Ladies & Gentlemen, time to place your bets

How much snow?

Let’s have a little wager, shall we?

Of course no money will exchange hands.  This shall simply be a guessing game.

Look how much has melted on the south side of the road

Whoever guesses the correct answer…wins the highest praise!  Or, maybe six of us will guess the exact number.  Then we’ll have a virtual group hug.

Here is our assignment.   Take a long look at the first photo.  The plowed snow bank is 57 inches high.  That’s nearly five feet of snow.

Look how much has melted from the roof

(Don’t start thinking we have that much snow everywhere.  Many places measure about a foot.  Deep in the woods 3-4 feet many still exist.  In other places you can count in inches.)

See what it looks like in the woods?

Back to the bet.  How much snow do you think will exist in that snow bank when I return from Florida next week?  Specifically, on March 18th.  Six inches?  Two feet?  One inch?  Zero?

Some more hints:  the snow bank lies on the west side of the house.  As you all probably know, snow on the south side melts more quickly due to that lively spring sun.  Snow on the north side melts oh-so-slowly.  There is sometimes snow by our porch on the north side in May.

Another woods view

I’m not telling you my guess.  That wouldn’t be fair.  Don’t think I have too much of an advantage, though.  It could be all gone in a week, or a huge mass might still exist.

Another clue:  it’s been in the 40’s and 50’s recently.  There are some scattered rain showers in the forecast.  Does that help?

OK, I think I’ve bombarded you with enough clues to last for a while.  The next time you open your eyes on this blog you’re gonna see Green.  Bursts of colors.  Sunshine.

See you later. Alligator.

Goodbye, Snow.  See you later, Alligator.

I mean maybe we’ll see you soon, Alligators!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Ladies & Gentlemen, time to place your bets

  1. Martha Bergin says:

    Oh, maybe about a foot. 🙂

  2. Fountainpen says:

    Two feet, two inches…..
    Fountainpen……that’s 26 inches

  3. Dawn says:

    I’m crazy optimistic – the whole pile will have melted. You will be able to place a lawn chair in that spot, drink a fruity drink and wear a flowered dress.

    Have fun in Florida.

  4. I know you want it to be gone when you return Kathy but I am going to guess 36” of hard packed ice crystals.

    From being pushed off the roof the snow used to be over my bedroom window in February on the south side. I used to watch it inch down every day until I could see out again about mid March.

    Have a wonderful trip!

  5. Dawn says:

    I think there will be 23 inches left when you get back. Maybe.

  6. Gerry says:

    I am not going to depress any of us by telling you what I really think. In fact, I’m not even going to think it anymore. I’m going to think about all the ways that snow could melt away.

  7. CRD says:

    Freakish, unexpected March snowstorms for 62 inched next week.

  8. Cindy Lou says:

    One of the beauties (????) of living in the UP is that it could be gone and you’d be sitting in that lawn chair of Dawn’s or it could be twice as big with CRD’s 62 inches! All bets are off! One year at Carla’s we had a bet like this – the pot actually got up to $75 or so….what one won’t do for excitement in Mud Season, hey?

    And what a special treat I had when I got home last night….”FUN MAIL” as we call it….something other than bills or ads. Thank you so much, Kathy and Fountainpen, for the delightful gift – passing on random acts of friendship 🙂 That picture cracks me up every time I see it!

    May your journey be blessed with adventure, the comfort of family and your beautimous Ki, and the grace of god…. have fun!

  9. Emma says:

    2 feet and 6 inches!

    Have a good trip!

  10. Barbara says:

    My guess is that it will remain at 57.

    And it’s so not fair of you to leave open-ended comments. Who is the someone to whom your were referring? 🙂

    Enjoy the warm weather.

  11. I’ll take a stab at it. 42 & 3/4 inches. Have a great trip and don’t get sunburned!

  12. Kathy says:

    Oh good! I’m glad a bunch of you decided to play. We shall see what the official tally will be next Thursday. Stay tuned. I will report back to you…

  13. Jessica says:

    I am going to say 6″ tops if it rains a lot. Maybe it is just wishful thinking. We have none left down here except for what the plows mounded up.

    • Kathy says:

      Snow? What’s that? Just kiddin’!! Glad you guessed, Jessica. When we passed over the lower Michigan landscape yesterday it just looked like snow in ditches and edges of the roads and plowing remnants.

  14. Kiah says:

    43 inches

  15. Pingback: My mother’s “world famous” Fruit Bowl « Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

