these foods?  Because, truly, Barry and I eat the weirdest food known to mankind.  Tofu, seaweed, shoyu, tempeh…now that’s what some people call weird food.  And there are–truly–few, if any, shops in the U.P. selling our kind of weird food.  Therefore you shall have to view photos of smoked fish, pasties and the like.  Normal weird food.)

Fudge, Smoked Fish, Pasties

If you get close to Mackinac City or Mackinac Island you shall see signs advertising fudge everywhere.  Now that’s weird food.  It is so sweet that your lips will lock shut if you eat too much.  I remember those days.  Weird food.  Does this count, Suzi?

Smoked fish, anyone?

It’s funny when you’re traveling downstate with your eyes alert for weird food everywhere you look.  Barry insisted that I go inside a restaurant and beg the cook or waitress to appear at the door with a smiling face and apron and pasty in hand.  He insisted that would be the Best Photograph.

Sorry, dear reader.  I don’t have the chutzpah to ask the cook to appear in the front door with a pasty.  You shall have to imagine it.

Yep, some more smoked fish

As for smoked fish–it’s everywhere in the U.P.  Smoked trout, smoked salmon, smoked whitefish.  Yum!  Maybe not weird, but weird to see so many places selling smoked fish.

The weirdest food of all. woops! Did I say that?

Finally, I must post a photo of the weirdest food of all.  A restaurant specializing in fat.  No, no, no!  I did not mean to label that so callously, especially in light of my anti-labeling blog yesterday.  Actually I ate–quit gasping!–at McDonald’s yesterday at noon.  A southwestern chicken salad.  Paul Newman salad dressing.  Seemed very healthy.  Was quick.  I was not in the slow-food mood.  As it was, I stretched a six-hour drive into nine hours.

More on that soon!  Will write another blog now.  As long as a nephew or niece or sister-in-law doesn’t show up…