To blog or not to blog…that is the question (and a little Hafiz too)

Leaf in sunlight

All day long I thought “Should I blog today?”  I have some great leftover bright sky photos.  Sunshine photos. 

But is it cheating to keep publishing blue sky photos when it’s gray and lightly snowing? 

And if one doesn’t really have anything much to say…would it be better for all involved to keep the lips sealed and not babble on a blog? 

Birch beauty

Someone emailed a delightful Hafiz poem this morning.  Called “If it is not too dark”.  I smiled to read it.  Hafiz, for those of you unfamiliar with this Rumi-like legend, lived in the 1300’s in Persia.  He loved God.  I may show you this poem if I run out of things to share. 

Nancy called this afternoon to convince me to try cross-country skiing once again.  After last winter’s fall on my tail bone, I’m a little nervous to return to slippery slopes.  However, she has–just about–convinced me that flat landscape does exist in our area.  I have–tentatively–agreed to join her on an expedition one of these weeks. 

She said, “You must get outside and get some physical exercise.” 

What?  Haven’t I been clear enough in these blogs?  I AM going outside.  Almost every day during this month of January.  However, physical exercise has been limited to meandering walks.  (My FAVORITE kind of physical exercise!) 

Today’s outdoor meandering occurred on our property.  Not too long.  Certainly not a full half hour.  I would have gone outside a second time, but the mailman kindly delivered our gift of oranges and grapefruit to the front door.  (Thank you, Georgia Mom!!) 

Wisp of feather

Other inside activities:  1)  Reading.   2)  More reading.  3)  computerizing.  4)  More computerizing, especially cataloguing and pruning photos from last year’s adventures.  I just finished July.   5)  A trip to town with many errands, including a cup of delicious coffee at Espresso on Main in downtown LA.  That would be downtown L’Anse.  6)  Vacuuming.  7)  Making Thai Curry for dinner.  8)  Stacking extra wood near the stove down the basement in preparation for filling the wood room.  9)  Baking cookies.  Just remembered!  Thanks to Gerry at Torch Lake Views for jogging that afternoon memory.

OK, that’s todays news!  Those of you who have stuck patiently through the reporting may now luxuriate in Hafiz.  

Simplicity of an apple slice

If It Is Not Too Dark
 
Go for a walk, if it is not too dark.
Get some fresh air, try to smile.
Say something kind
To a safe-looking stranger, if one happens by.
 
Always exercise your heart’s knowing.
 
You might as well attempt something real
Along this path:
 
Take your spouse or lover into your arms
The way you did when you first met.
Let tenderness pour from your eyes
The way the Sun gazes warmly on the earth.
 
Play a game with some children.
Extend yourself to a friend.
Sing a few ribald songs to your pets and plants –
Why not let them get drunk and wild!
 
Let’s toast
Every rung we’ve climbed on Evolution’s ladder.
Whisper, “I love you! I love you!”
To the whole mad world.
 
Let’s stop reading about God –
We will never understand Him.
 
Jump to your feet, wave your fists,
Threaten and warn the whole Universe
 
That your heart can no longer live
Without real love!
 
~ Hafiz ~

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to To blog or not to blog…that is the question (and a little Hafiz too)

  1. Martha Bergin says:

    Beautiful pictures, and I’m so glad you decided to share them. I think today you must have borrowed my brain! I so often feel like that–like, What could I possibly put in a blog that anyone would even want to connect with in this busy world? and also just the practical orientation–I’m vacuuming, I’m cooking, and so forth. Please send my brain back, and I’ll try to keep it properly occupied. Your brain works so much better! I tried to do a photo blog but haven’t unloaded the photos yet. I’m at work right now, getting ready to teach a night class. For you, it’s night already. How time flies.

    • Kathy says:

      Martha, one of the things I learned last year (when having to write a daily blog no matter if anything interesting is happening or not) is that sometimes people just like to hear the simple everyday ordinary chores. Like chopping wood, carrying water. If we listen to our minds I swear we’d rarely write a blog. I really do think even the most ordinary aspects of our day can sometimes be extra-ordinary. (I am just still trying to convince the old mind of that, ha ha!) Hope your night class went well…

  2. Miriam Sagan says:

    I like the combo of images with words–kind of a haibun.
    miriamswell.wordpress.com

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you so much, Miriam. I have never heard of a haibun. Had to go google it to discover what it might mean. You made me want to put my status on Facebook: I write haibun! 🙂

  3. Dawn says:

    Very nice. I don’t mind more blue sky photos…who would living where we do! Today was kinda dark, until late afternoon when patches of blue arrived. The evening was beautiful, the dark clouds with some of the trees along the roads glowing in red light. Very cool. No camera around. Sigh.

    • Kathy says:

      You just painted the most beautiful word-pictures, Dawn. Felt like we were accompanying you in a very color-filled afternoon and evening. And, yeah, where is that camera when you need it? I’ve learned to carry it EVERYWHERE. Even though it’s dark before work and gets dark by about 6 p.m.

  4. Kathy, I must be honest… l love your post. I read very carefully, enjoying every line, every musing – then I said “yes!” she posted the poem!

    Great collection of photos and thoughts that left me feeling like I had been there with you. Thank you for such a delightful gift.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh good, Terrill, the Universe must have been nudging a blog post just because they knew YOU would love it. Don’t you love Hafiz? He and Rumi are poets of the heart and spirit. Thanks, also, for your lovely email reply last night.

  5. Gerry says:

    TV? What is this TV you speak of?

    You had me with the leaf, but I’m easy. The apple slice, that was a bonus.

    Love, Gerry

    • Kathy says:

      Gerry, did you lose your TV signal when everyone went to digital signals? Or do you have satellite? Or have we already discussed this? I can never remember what has been discussed and what hasn’t. Then again, maybe you don’t have a TV at all.

  6. Cindy Lou says:

    Love, love the photos and especially the poem! The line “Always exercise your heart’s knowing” really grabbed me….why? Hmmmm?????

  7. Jane says:

    Hi Kathy,
    I think all your readers could tell you that along with this new blog, came a new you. Less stress and more freedom and diversity to post how, why and when you want to write. We love coming here for your pics and prose… the you that you put onto the page. What you convey here resonates with us and encourages us to see past the edges of ourselves. Who cares that the pics are from yesterday… that was the old blog… I say let them blue skies reign.
    BTW… isn’t todays weather another gift??
    Thanks for sharing the Hafiz poem

    • Kathy says:

      Jane, these are wonderful words. I feel like I am struggling somewhat with this new blog and it’s good to remember it can be just what it is. That it (and I) am a new incarnation. And what I am always about is seeing past the edges of ourselves. YES! Just re-typing those words brought some clarity about what I am trying to express with this new blog. Seeing past the edges of ourselves. Oh thank you!! Really, truly. You have made my afternoon.

      • Jane says:

        You are so welcome for letting me be that edge of the mirror that you needed in which to see your intentions more clearly. I just did a scavenger hunt both here and on your 365 for your email address. Could you please send it to me …

  8. Cindy Lou says:

    Just had to say how much I’m enjoying this ‘discussion.’ The phrase/idea of “seeing past the edges of ourselves” is as intriguing as “always exercise your heart’s knowing.” Now I have two nuggets to muse upon….

  9. SandyCarlson says:

    Please blog. Whenever you feel like it. You bring so much to the blogosphere. Your version of ordinary is indeed very extraordinary.

  10. Marjory says:

    I agree with everyone, your words are delightful and heart warming. Don’t doubt your heart, let yourself be softly taken on a magical journey and share more of it with us!

    Love this line of the Hafiz poem you shared: “Always exercise your heart’s knowing. ”

    Marjory

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

