Ice crystals are a girl’s best friend…Honest!

Exhibit A. Ice crystal.

‘Tis the season for love.  It’s so cold outside, one needs to snuggle inside.  Before you know it a young man kneels to whisper words of love and commitment.  He asks his love to marry.  Pulls out a tiny case, opens it, and presents her with a…you guessed it!…diamond ring.

But do you know what our northern girl replies? 

“I will take this diamond ring,” she says, “but, truly, if we are to wed you must know the truth.  I prefer ice crystals.”

Exhibit B. Ice crystal on thin green reed.

Oh my goodness…did I really just type that little story?  Feel free to ignore it unless you’re already admiring our heroine.  You never know what will appear out of your typing fingers after you’ve been staring at ice crystals. 

Admiring their incredible beauty.  Their pizzazz.  Their fantastic shapes.

Exhibit C.

I convinced the sluggish resistant indoor mind that it was not in control early this morning. The weak January sun lit up hoar-frost outside the window!  It was time for an adventure.

Down the road I walked, attempting to capture images of the hoar-frost on the branches of the trees.  The frost sparkled like diamonds.  It looked so beautiful. 

But nary a single photo proved it.  The thin layer of ice simply did not register to the camera lens.  It wasn’t until I accidentally stumbled upon frozen puddles that the gift of the morning presented itself. 

Ice crystals.  Aren’t they gorgeous?  Aren’t you blown away by their delicate lacy structure?

Exhibit D.

Ice crystals don’t last.  Unlike the diamond ring which is meant to represent an undying eternal circle of love…the ice crystal lasts for an hour, a day, a week, a month.  It always changes. 

It can be covered by a blanket of snow tomorrow.  Or melted by a warming afternoon sun.

It’s preciousness lies in its transience.  In its Moment of Shining Beauty.  It brings us into the precious Now. 

It whispers, “This moment is all that you have.  Don’t miss the beauty before you.”

Exhibit E.

I have at least sixteen other photos to show you of this morning’s walk.  I waded through perhaps eight to ten inches of snow without snowshoes, following deer trails.  Found many treasures. 

You can’t imagine the work-out!  Breathless and sweating, I couldn’t believe it was only fifteen degrees. 

It felt so exhilarating to be outside, exploring new places.  Discovering ice crystals.

And our grand finale, Exhibit F.

Next time you glimpse hoar-frost on your trees, do not waste a single minute.  Head outside!  Search for frozen puddles.  You shall not be disappointed. 

Ice crystals are a girl’s best friend…I’m sure you guys will agree.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ice crystals are a girl’s best friend…Honest!

  1. Dawn says:

    Some of these photos are like the “frozen fog” I experienced a few days ago. But I didn’t run across any puddles, and didn’t see the larger, intricate ice crystals you saw. Beautiful!

  2. Gerry says:

    They’re all lovely, of course, but the very first one, in my mind, takes the prize. It has depth and energy and a WOW! factor.

    I would rather have it than a diamond ring any day.

  3. Kathy these photos are all so precious and I have two favourites – exhibit a and exhibit c. Exhibit a because your composition allows my eye to “hold” the crystal – outstanding. Exhibit c because it has such wonderful movement. What a wonder you have shared with us.

  4. Cindy Lou says:

    Fabulous….and fleeting or not, I’d take one over a diamond any day! My favorite is also the first one! Got your day’s workout, hey? 🙂

  5. p.j. grath says:

    Just gorgeous, Kathy, thought you might not think I can fully appreciate them from my comfortable perch here in the library in FLORIDA–but I do! And I wish I’d had David stop the car so I could get out my camera on the day we left northern Michigan because there was magnificent hoarfrost, a whole forest of it, as we came down into the Manistee River valley. I may never see it again like that, but I did see it that day and still remember it today. Thank you for all of your beautiful photographs! And for preferring ice crystals to diamonds! (Me, too.)

  6. Martha Bergin says:

    Stunningly beautiful photos; thoughts that inspire. Thank you!

  7. Oh my goodness, what your eyes see. Amazing!

  8. Kathy says:

    I’m glad you all like the ice crystals. They glistened with such incredible lacy beauty. So happy to share them with all of you!

  9. Quietpaths says:

    The lovely lady of your imagination knows true beauty. And, she speaks my language as I don’t care for diamonds myself. ( I prefer my Montana Yogo Sapphire.) These are so beautifully photographed. Wonderful! And I really enjoy it when the words just flutter out onto your blog.

    • Kathy says:

      Your Montana Yogo Sapphire sounds beautiful, Christine. I am glad you like the lady of imagination who so bravely spoke the truth to her new love. 🙂

  10. flandrumhill says:

    No wonder diamonds are often referred to as ‘ice.’ But their ephemeral quality makes real ice crystals even more precious than diamonds. Beautiful photos Kathy.

    • Kathy says:

      Ephemeral! Yes, yes, that was the elusive word I was looking for. The word itself was ephemeral… I thought you might like these ice crystal photos, Amy.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

