Home from Florida (and a little bit sad)

Dusk on the Keweenaw Bay

The first full day home after my eight-day vacation in Fort Myers Beach.

Felt quite sad today.  A little low.

Nothing important, really.  One of the reasons is that the on-line community of Gaia (where I blogged for two years before coming here to WordPress) is closing.  I am deleting my account there and saying goodbye to a great many of dear friends.  Most of them are moving on to a new site Gaia Connecting–(Re)connecting.    However, in an ongoing effort to simplify my life, I am choosing not to connect at the new place.

But it still makes me sad.  Lots of good memories and phone calls and emails and in-person visits with on-line friends there.  It was a special place.

Sigh… I even wrote a little poem over at Simply Here, my baby blog, to try to express some of the sadness.

Coming home to ch-ch-chilly temperatures in the 30’s and spitting snow and ominous clouds didn’t contribute to good cheer, either.

Tomorrow, assuredly, will be better.  I don’t usually stay blue for too long.

On a lighter note, much of the snow in the woods has melted.  Barry and I are estimating 70% of the snow cover is gone around here.  That’s encouraging.  Spring has to be right around the corner.

(Actually, spring was HERE when I was visiting Florida.  It simply decided to depart about the time my airplane touched down.)

Would you like to know the official measurement of the  plowed snow bank?  On March 9th it measured 57 inches.  Click here to see the original guessing game.   Thirteen folks guessed how much snow would remain on March 18th.

And the winner is…

And the winner is…. (hear those trumpets?)

Terrill from Creative Potager blog.  She guessed 36 inches of hard packed ice crystals.

The Official Measuring Stick

And, as far as I could measure (and it wasn’t easy sticking that ruler in and trying to determine the appropriate angle) it’s exactly 36 inches.  It may not look like 36 inches from the angle of the measuring stick in the photo, but that’s what it read with three separate scientific measurements.

Congratulations, Terrill!  And thanks, everybody else, for playing along.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Home from Florida (and a little bit sad)

  1. Dawn says:

    Maybe you sadness is partly the result of the chilly weather, gray skies and heaps of leftover snow. But I think it’s partly family separation as well. Most of my family lives in the south and when I used to visit my parents I always felt a bit lost and a little sad the first day or so after I left them. Because I didn’t get to see them that often and I was never there long enough even those times I was ready to come home. And because I knew they wouldn’t be there forever. So I say allow yourself to readjust, it’s OK to be sad for a time…and just ease back into your life. This too shall pass.

    • Kathy says:

      You’re right, Dawn…it is family separation. And this has happened before…It is a very sad thought thinking that we all won’t always be together.

  2. Dearest Kathy,
    Oh that fruit salad had me going all week. I’d eat mine with coconut and maybe a touch of soy milk…I like things creamy. Still sorting out which of Mom’s recipes to share with you- Blueberry Buckle from Betty Crocker will probably win out. But, then there is sausage, apples and sauerkraut. Or taco salad.
    Hey. Guess what? The spring peepers began here 2 nights ago. I just came in and I could hear about 7 valiant tiny souls over in Peeper Cove on our Lake…making a racket. Such tiny miracles they are.
    I am with you on the transition. I hope you are so gentle with yourself and tender. I always find these days between one kind of heaven to another just so challenging.
    I posted some new stuff at the Laundry Line. Stop by.
    And if you have time to teach me about readers subscribing…I will get you going on Flickr.
    Love and hugs and a steaming cup of licorice tea,
    S

    • Kathy says:

      Spring peepers already, Suzi! What a miracle that they are returning. (Not here yet.) Email me any time you want to learn about readers subscribing and I shall try to share my (limited) knowledge. sipping a steaming cup of peppermint tea now. Love!

  3. Jessica says:

    Kathy: Thanks for letting us know you won’t reconnect on the ning version of Gaia. I plan to do even less at that site than I did before. But I’m hanging on to see what happens. Congrats to Terrill for guessing the snowpack amount! It’s snowing here in the Denver metro area today, but earlier in the week we had beautiful sunshine and perhaps 70 degrees. I could wake up tomorrow to a foot of new snowfall. Did you bring home a little bit of the beach? I could use it in my imagination now!

    • Kathy says:

      Jessica, so you’re having snow in the Denver area? We’ve been having sprinkles of it. Brrr…. and Barry said it was in the 60s while I was gone. Nope, my deepest self seems to want to simplify and prune, rather than gather and plant. Or maybe it just wants to plant different kinds of seeds! Blessings…

  4. Gerry says:

    Alas, even the Romeyns will not dip their toes in Grand Traverse Bay this weekend. But wasn’t it glorious while it lasted?

  5. Barb says:

    Glad you arrived home safely, Kathy. It might not be FL, but at least your snow is melting – we just got another foot today here in CO! The photos of the tree and the lake are beautiful. Have a good (and happy) weekend.

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, a foot of snow? You poor dears. Barry and I went out to dinner last night and he wanted to drive by First Sand Beach and that’s where the light seemed to be so interesting, so I made him stop the car and took a few photos.

  6. pearlz says:

    It is sad to say goodbye to any community we love, hope you have a happy time anyway – I enjoy popping into your blog from time to time, lovely photographs too.

    • Kathy says:

      pearlz, I haven’t had to say goodbye to too many on-line communities, so this was a first like this. Glad you pop in to visit from time to time.

  7. Barbara says:

    The first picture, “Dusk on the Keweenaw Bay,” took my breath away… Transitions are bittersweet, I’m there with you and loved your poem very much… I usually have six very tame mourning doves watching me and coming close to me when I weed my garden. Their presence reminds me of my grandfather, who taught me what they were called, and now it will also make me think of you and your lovely poem.

    • Kathy says:

      Barbara, thanks for liking the dusk photo and actually reading the poem. It has been such a bittersweet transition–such a good word to describe it. You know mourning doves remind me of my mother. I like the thought of you gardening and your grandfather and the doves. Blessings!

  8. Aphrael says:

    Time flies when you not looking at the calendar. Before you know it, a whole year will have passed and you’ll be heading back that way again. Chin up 🙂

  9. amy says:

    Yup, creative inspiration is everywhere! I am so jealous of your Florida adventures! Great pics!
    I’m in a little bit of a photography lull, I think my eyes have become so used to the contrast between the white snow and dark bark of trees, I’m having a hard time focusing on fun interesting images.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh honey, we should have a talk about photography at this time of year. Know just what you mean. It’s sometimes so hard to get inspired when all you’re seeing for months and months is white snow and dark bark. We either have to become more observant photographers of different possibilities–or quit!! Last year I would freak out regularly (when doing the 365 day outdoor adventure) because there was NOTHING TO PHOTOGRAPH. That’s what the Mind insisted. But there was always something.

  10. Emma says:

    That’s a beautiful tree photo.

    Wow…36 inches remaining!

  11. Cindy Lou says:

    The ominous storm clouds are incredible! I experience the same, bittersweet sadness when company leaves or I have to leave their company….it was really hard when Jen and Kenzie left after sharing our lives for a month. Letting yourself be a bit sad is a tribute to the joy you shared with your family….and the sun is shining today – a real Yooper spring day, hey?

    No peepers here yet but pussy willows galore and little bits of green – and my newly-planted-last-spring rhubarb – are poking their heads up cautiously….. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy, you are so right. I was so busy grieving Gaia’s passing that I didn’t even realize that part of it was the bittersweet sadness of leaving all that loving family. Aren’t the pussy willows great? and you have rhubarb poking up? Mmm…I smell a pie baking!

  12. Kathy – I especially love the photo “Dusk on the Keweenaw Bay.” And while I have re-connected in the new Gaia online community, I’ve taken the opportunity to whittle down my involvement. I gracefully bowed out of all administrative and moderator duties and the only group I have joined is the Gaia Minute — period. I will stay connected with friends by answering the daily question. The only blog I wrote (or will write) points to Speaking from the Heart (http://holessence.wordpress.com/). It was a bittersweet feeling at first. Now it’s only sweet. Welcome home!

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, I know I will move to the “sweet” stage one of these days soon. So many times I let go of things so quickly–almost instantly. It’s interesting to witness that it’s taking me much longer to let go of Gaia. Maybe it’s all the years of memories there…maybe it’s some guilt that I feel like I’m deserting friends. It’s good that we’re all following our hearts and knowing what we need to do next. You are so very adept at following the guidings of your heart. Blessings!

  13. When you’ve had such a marvelous trip … reconnecting with family, returning home can be a bit unsettling. You’ve shared some beautiful view here. Hope you’re feeling a bit less sad soon.
    Hugs and blessings,

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

