Tired & grateful

Barry takes a break while shoveling the roof

OK, guys, time to tell the truth. I’m tired.  Exhausted.  Bleary-eyed.

What?  you say.  You’re not exhausted!  Your poor husband is exhausted.  He’s the one up on the roof shoveling off heavy snow.  What have you been doing that’s so tiring?  Checking blog hits?

Look how much snow I have to shovel off the deck!

Umm…umm…yes.  At least that’s what I did obsessively for 24 hours when the Zillion Hit blog hit big-time on the WordPress home page.  It was both wonderful and exhausting.

It was wonderful because people seemed truly appreciative to have blog tips.  It seemed like people really wanted and needed suggestions about how to improve readership.  Others just wanted to share about their blogs.  A huge outpouring of community connection spontaneously opened up.

One fellow commented, “Kathy, great advice – I read your blog yesterday, and then made a little extra effort to make a zinging headline for the blog I was writing at the time… what do you know, it made the front page for the first time! So, thanks for sharing!”  You can read his post “You know you’re a nature photographer when…” by clicking here.  Good work, David!

This felt wonderful.  It felt wonderful to read what everyone said–almost 200 comments now (although some of the comments were mine before I got too overwhelmed and quit publically responding.  Have been slowly visiting the blogs themselves saying hi and thank you.  May be some time before that gets wrapped up.)

Our Little House in the Big Woods with Big Piles of Snow

My blogs have been featured on the homepage of WordPress before.  It’s exciting.  Once the blog received 600 extra hits, and once 2,100 visitors arrived during the two-day run.  But this blogging-blog went crazy!  I mean crazy!

Guess how many visitors came over for a cup of blog tea? You’re guessing a zillion, right?  You’re right.  5,800 hits registered during the twenty-four period it ran.

Wow.  Wow! And you know what–even though it was wonderful and lovely and magnificent–I am tired.  Of course, add in a couple part-time jobs, two meetings this week, two lunch dates, and an ice fishing expedition, and I suppose you would be tired too.  Wouldn’t you?

Doesn’t it sound a tiny bit as exhausting as shoveling the roof?

Things should settle down by tomorrow.  If that happens, you can learn all about our ice fishing trip yesterday on 265 feet of water on the Keweenaw Bay of Lake Superior.   Until then…goodnight.  Ooops, I mean, goodbye.  We have to hop in the car and go up to Houghton tonight because Barry has to cover a hockey tournament for his newspaper job.  At least we’ll have a nice dinner out on our “date”.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Tired & grateful

  1. Sue says:

    Oooooo…..look at all the snow!

    I’m glad that you made it back from your ice fishing expedition.
    You know I wish I could tag along for the trip to Houghton….but guess I’ll have to wait for more of that snow to melt.
    I’m looking forward to your pictures….
    and, Hey!
    you better get your tired butt up and make some tea for that hard working husband of yours! 😉

    ps.
    Nice job on the zillion hits blog!!!

    • Kathy says:

      Susan, our snow is melting-melting-melting today! It’s 45 degrees, can you believe it? We had dinner last night at the Library Restaurant. It was International night and they had Thai food. Yum! The hard working husband and I enjoyed our “date”. Hope you’re enjoying this melting next door in your state.

  2. flandrumhill says:

    I don’t know what’s more incredible: all that snow or all those hits! I can just imagine how tired you are. I hope you don’t fall asleep in the arena!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Amy–it’s funny how flattened I got. Well, I actually didn’t go to the hockey arena. Instead (at the last sec) we brought the laptop Ms. Ellie along for the ride. When he went to the hockey game, I enjoyed a cup of coffee at the coffe shop. If you scroll through the comments (give me a few minutes to respond) you’ll see what happened at the coffee shop. It was a strange synchronicity.

  3. davidpj says:

    Sounds like you’re managing to keep busy despite your brush with the big time! I agree that it was a bit of a heady feeling seeing my stats counter shoot up above the thousand mark for a couple of days in a row, though I didn’t get quite the response you did – there’s tip #9, if you’re going to write a blog which gets featured, make it’s about something absolutely every wordpress.com user relates to!

    I guess the best thing about the opportunity was to see some of the variety of people out there who visit blogs, and to get the chance to visit their spaces and see what they’re writing about. It’s a jungle out there… in a good way, of course.

    • Kathy says:

      David, seeing stats shoot up above the thousand mark is huge. Glad you experienced that success! I think you’ve nailed what Tip #9 should be: write about blogging. (It seems to be the main thing all we WordPressers have in common. We’re blogaholics. LOL!)

      Are you visiting all the bloggers who commented on your blog? I’m trying to. It’s slowwwwwwwww. But I feel like when people bother to make a comment it’s polite to reciprocate. (My kids laugh at me about this insane desire to keep conversations going!)

  4. I’m chuckling at this post. My blog was on the wordpress home page for a day and a half last year, after just a few months of blogging. It was CRAZY. And like a sugar high for 36 hours, and then the post-event doldrums set in. Not only exhaustion, but disappointment as you see that of all the commenters, you possibly retained a handful of new readers.

    Personally, I was still delighted, as I imagine you are. And if you get some new readers who stick around, as Martha would say: “its a good thing.”

    Meanwhile, I say go play in the snow. Angels. Sculptures. And a hot toddy afterwards. You’ve earned it this week!

    • Kathy says:

      Big Little Wolf…been thinking about what you just wrote. Yep, it’s like a sugar high when the blog is getting so many hits. It’s like you keep stuffing cake in your mouth, or boxes of chocolate, and you can’t stop. I already know that not many new readers will be retained (experienced that disappointment before) so am not expecting crowds to stick around.

      It IS a good thing, though. Really good!

      As for those snow angels–that might be fun–but it’s melting like crazy out there today. It would be like a snow bath! Maybe time to build a snowman??

  5. Gerry says:

    Hockey . . . YES!! The perfect antidote to sleepiness. And the treats in Houghton are reliable. That Barry. He’s a keeper. I hope you have a wonderful date.

    • Kathy says:

      Yep, Gerry, Barry is a keeper. He’s a good guy. Not gonna throw him back. (Oops, sorry, thinking about tonight’s ice fishing blog already. ha ha) As for hockey: I blew it off and went to the coffee shop instead. Java is good. Java is really good.

  6. pearlz says:

    So, so different from the green surrounding me.

  7. You are such a great journal sharer. I love knowing about your days. I just posted some new stuff on my blog. Tomorrow night is the opening for my first ever art exhibit. I feel like I am about to birth a cow. I am going to bed grateful I did not have to shovel my roof today. Just dodge mud puddles. Love and thank you for all your faithful blogging. Love and future hugs, S

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Suzi. Thanks for your wonderful words. You are giving your FIRST EVER art exhibit tonight? Oh wow! That is a huge accomplishment. You are having a big week, too. I hope it is a wonderful success–oh, it will be. Will try to get over to your blog & visit. Still have 100 blogs to comment on before I can get back & see my friends…

  8. jkdaigna says:

    It’s been great chatting with you in the coffee shop…it couldn’t be more clear that I was supposed to make a blog! Hopefully with spring break starting tomorrow I’ll have plenty of time to get a good start and make it my own.

    Be sure to keep in touch and I’ll definitely keep following your blog. Now it’s time to study for my 9 a.m. exam!!

    • Kathy says:

      Hope your 9 a.m. exam went beautifully!

      All you other commenters: I have to tell you what happened at the coffee shop last night. This young lady jkdaigna and her friend were sitting next to me. Suddenly–of all things–she mentions that she just started a new WordPress Blog yesterday or the day before. Can you imagine? What are the chances of that happening?

      So we exchanged our WordPress addresses (I was so tired I couldn’t remember that it was upwoods–thought it was Lake Superior Spirit) and toured our respective sites. I said, “by the way, I just wrote a blog with blogging tips–”

      Life is strange and can be so synchronistic.

      Nice meeting you and have a good spring break!

  9. Liz says:

    Wow… I’ll bet there was smoke coming out of your computer with that many hits! I’m so impressed that you took the time to come to my blog and leave a comment! I responded there and wanted to make sure I said hi here.
    Happy ice fishing and I’ll be back 🙂
    Liz

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Liz, thanks for coming back again. Yikes! Hope smoke doesn’t come out of this computer, LOL. Don’t need to buy a new one for a long time. It was good to meet you and visit your blogging home.

  10. lesdaprez says:

    I thought we got a lot of snow!!!… Blog on, blog on…

  11. Congratulations Kathy on your zillion hits! I got exhausted just reading along with the comments. I have started what I suggested others do and drop by each person’s blog (at that time you only had about 80). It felt like a crazy block party or something… mostly or something because I’ve never been to a block party – have hung out down by the river with a fire and lots of friends though:)

    Now you need to do a second post Kathy building on BigLittleWolf and your experience. How about “How to survive a Zillions hit on WordPress” and “Being an normal gal after zillion hit stardom loses its shine” and maybe “Retirement pasture for zillion hit WordPress bloggers”

    Well, I off to my potager to plant a few inspiring sprouts in tomorrows conclusion of “Talking Bread Loaves” warm hugs Kathy and I think you are legitimately as tired as the guy on the roof shoveling snow! Terrill

    • Kathy says:

      Terrill, isn’t it kind of nuts stopping by so many blogs and commenting? Yet it feels important to build community–to reach out to people–to say hello and How You Doing.

      As for writing any other blog with the word Zillion in it–yikes! Did you notice today’s headline? It is more like an oatmeal headline, a whole grain headline, a whispering headline. Actually I am thinking about writing a blog today about the zillion fish we caught ice fishing–NOT!

      So glad you were able to have a few visitors on your blog, too. Have a good weekend.

  12. Reggie says:

    You are so right, Kathy, I’d be utterly exhausted too after your week! That’s a serious PILE of snow to shovel!

    My personal recommendation: go and make two steaming hot mugs of rich dark cocoa, add two generous dollops of thick cream to each mug, plop in a couple of marshmellows, and sprinkle a chocolate flake over each.

    Yes, I know that’s a calorie bomb, but you are sure to work it all off again in a day or two when you shovel more snow. 🙂 So you don’t need to feel guilty.

    Oh – and just to make that clear – one of the mugs is for Barry, up there on the roof! Poor dear!

    • Kathy says:

      Reggie, your cocoa suggestion sounds wonderful. (I accidentally typed coffee instead–must have coffee on the brain.) Maybe will have some right now? Hugs to you…

  13. Cindy Lou says:

    I don’t know, Reggie, I think Barry looks pretty darn comfortable up there in the sunshine…..though he’d probably enjoy a cup of hot chocolate! 🙂 And I had been wondering how you were holding up under all those hits, Kathy….it was exhausting enough to read through all the comments…though fun! Good for you – get some rest today and enjoy the sunshine! Love ya!

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy, you read through all those comments? You and Terrill? I just kept hoping that none of you were receiving all 200 comments in the in-box of your email. Thought you would shoot me for sure if that was the case.

      It was so exhausting but I think I am almost fully recovered! And the sun is shining. I was laying like a cat curled up in the sunshine an hour ago. So relaxing. You have a good weekend, too.

  14. A hockey tournament and dinner…what could be better? 🙂 Enjoy!

    • Kathy says:

      Scott, hockey fan that you are, you will probably be disappointed to hear I ditched Barry in favor of a coffee shop. (We HAD spent three hours together before that.)

  15. I can understand how you would be tired, especially when your blog got that many hits! Wow! I guess I have noticed that having a blog is like having a mini-job… You have to take time out of each day to keep up with it. I imagine you where up late answering all those comments! Thank you so much for visiting my blog and commenting, it made my day. I am from Bliss MI. by the way, which is what drew me to your blog. Your pictures are beautiful and I miss being Up North. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Bliss, MI, sounds like a wonderful place to live. (Bet you hear that a lot!) Yep, sometimes blogging is like having a mini-job that’s for sure. We have to love it to keep coming back, right? My husband suggested recently that we should get paid for blogging. Hmmm, that’s an idea isn’t it? Thanks for stopping by Elisabeth.

  16. Aphrael says:

    Over 5,000 hits ??? I am amazed. I am hoping to have that over the course of the year, but you got that in a day. W O W ! ! !

  17. What MARVELOUS wintry photos here and in the ice fishing post too. I had no idea one needed to shovel snow off the roof … seriously! I’m such an uninformed winter wimp behind raised in Southern California near the beach.
    Hugs and blessings,

    • Kathy says:

      You stick around and I’ll teach you all about shoveling and winter, LOL. It’s never-ending around here… You’ll soon be an Expert in Winter Living.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

