Dreaming of dolphins, palm trees & family

Palm tree & whirlpool. Life doesn't get much better than this...

 In less than seventy hours my winter dream will come true.  It’s time for the annual visit down to Fort Myers Beach to visit my mom and dad.  Yes!   

Time to sit beneath palm trees waving in the wind.  To walk the Bird Sanctuary and perhaps glimpse the magical roseate spoonbill.  To seek the underwater manatee and the leaping dolphins.  To dive in the pool and swirl in the heated spa.  To wear shorts and capris.  To dine outside.  To smell the salty Gulf breeze as it re-awakens memories of summer, memories of bare feet, memories of warmth. 

A week in Florida begins to melt the frozen northern ice deep inside.  You remember a forgotten freedom to open the door and walk outside without a winter coat, hats, mittens, boots.  Springtime blooms in your step.  I thoroughly recommend it. 

Dad and Mom on the boat last March

 Those of you who faithfully read my blog last year met my mom and dad.  That’s them, sitting in the boat.  Aren’t they cute?  And they are truly wonderful parents, as well.  

They live most of the year in the Thumb of Michigan (hold your left hand up in the air with four of the fingers together and the thumb outstretched.  You are now looking at the Lower Peninsula of Michigan.  Wiggle your thumb.  That’s where they live.  And where I grew up, before I moved north to the Upper Peninsula, which is off the hand.)  

They live in a condo at Fort Myers Beach during the winter and it’s a great treat for family members to fly south to join them in “Paradise”.  That’s what my dad calls it.  “Another bird coming into Paradise,” he’ll say as the jets fly overhead. 

My daughter and me last May in Manhattan

 Want to guess another reason why I’m so excited to visit Florida?  See the beautiful young lady in the photo above?  She’s our daughter, and I haven’t seen her since last May when we strolled the streets of New York City where she lives.  She’s flying down to join her mama and grandma and grandpa and we’re all going to enjoy that southern sun.  We certainly are. 

Another treat:  my brother and sister-in-law (also from the Thumb!) will be visiting as well.  Haven’t glimpsed them since Christmas. 

Poor Barry can’t join us–he has to work–but he’s sending me off with blessings.  He is so supportive of my love for travel.  He’s the best. 

We’ve heard that the folks in Florida have shivered much of the winter with lower-than-average temperatures.  We’re hoping to experience the 70’s next week, yes we are.  

If you’re longing for some tropical breeze, do stop back at this blog later this week.  You can pretend you hid in my suitcase with Ms. Ellie, the laptop computer.   🙂

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Dreaming of dolphins, palm trees & family

  1. Marianne says:

    Good for you, Kathy! I’ll look forward to your posts about the trip.

  2. Dawn says:

    Have warm fun Kathy! Looks wonderful. Actually anywhere is wonderful when you’re family is there. I’ll be heading north to TC the week after next…not exactly the same..but still travel. I’m like you, I love to go!

  3. Maggie Mae (my laptop) sends a great big “Go for it!” to Miss Ellie. She’s gonna have a wonderful time down south in the warm temperatures of Florida. Head over here (http://holessence.wordpress.com/2010/03/07/92/) for a sneak preview of what you’re in for.

    Our planes will probably cross in the sky – us heading home; you heading to paradise.

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, it sounds like Maggie Mae and Miss Ellie would be fast friends if they someday meet! I know you’ve had a wonderful week in the Bahamas, and am eager at the thought of sharing some of your beautiful weather. Great blog post. Love your message of knowing and trusting that we’re exactly where we should be in this moment.

  4. Barbara says:

    It’s always so wonderful to warm your bones after the winter cold.
    Enjoy!

    • Kathy says:

      Warm bones sound so good. Although, you know what?, it’s 55 degrees right now here. The bones are warming up even in the Upper Peninsula!

  5. Barb says:

    Hi Kathy,
    Hope you enjoy your FL interlude as much as we did! There’s something about sunshine and sea breeze…(esp if you’re from places like the UP or CO). Have a great time with Family!

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, your Florida trip looked great…hopefully ours will be just as fun. Yep, people from our cold climates long for that sea breeze and sunshine, don’t we?

  6. Enjoy your trip in FL!! Looking forward to reading about it.

  7. Dawn says:

    Now that’s a switch from the ice fishing! Enjoy your holiday.

  8. Gerry says:

    Miss Sadie and the Cowboy wish to inquire whether there might be Positions Available at your house. The benefits sound excellent to the traitorous little furballs.

    • Kathy says:

      Gerry, tell the “traitorous little furballs” that if they lived here they probably would have to go to a kennel or something. See how fast they’ll appreciate Ms. Gerry once again. LOL.

  9. Jessica says:

    Have fun Kathy. Bring some of the warmth back with you. We skipped our annual trip to the panhandle to see my parents this year so you will have to post lots of pictures so I can forget I spent all winter in the snow LOL

    Jessica

    • Kathy says:

      Jessica, I forgot your parents live in the panhandle. My in-laws often take a vacation (down from Georgia) to the Panhandle. We visited there a few years. Will try to post a lot of pictures just for you! (And aren’t you getting some of that warmth down in the Lower today? You must be basking in the 60’s by now.)

  10. Lucky Kathy 🙂 That’s a wonderful perspective in Paradise. I love family reunions and I wish you a very pleasant time in Florida.

  11. Aphrael says:

    Have a great time on your trip. Unfortunately, it will be a while before I go traveling again. One thing I noticed when looking at the pictures on this blog entry … The sign said “No diving”. Do they really expect someone to try dive into a pool that tiny? 😀

    • Kathy says:

      Aphrael, isn’t that a funny sign? I don’t think anyone would actually try to dive in that little whirlpool. Do you? Maybe they would! Actually, it’s probably a state law or something that they have to put up that sign. It’s often so hot in that whirlpool that you have to slooooooooowly inch in. I hope you will be able to travel somewhere soon. Even if it’s just for an overnight!

  12. lesdaprez says:

    I wanna go?!… That is great!!! I haven’t been to Florida since 2002. Have fun…

    • Kathy says:

      Lesdaprez, you’ll have to plan a return trip. It’s been eight years since 2002. The cheapest way to do it, though, is to have family living there… I probably wouldn’t be going so often without relatives.

  13. Cindy Lou says:

    I knew you were going soon…..I didn’t know you were going to get to see Kiah, too! Double fun – double blessings! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy, you’re making me want to sing that old doublemint gum song. Ha ha…yep, it’s time to see my gal! You’ve seen yours way more this year… Thanks for your blessings.

  14. p.j. grath says:

    Kathy, I wish you sunshine and warmth in southern Florida and hope we get more of it up here along the Nature Coast. May a flock of spoonbills greet you at dawn! Or fly over and say good-night at dusk.

    • Kathy says:

      Pamela, thank you for your wishes of sunshine and warmth and I would love to send some north to you. (That is, assuming we get sunshine and warmth!) Our chances of seeing a flock of spoonbills are really slim…but it’s been known to happen before. Maybe I should never set the camera down?

  15. Toast us northerners on those warm sandy beaches, Kathy.

  16. killahkris says:

    Thanks so much for your positive feedback! Yes, my computer is fixed (and I don’t know how I ever lived without it), and my Journalism class is my favorite class this year. I will try some photos, when I get around to taking some.

    I absoutely love Florida! I hope you have a wonderful time!

    • Kathy says:

      I am thrilled that you are enjoing your journalism class and that you’re thinking of adding photos to your blog. It’s kind of fun. Thanks for the well-wishes. Less than two days now!

  17. Karen says:

    Kathy, I hope you have a great trip! I live in Orlando and will miss your snow pictures! It has actually warmed up a little this past weekend 70/40 and is supposed to be 80/50 by next weekend. You will definately be able to wear shorts and sip a nice tropical drink under the palms as the gulf breezes come your way! I’ll look forward to your blog posts!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh no, Karen, you don’t want me to stay home and take more snow pics do you? Laughing. I’ll take one last snow photo for you tomorrow, OK? If it gets up to 80 degrees next weekend it will be the absolute best thing in the universe. A tropical drink under a palm tree…family…the sun…looking forward to seeing your state so much. (Will wave as we fly over Orlando.)

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...

