Gratitude for winter

Simplicity

I am grateful for winter today. 

For the white beauty of snow drifts, for blowing snow squalls.

For the cold North Wind, blowing across Lake Superior, nipping our cheeks and quickening our heartbeat.

For wood stoves and firewood and a cozy house in the forest.

Winter moves us ever inward into ourselves.  Our ancestors shared stories around the fire during the depths of winter, revealing teachings to the receptivity of the winter heart.  Certain stories can only be told when snow covers the earth. 

We listen to the winter-hush outside.  Snow insulates.  Snow forces us to slow down, to walk carefully, to wear boots. 

This blog is a celebration of long underwear, of icicles, of sleds, of snowshoes!  It reminds us to be thankful for the gifts of the dark months.  Not to hurry too quickly toward the seeds of spring.  Let us pause here, in mid-winter, and listen to frost teachings, snow shadow teachings, deer and squirrel track teachings.

Let us rest here these first days of February and appreciate what we have.  Appreciate our many gifts.  Appreciate that we are alive and breathing and sharing our gratitude with each other.

I feel so thankful for the Spirit of Winter.  Thank you, snow.  Thank you, cold.  Don’t leave until we’ve honored you enough.  Appreciated your gifts in fullness and simplicity…

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Gratitude for winter

  1. Amy says:

    Yes–and more of us live in places that flirt with winter! It comes and goes (or at least the snow does). Winter’s not something to settle into the same way. It’s odd to me–to feel the precariousness of winter, midwinter.

  2. Oh you say it so wonderfully – everything I feel about this time of year. Winter is precious to me, it always has been.

  3. Susan D says:

    Thank you for the precious tribute to my favorite season …
    Warm hugs!

  4. Dawn says:

    People used to ask me how I made it through the winters during my 6 years in Hancock. And I told them that it required getting out and learning new things, like how to cross country ski. And making peace with the snow and cold. Not to say that I wasn’t always totally excited when those willow trees started to turn extra yellow or I caught a glimpse of a patch of ground against the house where the sun had warmed the earth…

  5. Cindy Lou says:

    Dawn, I love what you said about “making peace with the snow and cold.” That’s a struggle for me every year – being a kid who never saw snow until I was in the 10th grade – and this time of the year is the hardest for me. So thank you…Kathy and Dawn…for reminding me of the ‘joys’ of winter. The beauty of it is all around me so I don’t need to be reminded of that! 🙂

  6. Quietpaths says:

    You made me smile here and indeed I agree thoroughly. Here we are in the clutch of winter… let’s be grateful for house, hearth and home. And… thermal underwear:
    “The lord in all her wisdom gave us bones and teeth and hair
    AND, the brains in which ourselves to fit –
    with thermal underwear.”

  7. Emma says:

    Ooh, good post!

  8. p.j. grath says:

    Lovely thoughts. It’s good to know that some are on the job, appreciating the snow and ice while others of us are elsewhere. Our celebration here in Florida today is for rain, rain, rain, dark clouds, waterlogged ground, wet dogs–and having gotten the car to run smoothly again by jiggling a loose wire rather than paying $5,000 in repair bills or to replace the vehicle. You are inward and serene. We are giddy and silly with relief! Anyway, it’s good to be in touch with your world.

  9. Kathy says:

    I am glad you are all appreciate the beauties of winter (even those of you in warmer places!) It felt good to remember this yesterday. To connect more deeply with the gifts of winter. Thank you all for joining me in this gratitude.

  10. I had the same sentiment downstate (below the bridge) the other night when we had the full moon. The spectacular sight of a clear, full-moon night, on freshly fallen snow is really magical. It’s amazing that everything can still glitter, even at night! Cheers to Michigan winters!

    • Kathy says:

      Emerson, aren’t such moments wonderful? The full moon on freshly-fallen slow is indeed a precious gift of winter. So glad that you paused to feel the beauty.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

