How many shrimp can you eat?

Start your engines! Start peeling those shrimp…

Oh my goodness. What a day.  It’s almost 10 p.m. and I’m brewing a cup of tea, pleasantly tired after a long day of fun.

Would you like me to re-wind the reel to share the day?

Fort Myers Beach annual Shrimp Festival

It started at 6:45 a.m.  Mom and I watched the news while Dad visited the coffee shop and Kiah slept.  About 9 a.m. Mom and I took off for a walk to the Gulf Coast.  We’ve walked a similar stroll through the “Bird Sanctuary” for several years now.  Amazingly, the landscape has shifted in the last year.  You can walk toward the Gulf in places once covered with water.

We traveled to new places.  We’re going back tomorrow, so you will have to wait until then for more beach photos.

No kidding. Someone is selling PUSSY WILLOWS in Florida!

Instead, let’s fast-forward.  After our beach-walk, Kiah and I lounged by the pool.  Then, a little after noon the family drove north on Fort Myers Beach to the annual Shrimp Festival.  We made our way through the crowd, attempting to find the Lion’s Club booth.  They sold peel ’em and eat ’em steamed shrimp.

We found a table to eat and ate…and ate…and ate.  We peeled those shrimp and ate ’em until we couldn’t imagine eating another shrimp.  Then we ate some coleslaw.

These can’t really be alligator heads…can they?

My mom suggested we tour the shops and meet under the “Times Square” clock at 3:30 p.m.  Kiah and I wandered off on our own.  We couldn’t believe a fellow was selling pussy willows.  Pussy willows?  I asked him about them.  He said that a lot of northerners miss their pussy willows and want to buy them.  He talked enthusiastically about the pussy willows for at least five minutes.

We opted not to buy them. We wandered among the shops, viewing shells and heads of alligators…or are those crocodiles?

Pirate of the Caribbean!

I was utterly fascinated by the above pirate.  He stood stock-still, like a statue.  People would think he was a statue.  One lady came up and put her arm around him.  He moved.  She screamed!!  Everyone laughed and she got her photo with the pirate.  Then they tossed money in the treasure chest by his feet.  I thought he looked amazing.

Beneath the pier

Kiah and I wandered back underneath the pier.  Up on the pier the wind blew fiercely and you needed a jacket.  Below the pier, sheltered, the temperature lingered about 73 degrees.  The sun felt lovely.  It was good being together.

After our adventures at the Shrimp Festival, we rested at the condo before driving to my brother and sister-in-law’s place for drinks and dinner.

Beach daisy

I have a half-dozen other beach photos to show you, but we’ll have to wait until tomorrow.  We ooohed and ahhhhed so much about our beach walk that Kiah has agreed to go tomorrow.  My brother, Tim, says he’ll go, as well.  But let’s wait until tomorrow to see who decides to walk.

After all, it’s the Daylight Savings time change.  We’re meeting at 10 a.m., but that means it’s really 9 a.m.  Who will be ready to go at that hour of the morning?

My mom and I will be…we’ll see if the others join us.  🙂

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to How many shrimp can you eat?

  1. Kathy — ohhhhhh, that looks delicious! Shrimp is in my top five favorite meals. Your day sounds fantastic. I love the “under the pier” photograph. I lay odds that with the time change (losing an hour) you may not have as many takers in the morning …

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, well my daughter is now up. Sleepy-eyed, but awake. Whether brother Tim makes it or not will be interesting. We ate shrimp and ate shrimp and ate shrimp yesterday. We peeled until our fingers were sticky and exhausted but still dipped the shrimp in the hot cocktail sauce. Glad to hear you love shrimp, too!

  2. Ann says:

    Oh that shrimp looks yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And the pictures are so encouraging of what is to come here…hopefully you pack some of that sunshine to share with the rest of us on your return! Looking forward to more pics of the beach.

    • Kathy says:

      OK, Ann, you got it. I will pack some of this sunshine in between the shorts and capris and bathing suit and will bring it north. Promise! 🙂

  3. Gerry says:

    Hmmm. I wonder if I can trade pussy willows for shrimp . . . must investigate. It really does look wonderful.

    • Kathy says:

      Gerry, can you believe it? Selling pussy willows?? You can pick a whole bunch and finance your trip down here. Might look awkard on the airplane, though…

  4. Dawn says:

    Shrimp…not my favorite, but they do look pretty! Ahhh…a sunny day in Florida. I want to be in Florida! We got the rain all day today. If it rained in the UP my estimate of the amount of snow you have left when you get back will be sadly overstated. Oh well!

    • Kathy says:

      I want you to be in florida, too. I wonder if it did rain in the UP yesterday? Hmmm….haven’t talked with Barry in a couple days. Must call him today. Guess what? It was our son Christopher’s birthday yesterday! Our oldest turned 28. Amazing…

  5. Cindy Lou says:

    Here’s our weather report from yesterday – cloudy, misty rain, a bit cold with the wind; today? only 9:30 (8:30 by my body’s time) and already 40, beautifully sunny and not a cloud in the sky! 🙂 Now to find something to do outside – hmmmm? Still too much snow/mud in my gardens.

    I love the ‘under the pier’ picture, too – makes me want to sing “Under the Boardwalk”, but I’d probably chase my boys out of the house! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy Lou, cloud, misy and cold you say? I heard it’s in the 50’s at home! Wow…Glad you liked the under-the-pier photo. I would sing Under the Boardwalk with you, but everyone would cover their ears!

  6. lesdaprez says:

    I like shrimp… GIMME SOME!!! LOL :-0

  7. Barbara says:

    Where’s a picture of you with the pirate???

  8. p.j. grath says:

    Hi, Kathy! Glad to see you enjoying sunshine and seafood. It’s beautiful farther up the Gulf Coast, too, and I saw both pussywillow buds and forced forsythia (forthed forthythia) for sale in bundles at the grocery store. Pricey, though. I’ll wait until we have them in Michigan.

    • Kathy says:

      Forsythia for sale, too? This is so interesting, Pamela. Glad you’re having some beautiful weather farther up the Coast. Aren’t we lucky ducks?

  9. Angie says:

    I love this post!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

