Slow waltz of the quarter moon

Someone stole the moon and hung it on a branch

Yesterday I felt absolutely…peaceful. 

Have you ever experienced a day that felt like a soft cushion upon which your soul lingered?  A day so peaceful that nary a breeze blew to disrupt the sense of joy and contentment? 

That was yesterday.  I looked around for an explanation without really caring.  (Who cares about explaining things when one feels that good?)  The only explanation that presented itself appeared on the calendar.  

Yesterday was:  “Nirvana Day” in the Buddhist tradition.  Obviously, I was experiencing Nirvana, right?  Or the residue of Nirvana was spilling upon the world, creating little havens of peace and joy everywhere. 

Maybe? 

Quarter moon on a stick

Then again, maybe it was the Moon.  The Moon is a little more than half way between its fullness and its emptiness.   Some might call it a quarter moon.  A sliver of a waning moon. 

On this upcoming Saturday night it shall be completely New.  Completely empty.  Completely dark.  Yet, now, on Tuesday night, a sliver still lights the world.  

And it’s waltzing across the sky. 

Quarter moon ferns beneath a log

OK, I made that part up.  About the waltzing across the sky.  But we can pretend, can’t we?  They say the moon affects our emotions in so many ways.  It pulls on the tide-waters in our bodies.  It rises and sets in our hearts. 

Today some slight disturbances momentarily disrupted the slow waltz of blissful emotion.  We shall call that disturbance “Filing Income Taxes”.  I sat before the sky of Turbo Tax and punched in numbers for at least an hour this afternoon, until my eyes crossed and I lost almost all sense of equanimity.  

However, it did revive when I discovered that we would be getting a nice refund thanks to the “Making work pay” credit of $400 per person! 

I truly wish the same for all of you.  A week of deep peace as the quarter moon waltzes across the sky…and a hefty income tax refund…  🙂

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Slow waltz of the quarter moon

  1. Dawn says:

    I have not had a Nirvana moment since we got Katie. She’s three now. Maybe when she’s an old dog of 15.

    • Kathy says:

      You make me laugh, Dawn! Actually, my friend Jan has (had?) a wild & crazy dog…oh so wild and crazy. And the dog is now maybe five and is the tamest most peaceful thing you can imagine. So there’s hope. Two years. Two years max and you’ll have a Nirvana moment. LOL!

  2. Fantastic blog post and photos!

  3. fountainpen says:

    I smiled at the first picture. Someone tried to hang the moon but did so, not quite high enough….just made it to the little tag on the branch in the first picture……tried to fling it to the sky, but alas……not quite high enough!!!!!

    Fountainpen…..

    • Kathy says:

      Dear Ms. Fountainpen, wasn’t it a fun picture? Darn it…must have been one of the “Little People” (whose homes were recently featured) who tried to fling that moon into the sky. Maybe? LOL.

  4. Kathy, last night as I made people smile when I was closing off my tweet stream with “Been a good day and now the stars are curling their toes preparing to race across the sky before dawn.” I think I want to put this image together with your waltzing moon.

    An incredible collection of photos. You have an excellent eye.

    • Kathy says:

      Terrill, I love the creative magical way you think, too. Stars curling their toes! That gives me a warm glow just thinking about it… (Couldn’t believe it the other day when the “eye” kept coming across quarter moons.)

  5. Martha says:

    You are utterly amazing! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Martha, that feels lovely. Are you still juicing? I bought a pineapple the other day and think tomorrow morning will be the day to juice up maybe some pineapple-orange-apple mixture.

  6. Cindy Lou says:

    Life is good, hey? 🙂

  7. evelyn says:

    I have never blogged. I saw your story in a local newspaper and because I’m from the L’Anse area, I decided to do this. Being an artist I enjoy the subtleties of nature. Thank you for sharing your enjoyable albeit challenging trips into the wilds of my beloved Upper Peninsula.

  8. Emma says:

    I love these moons! And thanks for the wishes of peace…and refunds. =D

  9. Annie says:

    Just beautiful…actually saw the quarter moon the other morning as I was exercising. With the snow, the moonlight makes it sparkle through the darkness.

    • Kathy says:

      I am glad you caught a glimpse of the quarter moon, Annie. I never before thought of the snow making the moonlight sparkle–but you’re right–it does!

  10. Jane says:

    Please let me know when Evelyn starts to blog.. that will be cool!
    Where in the heck did you find all these visions that were so assimalar to your post? I know you have an “eye for woods things” but these pics were the greatest. thanks for sharing Kathy!! Seek and ye shall find?

    • Kathy says:

      Jane, I saw the quarter moon images in the woods around our house, and then decided to write the blog about this topic afterward. That’s what I usually do…take the pics first…and then build the story around them. Glad you liked them.

  11. flandrumhill says:

    Here in Canada, our income tax filing deadline is April 30th. All those numbers! I hope your eyes have un-crossed themselves by now.

    • Kathy says:

      Amy, our deadline is April 15th. If you’re expecting a refund, folks usually do their taxes in February. Yep, I’m recovered from that “adventure”!

  12. quietpaths says:

    Dynamite first shot. It just made me smile. You inspired me reading this post today. I take it you had a big grin on your face when you finished your taxes? We sure did.

  13. A magical photo, and I love your caption to go with it.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

