“Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.” ~~Dr. Seuss

Michele's ocean sunset

Happy trails to you, until we meet again.
Some trails are happy ones,
Others are blue.
It’s the way you ride the trail that counts,
Here’s a happy one for you.
~~Dale Evans

 

Sunset over the Gulf

“Why can’t we get all the people together in the world that we really like and just stay together?  I guess that wouldn’t work. Someone would leave.  Someone always leaves.  Then we would have to say good-bye.  I hate good-byes.  I know what I need.  I need more hellos.”  ~~Snoopy quote from the comic strip Peanuts by Charles M. Schultz

Here's toasting you, Kid

May the road rise up to meet you, may the wind be ever at your back.  May the sun shine warm upon your face and the rain fall softly on your fields.  And until we meet again, may God hold you in the hollow of his hand.”  ~~Irish Blessing

Postscript:  Due to an unexpected series of events which included an air conditioning malfunction on our plane–and fog in Marquette–I am now spending the night at the Sheraton Four Point Hotel in Detroit.  Courtesy of Delta Airlines!  No flight home available until tomorrow morning.  Besides having no luggage, I am feeling absolutely delighted to have this new & exciting adventure before returning home.  Hope the fog is cleared up by then!  Otherwise…all these goodbyes and hellos will be prolonged…

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.” ~~Dr. Seuss

  1. holessence says:

    Kathy – these photographs are beyond outstanding. I feel like I’m right there. How terrific for you to have a bonus adventure — whoohoo!

    (And like I shared with Terrill, my blog post today got “Freshly Pressed.” Needless to say, I’m tickled pink!)

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, I just visited your blog (and got caught up on all of the lessons) and am SO delighted you made it to Freshly Pressed! In fact, I danced around the motel room in delight. Way to go, girl! High five! You deserve it…just think of all the WORLD WIDE gratitude you’re spreading.

  2. You are a traveling miracle.
    Hope you sleep well in Detroit.
    Is there any fun to be had there? I am sure you will create it!
    Hugs and love, S

    • Kathy says:

      HI there Suzi! I am having a GREAT TIME! I am drinking decaff coffee right now and catching up on all your lovely blogs. It is such a delight–to have a pause in traveling to simply catch up on blogs. (It is a gift from the Universe! If I had waited til I got home it would have been crazy & busy with no time to catch up. Now the Universe has provided a gift of time…)

  3. Cindy Lou says:

    I so agree with Laurie – magnificient! Let’s hear it for adventures….. :) Good for you, Laurie – it’s well-deserved.

  4. holessence says:

    Thank you Cindy Lou :)

  5. holessence says:

    Kathy – thank you, Thank You, THANK YOU! I hope you’re having fun (not too much fun, I don’t have that much bail money)…

  6. holessence says:

    Okay. Maybe you could add a dash of cream or a pinch of sugar and feel like a wild thang…

  7. holessence says:

    Kathy – That’s a good memory jogger. My mother taught me to remember that dessert is spelled with 2 S’s because it tastes so good, and desert is only spelled with one S because it tastes like sand :)

  8. bearyweather says:

    Goodbyes make me cry. I think it is worse now that I am older…. basically, because the hellos are much farther apart (everyone is so busy and wrapped up in their lives) and I seem to have a growing awareness of the unpredictability that surrounds every goodbye (will this be our last .. it has always been there, but I am more aware of the possibility). Wish I was not such a wimp about them.

    Hope the final leg home is safe and that your goodbyes and hellos are close together.

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, bearyweather, there is such unpredictability now. A cry is not a bad thing, though. It’s an acknowledgement of how much you love the one with whom you’re saying goodbye…

  9. Marianne says:

    Kathy, I love the quotes that you have posted and the beautiful sunsets to go with them.

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Marianne. I thought that a goodbye post might be nice with gorgeous sunsets…and Dr. Seuss and Snoopy are the best people in the world to quote!

  10. Dad says:

    Kath—As I was saying on the way to the airport,everything happens for a reason. Welcome to Detroit!!!! Dad

  11. Kathy says:

    K–What a nice way to say goodbye to family, friends and Florida. Perfect sunset-but I was looking for the famous green flash on the horizon! Hope your unexpected layover in Detroit goes smoothly, although you are the smoothest traveler I have ever known. You’ll probably come home with a free ticket to San Diego. . . Love, B See you tomorrow afternoon. Can’t wait!

    • Kathy says:

      Barry! I didn’t see your comment until just now–when I’m already at home with you. How funny! I would love to see that green flash one of these days. One of these days…and with camera in hand. Smiling that you think I’m a smooth traveler–it’s all because of the Divine Travel Planner!

  12. Karma says:

    Well, you made it as far as Detroit – so does that mean it will only be a short journey to the UP from where you are?
    Nice that you have the computer and camera with you! I guess it only makes sense to have those as carry-ons doesn’t it?
    **PSST** speaking of cameras, I’m angling to get my hands on another lens soon! :-D

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Karma! It was a very short journey from Detroit to Marquette. Less than two hours. I am safely home now. I decided to carry the laptop and camera as carry-on because you never know when your luggage may be AWOL. What lens are you going to get next? HOW EXCITING!

  13. Karma says:

    Oh, and I totally forgot to say, gorgeous pictures!!! Lovely, lovely colors!

  14. georgia mom says:

    I TOLD DAD TONIGHT THAT YOU SOMETIMES STAYED OVER IN MARQUETTE. I WOULDN’T MIND SEEING DETROIT AGAIN. HAPPY MEMORIES GROWING UP THERE. TALK WITH YOU WHEN YOU GET SETTLED IN. LOVE, GA MOM

    • Kathy says:

      I’ll bet you would have enjoyed a layover in Detroit, Mom. I didn’t really venture out from the hotel, though. It was raining and no transportation was available. I will talk with you soon!

  15. Bro says:

    Sis, it looked as good in person.

    Thought: With a picture you KNOW it happened…

    With a memory, if you forget, did it ever happen?

    Nite nite.

    Bro

    • Kathy says:

      My dear brother, you are an excellent philosopher. If a tree falls in the woods and we have no picture, did it really fall? Laughing! Loved seeing you and Mich…

  16. Carol says:

    Oh! The sunset through the wine glass! Oh! I must remember that. How neat that you can view your layover (especially sans luggage) as an adventure. You are such a wonderful role model. So tell me, is Lily climbing up the drape, creating her own adventure, an adventure for me? I think so.

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Carol! I love to take photos through wine glasses. The wine glasses contort everything so interestingly. Yes, Lily is an adventure for you and all of us who read about her. Everything can be an adventure!

  17. Nomme de Plumme says:

    Your creativity has grown in leaps and bounds.
    Both written word and mirror and lens.
    Push yourself and don’t sell yourself short.
    I’ll drop in and your developments…
    N. de Plumme

  18. Colleen says:

    I enjoyed your quotes and love your sunsets. And yes to most (if not all) unexpected series of events…. and welcoming them and the unexpected adventures that come right along with them!
    I always admire this about you Kathy, your willingness……..

    Hope your bed is super comfy, your pillow soft and your dreams sweet.

    • Kathy says:

      Dear Colleen, oh that bed was super comfy and OH the pillows softer than the clouds. The airplanes ROARED overhead, but only until 9 p.m. They could have roared after that but I was asleep. The wind howled through the window most of the night, but that wasn’t too disturbing. I love adventures. OK, most adventures. As look as they aren’t too challenging!

  19. Susan D says:

    Ohhhhh, the pictures took me back to over 40 years ago …. and those gorgeous sunsets. There is comfort in knowing they still remain. I miss you. Can’t wait to see or hear you when you get nestled back in up here…

    • Kathy says:

      Are you missing Florida, Susan? I’ll bet you do, sometimes. The sunsets there are certain exquisite. I am glad to be home. Nestled in. Stoking the woodstove. Yes, life is good.

  20. sonali says:

    Amazing photography!! very neatly composed! loved the post. :)

  21. The Suess quote is the one I currently have on the login screen of my company’s computer system. It is one I try to live up to as I go from day to day.

  22. Robin says:

    Love the quotes and all the photos are beautiful but that last shot is FAB (as one of my British blogging friends would say).

    I hope you enjoyed your brief detour. I’ve never been to Detroit although it isn’t far from here. M and I keep talking about visiting the city someday, perhaps for their jazz festival.

  23. Wonderful quotes and pictures for an unexpected adventure ! Isn´t the Irish Blessing a real gift ?

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

