Post-election thoughts (Those five people are not your enemies.)

Reflections

1.  It’s over.

2.  When will the next election hoopla begin?

3.  Will our country be saved?

4.  Will our country be ruined?

5.  Will our country continue to plod along with some brilliant moves interspersed with awful decisions?

6.  Will all wars ever end?

7.  Why can’t we people get along?

8.  Let’s be grateful for what we have.

9.  Let’s vow not to attack the opposite viewpoint.

10.  Let’s vow to get more sleep on election night.

Exposed

11.  Let’s vow to feel charitable today toward the losers.

12.  Let’s vow to feel charitable today toward the winners.

13.  Let’s not be divisive.  (But if others are divisive, let’s feel compassion for the pain that they’re feeling today.)

14.  If we’re divisive in our thoughts, let’s simply Allow the Thoughts to be without acting out on them, without running our lips in despair or jubilation, especially if we’re around people who think differently.

15.  I won in our itty bitty election. (OK, I was running unopposed.)

16.  I got 224 votes for township treasurer here in our little township in the woods.

17.  Five fewer people voted for me than the top vote getter, who  happened to be the township clerk.  I spent an hour in bed last night trying to identify which five people hate me.

18.  Never do this again.

19.  Be glad we live in a country where we can vote.

20.  Be glad we live in a country where we can express our opinions.

Freedom

21.  Be glad.

22.  Get through your day at work with fuzzy exhausted head without falling asleep at your desk.

23.  Do not look at everyone to determine who the five enemies are.

24.  Do not label these five people as enemies.

25.  It’s over.

26.  Nothing is ever perfect.

27.  Politicians are never perfect.

28.  Countries are never perfect.

29.  Elections are never perfect.

30.  But, by gosh, by golly, TODAY is another perfect opportunity to live, to grow, to hug a friend (or opponent), to skip a little in joy just that we’re alive, that life offers so many possibilities, that we probably have more in common than we imagine.

31.  I’m going to focus on what we have in common, how we can connect.  How ’bout you?

Change is inevitable, dear fellow!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to Post-election thoughts (Those five people are not your enemies.)

  1. Elisa's Spot says:

    Makes tea, slurps….watches over mug. winks!

  2. Number 31 sounds like a good plan to me!

  3. Dawn says:

    Amen Sister. LOVE that photo – Freedom. You rock.

  4. You have an excellent plan for you but I cannot accept this puppet of a man controlled by God knows whose money as president.

  5. Sybil says:

    Damn. Why must you remind me to be mature when my instinct is to be petty … ;-)

    • Kathy says:

      I don’t believe your instinct is to be petty, Sybil. I think you are amused by your thoughts at times. Like me being amused at the thought of the five voters.

  6. 1. glad I am Canadian – always happy for the winner and sorry for the loser –
    2.congrats on your win –those five do not hate you–just got confused as to where to put their check mark or X or computer generated vote or how ever you do it there
    3. hope people take your advice–the political animousity in your country and ours has got to calm down

    • Kathy says:

      1. :)
      2. you must be so right!
      3. I am sure people will rush to take my advice…ha ha…but, seriously, hoping all political animosity calms at least by supper time tonight.

  7. bree1972 says:

    Love this! Was just jotting down a few thoughts of my own – but yours are much better! Congratulations on your win!

    • Kathy says:

      I will have to see if you published your own thoughts about this, Bree. Glad you enjoyed. And thank you for your congratulations! Another four years collecting taxes. :)

      • bree1972 says:

        Hi Kathy – no, we’re never bored – just the opposite actually – a little TOO MUCH action at times. An aside – my mom ran for and was elected Tax Receiver of our little hometown of Sylvester, GA back when I was in college – something unheard of back then – for a woman to hold that job – she beat out the incumbent who had been in office forever. I remember being so proud of her.

        • Kathy says:

          I am proud of her after just reading your story, Bree! Those were the days when it wasn’t as easy as today and you really had to make a statement to get elected as a woman. Thank you for sharing that. (I do get bored in the woods sometimes…)

  8. Yes! This is what I want as well…PEACE, in every sense of the word.

  9. Kerry Dwyer says:

    Congratulations on your win. Those five don’t hate you nor do all the others who voted for the other guy you they just had to chose between two people they like and closed their eyes.
    I am so glad that the elections are over and that I am in France.

    • Kathy says:

      Ha ha, Kerry, I am glad you think they don’t hate me. Actually I was running unopposed (went up and added that in my post after you made this comment yesterday morning). I was just comparing my voting tally with the other officers who got elected. I am glad that the elections are over, too. Are they this fierce in France?

      • Kerry Dwyer says:

        Well world news is never dominated by French elections. The last election was very fierce. I don’t get too excited about it as I don’t have the right to vote here. People here don’t seem to male it as personal as they do in the USA. Certainly we don’t see the sort of personal abuse I noticed on the social networks for the US election. We still have the caricatures on both sides and the arguments.

  10. lisaspiral says:

    Congratulations on your win. Is it possible those 5 people didn’t vote because you were uncontested so they didn’t think it necessary? Hugs to you.

    • Kathy says:

      Lisa, I am UTTERLY sure you are correct. Of course, that’s the answer! (I didn’t even vote for me in the primary. Had to vote the other party to get my two cents in.)

  11. Kiah says:

    I bet those five voters just forgot! :)

  12. CMSmith says:

    Excellent post, Kathy.

  13. sandiwhite says:

    Kathy, thank you for your common sense list of what we need to do because there has “Got to be a morning after.”

  14. Val says:

    Congratulations to you, Kathy, on winning your bit. Congratulations to Obama for winning his bit. I’m not American, but I’m aware that America affects the rest of the word. For that I am thankful that the loser lost. Nope, we can’t all be grateful all the time. However, we can all be human all the time. :)

    • Kathy says:

      Val~~yes~~I like how you put it. We can’t be grateful all the time (and why should we?) but we can be human. And compassionately human, I should hope, even though at times I know we fail. I know I fail sometimes.

  15. Val says:

    That should have been ‘the rest of the world’ not ‘the rest of the word’.

    • Kathy says:

      Val, my mind started thinking, “In the beginning was the Word”…ha ha…this is what happens when you respond to comments too early in the morning!

  16. Heather says:

    Congratulations Kathy. Like commenters above, I am sure those 5 people don’t hate you. In fact, I am sure that the same people didn’t vote for each of you. I also suspect you didn’t really try to identify those 5 non-enemies ;)
    My favorite rule above is 14. I can’t take all the vitriol :( So glad it’s over so we can move in any direction but election coverage!

    • Kathy says:

      Ha ha, Heather! You have Absolutely the Correct Explanation, Of course! Why didn’t I think of it? You have to laugh at what your mind comes up with in the middle of the night when you can’t sleep. But, no, I couldn’t laugh until morning because if I started laughing sleep would never ever come. What I like about #14 is that we can have thoughts and believe them all serious-like or we can have thoughts and see that they are maybe just passing blips.

  17. John Kuttenberg says:

    Well four of the five don’t like your township administrator either. I think the real problem is you don’t sing at Da Finn’s on karaoke night, eh?

    • Kathy says:

      JOHN, you said it! I don’t sing at Da Finn’s. Man, Life is Good when you just turn things around a half turn isn’t it? And me & James are almost hand in hand, lol!

      • John Kuttenberg says:

        I had to go back on YouTube to listen to the Skanee Skanks again after I wrote that. There is just so much fun in life to be had … especially in backwoods bars!

        • Elisa's Spot says:

          Would that be the one with all of the deer heads on the wall John?

          • john says:

            Now let’s not generalize … there are two deer heads surrounding a moose head. (And several more have been added since) ;-)

            • Kathy says:

              John, John, John, I swear there are a HUNDRED deer heads on the wall! OK, along with the moose, wolf, badger and fisher heads. Yes, Elisa, that would be the Spot. John and his wife and Barry and I munched fish there one night long, long ago. (I have decided “long, long ago” applies to everything previous to last month.)

  18. Reggie says:

    Dear sweet Kathy – I can’t believe you are focusing on the 5 votes you didn’t receive, as opposed to the 224 votes you did! In my book, that counts as a landslide victory! Clearly, your townsfolk *love* you, and trust you to do an excellent job. Well done! Now take yourself off the hook, sweet one. ;-)

    • Kathy says:

      Reggie, oh you are the sweetest! I really wouldn’t have focused on those five votes except it struck me as hysterically funny that the thoughts would even pop into my head in the middle of the night. (And suspected some levity might lighten our bipolar situation here in the USA.)

  19. Strategic Journey says:

    I love this!

  20. kiwidutch says:

    I think people need reminding that if they can’t say anything nice then it’s better form to say nothing at all.

    Here we had national Dutch elections two week ago and we got what’s called a “purple” government (again!) which means, no outright win by a single party so a collation government is made with members of both the reds, blues etc i.e. Purple to make a government.

    Although we have a completely different political system and no one got to have a single “winner” in the party they voted for, some were less than gracious about it when the elections were over.

    Quite frankly there is always a “bigger picture”…

    Naturally there was always going to be a winner and a loser in a race where there are two candidates but only one job and rather than focusing on if “your man” won or lost and either gloating or fuming about it, it’s far better to to think things like:

    – Thank You that I live in a Democracy
    – Thank You that I get to vote
    – Thank You that i did not have to dodge sniper bullets when I went to vote
    – Thank You that I am allowed free opinion and am not persecuted for voting

    – Now it’s a new day, What can I PERSONALLY DO, (not “think”or “moan about” but DO, to make my local community better?
    – How can I help a complete stranger today? How can make someone day better? How many people can I make smile?

    Life and voting is a privilege not a right…we should be thankful for both every day.

    • Kathy says:

      Kiwi, this is really a wonderfully thoughtful comment that shows the “bigger picture” in a great way. I was fascinated to hear about the “purple” government. That actually sounds kind of appealing–a government represented by more colors than a single party. (Although it’s sometimes harder to get things done when that happens. Which may or may not be a good thing.) I like your thank yous. Grateful along with you and hoping you are smiling now.

  21. I love your positive energy, this morning! I read a lot of grumblers’ posts and those who are jubilating. As one who lives outside your domain, I hope that everything that you have on your list comes to pass so that your nation does not become divided. As one blogger mentioned, you are the ‘United’ States, after all! Glad you are back in your office working towards the greater good of your community, Kathy. :)

    • Kathy says:

      That is such a good point, Susan! “United” States. Would it be so, if it was ever so. May we learn to work together in compassion even with our differences. Thank you.

  22. Carol says:

    I am happy the election is over. I pray now that perhaps our congress can work together with the president – although I don’t really expect that to happen. It all makes me very sad. Because I no longer feel pride in the way our government is working. But I am very happy that we have the right, and the freedom, to each vote as we choose, to agree to disagree and to remain friends. Your post is excellent!

    • Kathy says:

      I am glad that you enjoyed this, Carol. May we all learn to work together with our differences to accomplish good things. (The trouble seems to be that people don’t want to accomplish the same things. Darn.)

  23. susanblake says:

    Hi Kathy,
    If nothing else happens from all this campaign chaos breeding hatred, I hope that both “sides” will come together and quit the mud slinging, uncooperative crap that’s been going on.

    My biggest sadness over the election was that Prop 37 in California lost – it was about labeling food. Monsanto and cronies spent 45 million bucks to make sure they won – it’s so disgusting I cannot believe it. GMO’s are ruining the health of this country! AND they get away with it while employees of Monsanto eat in an organic cafeteria knowing full well that that’s the only SAFE food to eat! GRRRRR – not happy today!
    Hugs
    SuZen

    • Kathy says:

      Dear SuZen: 1) May the mud slinging stop. (I haven’t checked the news today. Maybe it stopped yesterday?) I wish that all foods were labeled, too. Darn it. Double darn it.

  24. Susan D. says:

    I LOVE this, love you, and couldn’t feel more blessed that we were brought together today in our weariness … your company gave me the energy and spirit to float through a delightful day when I had feared the opposite. So identify with “the five people” scenario. I go there often … ahhh, it’s funny and entertaining, and part of who we are in our wonderfulness!

    • Kathy says:

      Good morning, Susan Dee! I hope you are more awake and brighter today. (Although you seemed to me a very bright lovely light yesterday.) I got almost 9 hours of sleep last night and am very cheerful, thank all the heavenly stars. Going into town to pick up those Subway sandwiches for Lori and then…to work! And then a Friday off. I LOVE when I get to see you. Happy day!

  25. Dawn says:

    I thought of you yesterday and wondered if you were running because you’d never said anything about it. Figured your term wasn’t up this year! :) Glad you won, regardless of the # of votes! It allows you to continue your good work.

    • Kathy says:

      Hey, Ms. Dawn, how fun that you thought of me! Our township terms are always up at the same time as the presidential contests. I have had the leisure–no opponents–of not thinking much about the elections over the years. It would be awfully challenging to campaign. I did one year–the first time–and that was all. Thanks for your vote of confidence, lol.

  26. P.j. grath says:

    Kathy, I’m glad you were not defeated by a write-in candidate! When I first lived in the country, down in Barry County (between Kalamazoo and Hastings) in the 1970s, it was a revelation to me to hear all the itty-bitty election results in the countryside announced on the radio and to hear that unopposed candidates could LOSE! You did NOT lose! Congratulations on your win!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh my goodness, yes, write-in candidates. I think there is a law now in the state of Michigan that write-in candidates have to be approved in advance. You have to register to be a write-in. People in our community used to write in the most unlikely names, sometimes just to be funny, when they cast their local ballots. Thanks for the congratulations! I am really glad to have this job for four more years.

  27. lucindalines says:

    I am so happy that you won, Kathy!!! Forget those five. Enjoy the victory…Get some sleep!! Again great job. And, yes, I sure wish we could all get along for the good of the whole world.

    • Kathy says:

      Lucinda, I have already forgotten about those five! (It really only kinda amused me that my mind was thinking that way in the middle of the night.) Sleep, yes, zzzzz, always good. It seems like the older I get, the less I can count on sleeping for nine hours straight. May we all get along…Amen…

  28. “I won in our itty bitty election. (OK, I was running unopposed.)”

    It’s so good to be back home – you always crack me up!

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie Buchanan, I swear you egg me on! You and Susan Dee. You both make me want to keep cracking you guys up. (It’s all your fault–or credit–whatever you decide.)

  29. Colleen says:

    Yes-ing and smiling and feeling very glad to be reading this today. Congratulations!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Colleen! It’s Friday morning now and I can’t even remember what blog I wrote two days ago. I am writing and publishing Like Crazy again. I always delight in seeing you, here, there, everywhere!

  30. Joanne says:

    Agreeing with all of the above Kathy, especially 30 and 31, and you know what?….the election is over, life goes on, the world keeps spinning. All is well. :)

    • Kathy says:

      In a way, Joanne, it’s amazing how quickly most people have “moved on” after the election. All IS well. (But I suspect you and I like to look at our glass as half full rather than half empty, don’t we?)

  31. debyemm says:

    Congratulations on retaining your post. I am focusing this day on common ground. Today is the opening day of our deer season. I’ve been doing some musing about that in the usual places, including that WordPress place. Hugs !!

    • Kathy says:

      Common ground…that is good. We’ve been hearing gunshots in the woods all morning. I suspect they come from goose hunters down on the bay. Our deer hunting season doesn’t start until the 15th. I will visit your blog.

  32. Robin says:

    Love, love, LOVE this post. :)

    And I know I’m far behind and you’re on a break so don’t worry about answering my comment since it really doesn’t need an answer. Just wanted to let you know I love it.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

