Swooshing on skis along Lake Superior

 

The Huron Bay

Forget what I said recently about preferring snowshoeing to cross-country skiing.

Yesterday completely busted my previous opinion.

“You’re making such a liar out of me,” I told Nancy as we skied along on flat, flat ground, our skis swooshing effortlessly in the near-perfect skiing conditions.  The blue sky shined above us and the temperatures basted us in the upper 30’s.

We were in heaven along the shore of Lake Superior.

Nancy leads the way

Nancy works on Tuesday through Thursday, so she’s taken to calling about going on outdoor adventures on Fridays.  Last week we visited the heronry.  This week she suggested the “ski” word.  I took a deep breath and agreed, especially when she mentioned flat terrain.

Did we want to ski along the lake, or along a trail across from her house?

How about the lake?

We must have uttered the words “gorgeous day” at least a dozen times.  It was picture-perfect.  We skied out from Witz Marina in Skanee and headed northeast along the edge of the bay.  The ice out this far is not solid very far out in the bay, so we stuck to the shoreline.  No ice fishing tents dotted the horizon–all sensible ice fishermen baited lines farther in the Huron Bay.

Blue sky, tree

We admired the cabins along the shore.  Nancy knows just about everyone in the community.  We’ve only lived here about 30 years, so we’re still newcomers.  She’s always telling me who is related to who, who lives where, and all sorts of interesting details about people.  She shared ancient history about long-dead residents as our skis glided along.  It was fascinating.

Sauna on lake

We headed toward Lightfoot Bay, a piece of land owned by the Keweenaw Land Trust.  Perhaps some of you remember the blog last summer about our visit there while awaiting the three-masted schooner.  If not, please click here and here.  You can see what the land looks like at the end of June.

We skied up to the lodge owned by the land trust and I noticed the intricate wood on the upper story.  I had not remembered it from last summer, although my trusty observant husband later revealed he recalled it.

Lodge

Nancy and I talked about how much fun it would be to rent the cabin with some other women and spend an overnight or weekend there.  Then we plotted a possible overnight tour with the Book Club to Munising and the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore.

By the time we finished our ski, we had all sorts of adventures planned for the summer.

Broken window

What I enjoyed about this cross-country skiing trip (besides the flat terrain) was the leisurely way we explored the landscape, pausing numerous times to photograph all sorts of views.  It proved a magnificent Friday afternoon.  Can winter get much better than this?

It was a lovely ski, wasn't it?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Swooshing on skis along Lake Superior

  1. Gerry says:

    We have had perfect February weather all up and down the Pleasant Peninsulas, haven’t we! There is just one thing lacking from the perfect day. Were there no treats? Surely after all the skiing there should be treats.

    • Kathy says:

      Gerry, we had two perfect pears shipped up from Missouri or Mississippi or Florida or some southern state. However, we forgot the pears in the car. We meant to munch them somewhere along the ski. Then we forgot to eat them when we returned to the car. We brought them home instead and…it’s going to be breakfast tomorrow morning! Glad that you had perfect February weather on your Pleasant Peninsula as well. If ye seek a pleasant peninsula…look about you (ye?)

  2. Dawn says:

    These kinds of days were exactly why I loved living in the UP. Sort of makes you forget those other kinds of winter days..

    • Kathy says:

      I wish you could be back in our fair Upper Peninsula this afternoon. Or any of these recent days. The warm (30’s) temperatures and sunny skies would please you very much, I suspect.

  3. Cathy says:

    Absolutely gorgeous!

  4. Cindy Lou says:

    It was a gorgeoumous day, wasn’t it? I shoveled a bit, stacked some of the new load of wood that was delivered, worked on a puzzle, sat on my snuggly spot on the couch and finished a book….all in all, a good day!

    I know I’m anxious, but I’m already starting to look for bare dirt in my gardens! Waaaaaaay too soon!

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy, your day sounded lovely, too. I smiled to think of you putting together a puzzle. I used to put together puzzles in the wintertime…but my tax job is like putting together a gigantic puzzle so I quit doing them. But they were always so fun.

      Smiling also to think of your desire to be digging in the dirt. You are such a garden-girl! And you create your gardens so beautifully. Bet you are counting down the weeks. It is a lil bit early…

  5. Deborah says:

    Are the herons there this time of year ? I’m not sure where ours are, until Spring. Perhaps, they are about. I know where our heronry is.

    You asked “Can winter get much better than this?” I doubt it, it did sound like a day in heaven on earth.

    I have missed you; and so, came looking in that place, where I knew I would find you – happy and in fullness of living.

    Deborah

    • Kathy says:

      Deborah, if you click on the highlighted link you can learn all about where our herons are at this time of year. They are actually in Central and South America, hopefully enjoying some really nice weather. I am glad you know where your heronry is located.

      It has been good to take a break from some other on-line activities and cease being so verbal in so many places for awhile. I am glad you came over here to wave your hand and say hello. So happy to see you.

  6. Annie says:

    WOW!!! These pictures sure display the peacefulness of winter! Beautiful!!!

  7. Jane says:

    What clear pics of your outdoor day… I’ve never seen this color blue anywhere but here in the UP skies. What a great day to be out and about with Nancy. (I met her MIL on Saturday)
    I’d love to sit out on that upper deck at Matsons old camp on a warm summer night, fireflies, glass of wine, light breeze off the water… Love that rustic woodwork.

    PS… I think I’d know you at Pats from your blog pics, LOL

    • Kathy says:

      You’re gonna have to let me know if we ever do run into each other around town! I like the sound of that warm summer night and the wine and the fireflies and the breeze. Except you forgot to mention the mosquitoes and the black flies! Oh never mind…I’m sure there wouldn’t be any of THOSE fellas hangin’ round. Smiling…

  8. quietpaths says:

    Oh, I can tell from sitting all the way over here that it was pretty much perfect! Wonderful. So glad you had a great time. Gorgeous!!

    • Kathy says:

      Christine, did you read that there wasn’t a single hill? You probably would have been yawning… You and my son. But it was fun to be on skis on such a gorgeous day.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

