Seeing past the edges of ourselves (and a tree hug!)

 

Precious sunshine...

Aren’t  you amazed when the sun illuminates your heart?  When it breaks through the clouds of your thoughts and January troubles revealing its infinite Presence? 

Afternoon shadows on the deck

Today I have been experiencing such feelings of gratitude and joy for so many of you.  Those of you who share with comments, emails, messages, phone calls.  My life is surely blessed.  I am rich with your kindness, your presence, your caring. 

 I can’t tell you how many people reach out daily offering words of wisdom, strength, love and caring.  Dozens, it seems.  Rarely passes a day without someone sharing his or her personal thoughts, strengths, interpretations, gratitude.  It is truly amazing. 

Branches

 We ARE all connected.  I fall down; you help me up.  You stumble; I reach out a hand.  You cry; I wipe your tears.  I struggle; you help. 

It can be so simple.  Our connection with one another is so easily strengthened by words of encouragement.  We are so often mirrors for one another.  What I can’t see, you can.  What you can’t see, perhaps I can. 

 As many of you know, I’ve struggled in the first three weeks of this blog to discover its purpose, its intent, its core.  If you look around the blogging world you can usually summarize a blogging intent in a few words.  Many blogs connect readers with a place.  Others are nature blogs.  Photography blogs.  Poetry blogs, writing blogs, spiritual blogs, teaching blogs. 

Sunshine peeks through two trees

 You name it; that blog exists.  My blog last year was so focused.  365 days of going outside every day.  No struggles to define it.  It simply was. 

This afternoon a new friend, Jane (who just happens to live in Lake Superior country and writes a blog called Crazy…Once Again) offered an insight which spoke to me deeply.  She said “What you convey here resonates with us and encourages us to see past the edges of ourselves.” 

It was an AH-HA moment!  

Yes.  Thank you, Jane.  That is what this blog is about.  It encourages us (you and me) to see past the edges of ourselves.  Through writing, photography, sharing personal stories, walking in these Upper Peninsula woods, exploring, finding stones on the shores of Lake Superior.  

Thank you so very much for all of you.  We are many branches of one giant tree.  Beneath a golden shining sun.  A tree hug for all of you…

Tree hug!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Seeing past the edges of ourselves (and a tree hug!)

  1. I couldn’t pass on a tree hug! Great blog post and photographs. I really enjoyed “the sun between us” as well.

  2. Kathy says:

    Laurie this is exactly what I mean! You turn around and here is another gift. These precious words from you. (I am glad you enjoyed your tree hug…) A thousand blessings to you!

  3. kimnixon says:

    Love the photos! Your eye is wonderful. The perspectives fresh. And the new blog wonderful too! I am checking out some of the links on yor blogroll that are very intresting. I needed distractions and beauty tonight and so glad to surf friend’s sies that I don’t seem to get to visit often enough.

  4. Dawn says:

    A bit teary eyed here!

    I loved the sun between us photo as well. Then I went back and looked at all of them again. I didn’t get the tree hug photo the first time…then I did, the tree has ARMS! 🙂

    My blog is similar in that it might be about anything at all at any moment. I struggle too with wondering if I should rein myself in and focus on one concept. Is it the banker to student to librarian? The dog trainer? The truck safety advocate? The person who pushes people to take time to see the world, to say everything that needs to be said to their loved ones? Who is my blog representing?

    I think I’ve decided that I am all those things and my blog will have to be all those things too. It works for me. I don’t fit in a box, neither do you, so blog away with no fear!

    I also decided that a person could explain all of humanity with pictures of trees! 🙂

    Hugs back at ya.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Dawn, you are so very right. We don’t need to fit into a box. The minute we start doing that…we need to see past the edges of that box! LOL. It’s interesting what we bloggers think about. And YES we could explain all of humanity with trees. Who would have thought they would even have arms and give hugs?

  5. This tree is a hug and a kiss too! Upwoods, just over there, no, over HERE, past the edge of myself. Yes, right there. That’s the spot.
    Love love love that sun between us picture, Kathy!

    • Kathy says:

      Carla I’m sure that tree gives marvelous “melting hugs”. And kisses. LOL. I wasn’t thinking along the lines of kisses…hmmm….more thought for another blog!

  6. Gerry says:

    Cool tree hug! That might be a mimeto-tree.

    My edges are fairly diffuse at the moment, and my vision iffy, but every now and then I peer around to see what I can see.

  7. Fountainpen says:

    There is something nice about being surprised by another entry from UPWOODS….I smile, opening it, and touching and tasting pictures and words and picturewords and wordpictures….and allowing them all to settle within me……realizing we are indeed all connected and it is all gift after all……the realizations of our connectedness….with each other, with other species…with plants and trees and rainbows and snowdrifts and sunbeams and moonbeams….and feathers and rocks….

    There is something nice about what connections do for each of us…..I smile and send these words and Moses sends his purrs as he watches the computer screen….

    Fountainpen

    • Kathy says:

      Hi there Ms. Fountainpen, tasting pictures!! Wow, those words blow me away. I am learning to slow down and look at pictures and FEEL them. This is really new for me. A friend mentioned a couple of days that he looks at pictures with his whole body. That feels amazing. And yes, our interconnectedness…even with dear Moses. Hi kitty!

  8. Cindy Lou says:

    Being more connected not only to the world around me but to friends (old and new) are just a few of the great, good gifts you bestow on my life through your words and photos, Kathy! Love you!

    • Kathy says:

      I think we’re in the same boat Cindy. That’s the same thing that I get from this… (Now I’m singing that song “Make new friends, but keep the old, one is silver and the other’s gold…”

  9. p.j. grath says:

    Thank you for the tree hug and for the sun between the two trunks and for continuing to publish a blog. We would have missed you so much if you had stopped after 365 days that I just don’t want to think about it! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Pamela, you probably didn’t need to worry about it. LOL. I am hooked to this blogging world now. And all you guys! Just needed a wee break to gain bearings. May have–almost–gained ’em now.

  10. Quietpaths says:

    Beautifully written, Kathy.

    Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have
    into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos
    to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast,
    a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes
    sense of our past, brings peace for today,
    and creates a vision for tomorrow.
    – Melody Beattie

    • Kathy says:

      Oh Christine those words by Melody Beattie are indeed true. Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. Sitting quietly with that thought now and turning off the computer for the night. Goodnight…

  11. Jane says:

    I saw this post on the day of publishing, but wanted to sneak in after the “dust of the comments” had settled. I’m so glad to have reiterated the echos of your own heart… it’s only our own quiet voices against the roar of the the world at times. I struggle constantly with that echo but it’s only when I’m true to me that I feel my best and strongest voice. Your post about “cabin dreams” was awesome. Let her rip!!!

    • Kathy says:

      Jane, ever since you made this comment I’ve experienced a deep peace concerning this blog. A peace of simply sharing what my heart/soul reveals…what nature reveals…and feeling love and joy about that. Thank you again. (And thanks to the many others who have said the same thing in different words…preparing the soil so the seed could be planted at the right time.)

  12. flandrumhill says:

    If some people are tree huggers, it only stands to reason that some trees can be people huggers. Kathy, I think you found an absolutely beautiful specimen. Thank you for sharing it.

    • Kathy says:

      Guess what, Amy? I had posted this very same photo last summer. Can’t recall the date right now…but at the time was not thinking about it as a hugging tree. Interesting how a photo can represent one thing one time, and another later. To think we can find people hugging trees!

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...

