High in the sky above Lake Superior…checking out the ice

Looking south over Sand Point...Assinins in foreground...L'Anse straight ahead

No, I did not go up in an airplane.  No, these are not my photos.

These aerial photographs come to you courtesy of  Barry’s fishing buddy, Mike.  Mike owns a small two-seater plane and he headed up into the friendly skies above our shoreline along Lake Superior last Friday.

He emailed his photographs of Keweenaw and Huron bays to the L’Anse Sentinel, our weekly newspaper (where my husband just happens to be the editor)  and I begged Barry…begged, mind you, blog readers…just for you…to ask Mike for permission to publish them here.  Mike thankfully agreed.

Looking northeast from the Head of Keweenaw Bay

I interviewed Barry about Mike’s plane a couple hours ago.  He says Mike likes to fly his plane about once a month during the winter.  He stores it in a hangar up at the Houghton Airport and keeps his eye open for a nice day.  Apparently last Friday met all requirements.  Up he went.

Looking north from the Huron Bay (Reed's Point on the left)

Strangely, Nancy and I were visiting the heronry on Friday and heard an airplane overhead.  “A plane!”  she exclaimed, “Let’s wave at it.”  We peered into the heavens.  The plane flew north of us.  We didn’t get the opportunity to wave wildly from the ground.  I am now 99.9% convinced that it was Mike’s plane. 

Who would have guessed we’d have his photos a few days later?

Looking south in the Huron Bay

Back to my interview with Barry–about Mike and his plane.  He said the boys have been speculating about where the end of the ice might be.  They are all ice fishermen and want to know.  He is convinced Mike flew upwards into the sky just to check on the ice.

You never know.

The ice fishermen are restless with minimal ice cover so far this winter.

Mike opens the window of his plane and sticks his camera out to get the photographs, attempting not to get pictures of the airplane wing.  It’s freezing cold outside the at that speed and altitude.  Brrrr…. 

I really want to thank Mike for allowing me to publish his great photos.  What a wonderful opportunity to see our fair land and lake from the sky in February!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to High in the sky above Lake Superior…checking out the ice

  1. Dawn says:

    Wow! How wonderful is THAT! Great photos…and a view most of us will never see for ourselves. Though I wouldn’t have minded being in that other seat!

  2. Elisa says:

    OH!! Ty for the flying and for reminding me to unfurl my wings!! They still work garsh darn it!

  3. My husband (Len) who is a pilot (flys a Cessna 172) thoroughly enjoyed this blog post – thank you!

  4. Barb says:

    Mike’s photos are great – lovely blue sky! Too bad he didn’t get you and Nancy waving!

  5. Dawn says:

    Those are so beautiful – not too much ice, I’m surprised.

    Thanks Mike for sharing 🙂

  6. Gerry says:

    Oh these are wonderful to see! We can see the sweep and power of wind and water, the shadows of clouds moving across the snow-covered ice . . . just lovely.

  7. Reggie says:

    What a truly beautiful area you live in, Kathy! From me too, a big thank you to Mike for the photos – and to Barry for allowing you to bug him! 😉

  8. Cindy Lou says:

    Oh how lovely! For a moment, I’m in love with winter in our land! Thanx – huge ones – to Mike and Barry 🙂 I’m forwarding this one on to Ricky – a lot like Barry with the ice and fishing.

  9. Cindy Lou says:

    Ooops….I’ve discovered a couple of quotes that grabbed my heart and thought I’d share one with you because they reminded me of you and the harmony you share with life:

    “Each small task of everyday life is part of the total harmony of the universe.” -St. Teresa

  10. Cathy says:

    WOW – makes me want to get in my car and drive right up there!

  11. I want to thank Mike, too. I don’t know if I would be brave enough to risk the cold. These are beautiful pictures.

    Did they find out if the ice was good enough to ice fish on it?

  12. flandrumhill says:

    What beautiful images. As a teenager I often came along when my dad would take aerial photographs from a helicopter. The world is at least as amazing as seen from above as it is down on the ground.

  13. quietpaths says:

    All I can say is: what a view! Superior is truly one majestic body of water. Wonderful, thanks for sharing these and thank you to Mike!

  14. Kathy says:

    I’m glad everyone enjoyed Mike’s photos! The ice cover stretches quite a bit farther out almost a week later. Still, the guys aren’t fishing on their favorite spots on Keweenaw Bay yet. They need more ice to form before they’ll call it safe.

  15. Jane says:

    Now we know what the eagles see… I loved these!

  16. Pingback: An eagle-eye view of Lake Superior in mid-winter « Lake Superior Spirit

  17. Colleen says:

    Spectacular 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

