Back to blogging after ten days off…

 

Welcome home!

 
So here is the new blog.  Welcome to Lake Superior Spirit.  The domain name is upwoods.wordpress.com.  Now you can pronounced this in two ways.  You can say “upwoods” as in the opposite of  “downwoods”.  Or you can say it like the abbreviation for Upper Peninsula:  UP woods.  It’s your call. 

 I was all prepared to quit blogging for at least a month.  A year-long commitment to blog daily wears one out, you know.  (For anyone who didn’t know about my year-long outdoor commitment please scurry over to centria.wordpress.com) I didn’t realize HOW worn out I was from trying to be creative every single day for a full year until it ended.  The first few days all I felt was blessed relief.  Like wanting to run down the roads shouting, “Ha ha!  I don’t have to blog every night! I don’t have to go outdoors every day! Ha ha!  I am FREE!”  

But I also felt very restless.  My whole life seemed topsy-turvy.  What to do with oneself?  It was challenging.  I determined to take a month-long deep inner retreat (while going to work, of course) before deciding what to do next. 

Luckily, we chose to drive downstate to celebrate Christmas with my mom and dad and brothers and family since the kids were not coming home from San Diego and Manhattan.  What a relief it was to plop in the car and meander down to lower Michigan and not have to sit at home trying to decide what to do with this blog-less commitment-less life. 

Oh and meander downstate did we!  The trip should take–at the max–ten or eleven hours.  But guess how long it took us?  You will never guess!  Twenty seven hours!!  What fun we had.  We stopped every two hours, plus an overnight stay near the Mackinac Bridge in St. Ignace.  

We even dined at a Thai Restaurant in Marquette and enjoyed the most marvelous meal we’ve eaten in the Upper Peninsula in a long time.  The name of this restaurant is the Sai Uwa Thai Bistro and please consider stopping  if you’re visiting.  

Buddhas in the Thai Restaurant

As of the first day of 2010, I still must learn the art of taking indoor photographs.  I don’t know how to control the flash.  Either it illuminates everything to a washed-out white glare, or the subject peers forth in darkened ambience.  Much to learn about indoor photography in the upcoming year!  

Continuing on the theme of indoor photography (please excuse this in advance, I couldn’t help myself!) I found myself in a bathroom in Gaylord and this cute little toilet paper-bear holder insisted upon a photo shoot.  I tried to tell him it was inappropriate, but he begged.  See how freeing it is to be able to take indoor photos?  My mind is still boggled with the possibilities! 

Hello little bathroom bear!

Anyway, yesterday, umexpectedly, the Blogging Bug hit.  It hit with a lovesick feeling.  I HAD to return to blogging on WordPress!  I had to!  It was a Necessity.  As necessary as eating, sleeping, and stoking the fire.  It HAD to happen. 

I spent most of the last twenty-four hours making big plans.  Trying to come up with a blog name.  A domain name.  A master plan.  A secondary master plan.  A spiritual plan behind the master plan.  

But, finally, I threw all caution to the wind and jumped back into blogging with Lake Superior Spirit!  We’ll figure it all out as the year progresses.  

In the meantime, I am delighted to have returned to this incredible world of connection and sharing and photos and stories.  Don’t necessarily expect a posting every day, though!  Although it may happen, I need the luxury of days off.  

Thank you so much to everyone who has encouraged this new blog!  And HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! 

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Back to blogging after ten days off…

  1. sahlah says:

    Hot dog! I’m so happy you are here. 🙂

    I can’t want to continue to flow down the river of life sharing with your eyes and the eyes and thoughts of your other readers.

    Three cheers and welcome back.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh Dawn, how I appreciate you! Let’s continue to flow down this river of life together and apart…and how all our stories shall mingle together… Hot dog!!

  2. Mom and Dad says:

    I like it!!!!!!!! Dad

  3. Jessica says:

    Yay!! I am so excited you came home! I missed you 🙂

    For indoor shots I find no flash and one of those little portable tripods work well. This is what mine looks like: http://www.amazon.com/Accessory-Power-Bendable-Table-Top-Camcorder/dp/B001534BW4 I got mine at a local Meijer store for about $5.

    As for the blog name, I love it. I think it really suits you and the topics you blog about, at least the ones you blogged about before.

    Jessica

    • Kathy says:

      Jessica, both Barry and I carefully examined the photo of your tripod. It even looks affordable at $5…LOL!! Thank you for supporting the blog name. I struggled with the name for 24 hours. Thought of 465 names. And this one…whether it “works” or not…seemed to insist upon being the appropriate title. However, I am still unsure about how it will work during traveling… 🙂

  4. Gerry says:

    Heh heh. Ten whole days.

    Thai food in Marquette! This keeps up, pretty soon you won’t have to go Duluth anymore.

    • Kathy says:

      Heh heh, Gerry. How many days did you think I’d last? You want to come north? We’ll meet for Thai food in Marquette, ok? I wanted to go back today. Let’s plan it… 🙂

  5. Emma says:

    That’s the longest sheet of sliding snow I have ever seen!

    As usual, you find things to delight and amuse us. Welcome back! =)

    • Kathy says:

      Emma, isn’t that sliding snow amazing? Barry wanted me to talk more about it. It’s a frozen sheet of ice coming off a metal roof…but it’s kinda stuck in mid-air. Isn’t it cool? Thank you for your enthusiasm.

  6. divacarla says:

    Welcome back to blogging at UPwoods.wordpress.com. I am happy for you. I didn’t hear you mention the weight of commitment today, just the fun and freedom of exploration and creativity. I like! Now off to make a new book mark for you.

  7. divacarla says:

    I just saw the notify of new posts by email box, which I want to check.
    CHECK!

    • Kathy says:

      Carla, oh thank you for subscribing. I’m not sure where you found that “subscribe by email” box, but I’m glad it’s there. At leas four other people found it, too. Oh yes, isn’t it interesting how we put pressure on ourselves when we “have to” do something? I am THRILLED with creativity for the sake of creativity today. It feels so light and exciting and awesome. Even though the commitment was awesome, too. There are upsides and downsides to all things, I suspect.

  8. flandrumhill says:

    Ah Kathy, so nice to have you back. I was feeling lonely.
    Indoor photography… night photography… these are things I find challenging too.
    We’re supposed to be in for quite a storm this weekend. Hopefully the power will hold out.

    • Kathy says:

      Amy, I was feeling lonely too! Missing being a part of the exciting blogging action here. I am glad you are challenged by night and indoor photography too. We shall learn together! Hopefully you are warm and cozy inside with the power still on. Or cozy in the firelight. (In which case you are probably not blog-reading.)

  9. Christie Eagan says:

    Glad to have you back.
    Love the new blog.
    Looking forward the 2010 blog adventures…you are so very creative…

    • Kathy says:

      Thanks Christie! I think all of us are creative, just in different ways. I am so glad you stop by to read…and appreciate that our friendship is still going strong. Remember back in elementary school? Who would have ever thought we’d be connected via something called a “blog” and “Facebook”?? Strange world.

  10. fountainpen says:

    I think that is what happens when a person touches and own talents…How quickly we realize talents is not just for ourselves but for others…..and look what happened, Talented One!! WE ALL get to share
    again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hooray!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thank you, Centria…..there is something so lovely about you are able to do for ALL of us who have found you.

    Fountainpen

    • Kathy says:

      Fountainpen, you just made me giggle. Talented One. Ha ha! WHO IS THE TALENTED ONE??? You are, my dear! I am going to photograph all the notecards you sent me and put them in a blog very soon. Not only are YOU talented, you have a big caring heart. So there! Blessings to you.
      PS (to anyone reading these comments) Fountainpen made me a slew of notecards with photos from Opening the door, walking outside and just sent them in the mail. I am the most grateful recipient in the planet!!

  11. Dawn says:

    YEA! I can’t wait to read all about life in the UP again! Ten days? You are a true writer at heart, you can’t NOT write, and we are the beneficiaries of that talent! How wonderful!

    Let me tell you, Marquette didn’t have a Thai restaurant when I lived there more than 25 years ago! Heck. Houghton and Hancock didn’t have a traffic light either! We used to drive to Marquette, two hours each way for a McDonalds! The fun was in the trip, not the food as you may have guessed.

    Welcome back to the blogisphere!

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, you may be right about that–I can’t NOT write. The words come spilling out like gangbusters. They line up at the door and want out! They insist upon it. So now you can read more about the U.P. and plan your next trip back here.

      As for Houghton, we do have a traffic light up there now. It’s up between Econofoods and Walmart. How exciting. A traffic light in the northern U.P.!! L’Anse, however, still has a four way stop.

      You would like this Thai Restaurant, I think. Plan on it next time…

  12. Georgia Mom says:

    WELCOME BACK! HAVE YOU COMMITTED YOURSELF TO A DAILY SCHEDULE? INDOOR PICTURES WILL BE A CHALLENGE, BUT YOU WILL STAY WARMER AND DRYER.

    • Kathy says:

      No, Mom, NO daily schedule! I am free as a bird. Free to blog and not blog. Free to go outside or inside. And it is SO cozy inside today…but, you know, the snowshoes are starting to look inviting…

  13. Julia says:

    Thank goodness for the people and things you can depend on in life Kathy! You being one of those for sure. Looking forward to more of your writing and pictures to brighten the days….

    • Kathy says:

      Oh Julia, you are always such a sweetheart! Thank you for your support and stopping by and your kind words. I hope it’s not still snowing in your neck of the woods…but if it is, hope you are enjoying it. Blessings to you!

  14. Jessica says:

    Kathy-Yay, I found out about your new blog from Facebook this time, not from Zaadzgaia. I had to chuckle and go find my similar photo when you posted the bear tp holder.
    http://liveonpurpose.info/blog/2008/08/you-choose-for-fun/
    Here is a tp holder that forces you to choose sandpaper or corncob when the paper runs out. My youngest son was banging it one day and broke the glass, so now it looks like someone had an emergency situation and they really had to choose. Too bad the sandpaper was shellacked inside the box.

    • Kathy says:

      Jessica, how funny! I chuckled reading your blog. Actually, several times in the last year I have wanted to photograph and publish the inside of bathrooms. There are many interesting things behind closed doors… 🙂
      Glad you discovered this blog…

  15. Cindy Lou says:

    Yea! I’m so glad you only lasted ten days….ten days too long in my book, but I’m sure the rest was wondermous! Can’t wait to see where your journeys take us this year! Love you, friend!

    • Kathy says:

      Dear Cindy Lou, it’s delightful to be back with all you guys. What a hoop-la, to quit and then come back after ONLY ten days. I can’t wait to see what adventures happen too. And I’ll bet you will be in at least one or two! We still have to pick thimbleberries and raspberries. Especially since I have a new juicer…

  16. Oh how wonderful. How lucky are we that that blogging bug has bitten you. I for one am thrilled.

  17. allielujah says:

    I’m happy to see you’ve returned! And I simply love that toilet paper holder!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Allie! Glad to see YOU again, as well. I am slowly transferring my old blog roll over to this site, and just put your blog on it. Happy to see you blogging again!

      • allielujah says:

        I’ve missed it, even though the reason I stopped was because I felt I had nothing to really write about. I don’t really now, either, but there is something quite enjoyable about the tip-tap-tap of the keyboard =]

        • Kathy says:

          Oh Allie, there are SO MANY days that I feel I have nothing to write about. Laughing…especially last year during those 365 days, there were so many days when it seemed impossible to think of anything to say. But the keyboard took over on those days. It certainly likes to tip-tap-tap!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

