Confession and announcement

Lichen on a stick

I have a tiny confession.  And an announcement.

Remember yesterday’s blog about simplifying?  About looking around at our lives and pruning away that which is no longer needed…in order to make space for some newness, some creativity, some joy, some possibility?

Well, for a few weeks I’ve carved, pruned, cut away, cleared brush, opened up wide paths in my life.

Three days ago, in the midst of the pruning (here is the confession part) I did something unexpected.  Started writing again.  Not like the writing in this blog, which is mostly chatty and everyday and sharing.

Instead, I started writing close-to-the-bone.  Like switching the camera on the macro lens and peering up close at moments in the day.  And decided–(yes, yes, the confession part is coming)–to start another blog.

Are you gasping in disbelief?

Now I know that doesn’t sound like simplifying.  In fact, to some of you, that may darn well look like complicating.  But to me it is already a source of great joy and it feels extremely simple and presence-filled and peaceful.

The name of the new blog is called “Simply Here“.  This is what I shared under the “About” section:

This blog is a simple one.  Simple photos, simple words.  It hopes to catch simple moments of existing on this great blue and green planet.  Bare-bones moments.  Moments without a lot of fuss and chatter and mental add-ons.

Simply this moment.  And the next one.  And the next one.  Whenever the moment decides it wants to be etched in soft words.  Words which will easily drop away in the next moment.

May you enjoy this interlude.  May you be inspired to write or draw or sing your own sacred moments.  Blessings to you who have wandered by this forest path.

It feels peaceful because…heck, I don’t know why it feels peaceful.  It feels like this new blog writes itself.  No effort to get photographs (using old ones or borrowing them from here) and the words seem to address a spiritual longing in me to get as close to the sacred moment as possible.

I wasn’t even going to tell you guys about it…let it be my own little fun and moments of self-expression (it only takes 15-20 minutes to write it in the morning or after work)…but, heck, I can’t keep my big mouth shut.

Here’s the web address if you ever want to check it out:  http://risingnow.wordpress.com/

No pressure to visit!  I’m probably not even going to respond individually to comments there–at least that’s the plan right now–although that might change in the next moment.  Just wanted to share the latest bit of creative adventuring.

Phew.  Confession time is over.  And in case any of you have read today’s blog over there:  my ear ache is (hopefully) gone!  Hurray!

But don’t anybody worry. This is still the Main Blog.  The chatty blog.  The photo blog.  The blog that shares some Lake Superior Spirit from our Little House in the Big Woods.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Confession and announcement

  1. holessence says:

    Kathy – My hat is off to you! Like you, I THRIVE on simplicity; a Zen like lifestyle. On the “Article” page of my website I share:

    “I am often asked about the hallmark of my writing — brevity.

    My creative muse is wabi-sabi. A practice where inessentials are eliminated and trimmed away. The intersection where wabi (minimal) and sabi (functional) meet is the foundation of my creativity.

    It is my perspective that our creativity is the outward expression of our connection to Divine Love.”

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, I love the brevity of your writing. Wabi-sabi suggests a deep carving to reveal the essential…a marvelous foundation of creativity.

      I am not necessarily aiming for brevity in my new blog. It isn’t going to be necessarily less words (although it may be!) I aim to create words and sentences so full of attention and awareness and presence and detail that they paint a picture filled with hues of feeling. So that the sentences are viscerally felt in the solar plexus.

      Which is another outward expression of connection to Divine Love. Love your new expression, your new blog: http://holessence.wordpress.com/

  2. Barb says:

    Congratulations – I’ll peek at the new Blog. I love these photos.

  3. Dawn says:

    How wonderful. Of course I’ll be over there too! Can’t resist reading peacefully!

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, thank you. It’s funny how words created when you’re in a state of presence/peace feel different than words created in other ways. It’s fun to carve a space to write with sense-filled details.

  4. Fountainpen says:

    Hey, Team, last comment on yixing teapots…..They are only for steeping
    tea…They are made of clay and will break immediately if placed on a hot
    burner or into a microwave……They are only for steeping….

    Over and out about this subject,
    Fountainpen

    Kathy! However you can allow words to sing and dance… to spring up from your soul and talk to you and through you to us….do it!
    Fountainpen!

    • Kathy says:

      Fountainpen, I am smiling at how much we know about yixing teapots! A poem or blog could be created singing the praises of clay, earth, tea. Maybe someday…? 🙂

      It’s nice to have more than one space to write more than one way. Thank you for your support AND thank you for the new set of cards which just came!!! They are wonderful, wonderful. Can’t wait to start sending some of the images from last year’s outdoor blog out into the world. You are an incredible thoughtful person…thank you.

  5. “I aim to create words and sentences so full of attention and awareness and presence and detail that they paint a picture filled with hues of feeling. So that the sentences are viscerally felt in the solar plexus.”

    Attention
    Awareness
    Presence
    Detail
    Hues of feeling

    I’m subscribing now!

  6. Kathy – I was just there and don’t see a “subscription” button. Where is it? (I’m assuming it’s different than an RSS feed). There’s an actual “subscription” button on mine — I’m not seeing it on yours.

  7. I’m all signed up now — thank you! Have a FANTASTIC weekend, Kathy.

  8. Cindy Lou says:

    Simply…..I can’t wait to travel another road with you! Love ya….

    • Kathy says:

      Don’t feel obligated to visit there, too, dear Cindy Lou! Kiah just wrote a comment over there telling me I was crazy to have two blogs! Laughing…but it feels like so very very much fun! To have a space to write poetry and magic words, too. Happy, happy, skipping into the weekend!

  9. p.j. grath says:

    Inspiration is a wonderful gift, but even more wonderful is responding to it when it calls.

  10. I’m catching up a bit today (until my laptop crashes yet again) so I’m reading in reverse order. Kudos on starting to write again … that and simplifying are certainly in the forefront of MY mind though progress is S L O W. Perhaps that’s because I try to keep up with THREE blogs. LOL Good luck on your new ventures … I’ve added the link to my reader and will check it as time permits. My other two blogs are
    Sacred Ruminations
    Small Reflections
    Hugs and blessings,

    • Kathy says:

      Dear happilyretired…I am smiling to think you are managing THREE blogs. Your blogs are wonderful. I will also try to check in on them. It’s inspiring to know that others are hip-hopping between blogs as well. Hope your laptop doesn’t crash again. That is not a simple thing… Thanks for stopping by!

  11. Jessica says:

    You know I will follow any blog you write. I love your writing, simple or chatty 🙂 Good wishes in all you do my northern neighbor and friend.

    • Kathy says:

      Thanks, Jessica. Blogs can be so different, even written by the same person, don’t you think? Totally different topics can be explored; totally different ways of writing. We’re lucky to have so many opportunities to try different venues! Hugs from the north zinging down there to the “south”…

  12. quietpaths says:

    That is just totally awesome.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

