My mother’s “world famous” Fruit Bowl

World famous fruit bowl

Well, her Fruit Bowl is famous in our family, anyway.  From family members in San Diego to New York City to Atlanta to Michigan to Singapore…my mom’s Florida Fruit Bowl gets raves with her relatives and visitors.

She only makes it in Florida, not when she returns home to the Thumb of Michigan.  Therefore, when we all visit Fort Myers Beach the first words out of our mouth can be, “So…are you still making Fruit Bowl?”

Up close

Here is her recipe, just in case you choose to replicate it.  I wrote it down last night, and hopefully didn’t screw up the ingredients.  It is VERY simple.  Especially if you’re in Florida and can find fruit of just-the-right-ripeness.

Joanne’s Fruit Bowl

grapefruits (sectioned  and squeeze in extra juice)

oranges (sectioned  and squeeze in extra juice)

fresh pineapple w juice

whole large papaya

4 mangos (make sure ripe)

large globe grapes, halved and seeded

7 kiwi

With coconut, almonds and pecans if you like

That’s it.  Wa la!  My mom and Kiah like Fruit Bowl just plain.  Some folks add yogurt.  Dad and I ate ours over some brown rice sprinkled with nuts and coconut.

Yum…

Good bye, palm tree reflections…

It’s hard to leave Florida.  It’s even harder knowing you won’t eat Fruit Bowl for a whole year.  Of course, we could make our own.  But there’s something special about my mom’s version.  There’s something special about eating it on the lanai overlooking the Back Bay, watching dolphins leap in the air.

What is your favorite food that your mom makes (or made)?

P.S.  I’m home now.  Very uneventful lovely traveling day, even though we rose at 4:30 a.m.  I napped for 20 minutes now just to garner the strength to write this blog.

Going to measure that snow bank soon–will report back to you tomorrow with official contest results.  Click here if you don’t know what I’m talking about.

P.S.S.  Mom and Dad–THANK YOU!! We had the best time.  You are the best parents in the whole world.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My mother’s “world famous” Fruit Bowl

  1. Kathy – “Up close and personal” and “Palm tree reflections” are my favorite photographs. THANK YOU for sharing your mother’s fruit bowl recipe.

    My favorite thing that my mom used to make was her pineapple upside down cake — the best on the planet!

  2. Dawn says:

    Yum! Had papaya in Hawaii and loved it…haven’t tried it here, wouldn’t be the same.

    My mom’s potato salad is my favorite thing she made. Luckily the last visit I had with her I asked her how she made it. Now I can make it too, though I’ve only done it once since she died. Still sort of hurts too much.

    • Kathy says:

      I’ll bet it would hurt, perhaps, making those special dishes after your mom passes on. Big hug, Dawn. Another big hug. I’m sorry your mom is no longer around to make potato salad.

  3. gigi says:

    My mom makes the best Lemon meringue pie. I can do the lemon and I use store made pie crust but I haven’t mastered the meringue yet.

    • Kathy says:

      Gigi, I can remember eating lemon meringue pie with my grandparents. You have brought back some memories. Good luck mastering the meringue. (Maybe you’ll need another lesson with your mom?)

  4. Reggie says:

    oooohh! What a divine looking fruit bowl, Kathy! I could almost taste it from the picture – the sweet, tangy juiciness of it. Yummm…

    And now that you’ve shared it with all of us, your title is definitely apt – “World-Famous”!

    My gran had recipes that she often made when I visited her – like Kartoffelpuffer (potato fritters?) and Eierpfannkuchen (pancakes) filled with jam or sliced apple. Never mind all the CHRISTMAS cookies that she made! Ahh… you’re bringing back such happy memories, Kathy.

    • Kathy says:

      Reggie, I had to laugh using the title “World Famous”. My mother just shook her head. SHE would never use the term “World Famous.” But, hey, it’s how we look at it, right? Your potato fritters and pancakes sound magnificent. Glad to bring back some happy memories.

  5. Cindy Lou says:

    Oh yummy…..what a beautiful photo to ‘wake up’ to this morning! Look at all that lovely fruit – and mangos….my favorite! We had about 6 mango trees in our yard growing up (bananas, coconuts, guavas, kumquats and papaya, too) and would eat them right off the tree like you guys grew up eating apples. Used to make something called “Shoyu Mango” which was soy sauce, a bit of sugar and slices of barely, barely ripe mangos marinated together – 🙂

    My momma’s favorite thing – breakfast bran muffins made with a ‘keepable’ batter that lasts for a couple of weeks so you can mix up a big batch, keep it in the fridge and have a few fresh-baked muffins in the morning.

    Glad you’re home safe and sound – were you amazed at how much snow was gone? I’ve been tromping happily on trails and through the woods at camp with the dogs and I can’t remember the last time I was on them this early in spring! Blessed Vernal Equinox to you!

    • Kathy says:

      How cool would that be, having all those tropical trees growing in your yard? Wow! Shoyu Mango sounds interesting. (We use shoyu at our house instead of soy sauce, although, of course it’s the same thing.)

      Don’t you love thinking about our mom’s favorite recipes? And, yes, it’s great to be home but a little ch-ch-chilly! And snowing a tiny bit. Will surely have to tromp out in the woods by this weekend, though.

  6. quietpaths says:

    Wow, that bowl is inspiring to say the least. Hmm, I think such a bowl is due on our table soonest! Glad you enjoyed your vacation in the tropics. Mango is/ are the best! Oh no, maybe coconut…

  7. flandrumhill says:

    Kathy, it would be so hard to leave both your parents AND Florida.

    I love the image of the palm trees in the puddle.

    Almonds, pecans and coconut would make fruit salad seem extra special.

    My mom’s made many tasty things over the years. Her blueberry pies never lasted for more than an hour out of the oven. The one thing she taught me how to make was pie crust. It was very difficult at first but I managed to master it eventually.

    • Kathy says:

      Amy, blueberry pies sound lovely. I can imagine that they were all eaten up before they had time to properly cool. Am thinking of wild blueberries now…and counting the months until they ripen.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

