the beet boil-over blog

the patterns beet juice makes when it boils over on the stove

shhhh…this is a whispering blog…not suppose to tell these things in public.  not suppose to show the mistakes you make.  not suppose to tell how the beets boiled over on the stove.   shhhh…..

i have more important blogs to write.  about our trip to the huron river to photograph the steel-head fishermen this afternoon.  also have lots of photos of swirling streams, up close. 

but am i publishing them??  NO!  this is a beet boil-over blog.

tut, tut. beet juice everywhere!!

here’s how the catastrophe started.  i was writing a blog singing the praises of gray hair, honest to goodness.  if you have any gray hair you don’t like, hurry over here.  if you don’t have any gray hair and don’t care, keep reading.

i finished blogging and decided to continue with my photography record-keeping.  been working on filing and deleting photographs since january.  in the meantime, decided to start a’boiling  beets for dinner.  and that’s when the problem started.  i grabbed a too-small pan and filled it almost to the top with water.

responsibly waited until the water and beets were boiling merrily.  assessed the situation and decided everything would be ok for thirty minutes.

gleaming beets. cooked beets.

thirty minutes later…the buzzer chimed…i walked into the kitchen and….beet juice everywhere!!  beet juice all over the stove, dribbling down the pan, dribbling down the stove, dribbling on the floor. 

and you know my first thought?  “oh look at the pretty patterns the beet juice made!”  that’s when you know you’re photographically crazed.  when you run to get your camera to document beet juice.   it is truly sad.

greek salad...mmmm....

eventually the beets were peeled and tossed into a greek salad which we ate for dinner, along with some minnestrone soup.  ’twas good. 

i just remembered…seems like i wrote another blog about greek salad a hundred years ago.  let’s see if it’s findable.  be right back.  going on a blog search to see.

yep.  it’s right here:  http://centria.wordpress.com/2009/09/14/the-simple-life-greek-salad-from-the-garden/ 

i must have beets on the brain.

next time:  will try to keep them in the pan.  honest.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to the beet boil-over blog

  1. holessence says:

    Kathy – What a fun post, it made me laugh. I love beets — especially PICKLED beets. Len would rather poke himself in the eye with a sharp stick than eat beets. The Greek salad looks delicious (I had feta cheese last night with friends). Now my stomach is grumbling and we’re just having re-heated, leftover pizza for dinner. (Shhhhhhh, don’t tell anyone that a Holistic Health Practitioner eats pizza. That’s just between us — our little secret).

  2. Enna says:

    Oh that looks tasty!

  3. Dawn K says:

    Yum! Last year the only thing I got out of my garden in any amount were beets! Need more beet recipes! LOL! Groundhog ate my green beans, deer ate everything else! Ah well…always next year.

  4. Kathy, I love that your beets boiled over, and you still got to have a delicious salad. My kitchen disasters involved smoke and flame, ruined pans, and no dinner. NOT a pretty picture. I’ll have to post my beet risotto recipe (do I have a recipe or just make risotto with beets) for you and your readers. Dawn, The voles ate my beets, I had lush tops, and pulled them up to find empty beet shells!

  5. Dawn says:

    That’s a great post. 🙂 I roast beets, no boiling.

    I have beets planted for the first time this year. I hope they work – and no critters get them!

  6. Patty Sue says:

    Oh my, my Kathy Sue! I do love beets! Give ’em to me in dark red and/or golden! Your Greek salad looks so yummy! How great that you made art out of your “catastrophe”!

    When I was in kindergarten and my lovely teacher sent home the recipe for our mothers to make us a ‘play-dough’ like substance … one of the ingredients was “food coloring”. My mom had none. I was 5 years old and was so worried that we’d failed this project! Mom to the rescue! She opened a can of beets and poured a bit of the juice into the “dough”! I had the most lovely pink play-dough! It smelled good too!

  7. Jessica says:

    That is too funny Kathy. But if I am to be completely honest I have done the same with boiling pans. Usually my distractions involve my kids. They pick the perfect opportunities to need me to look at a school paper, help them with a game or any number of child “emergencies”. At least your beets made a pretty pattern for you to photograph, not to mention they looked very tasty.

  8. Reggie says:

    Giggle… Oh Kathy, I am so with you on this.

    I laughed out loud when I read that paragraph: “and you know my first thought? “oh look at the pretty patterns the beet juice made!” that’s when you know you’re photographically crazed. when you run to get your camera to document beet juice. it is truly sad.”

    ‘Cos I would TOTALLY do that too!

    Many’s the time I’ve left a pot on the boil, and when I come back (or the timer bings), there’s a mess all over the stove. It usually happens with spaghetti or potatoes, which almost always boil over – I think it’s the starch that makes the foam rise? But I’ve also had it happen with other veggies, like butternut squash, carrots and beets, all of which make a right royal mess.

    Luckily our current stove has a black glass top, so the colour stains aren’t visible!!

  9. elisa says:

    hahahaha i have wanted beets for days!!! YUM!!
    roflmao

  10. janet says:

    I love you for blogging about beets! They are one of my very favorite veggies, and I too have blogged about them. http://jaleeza.blogspot.com/2009/01/root-veggies.html

    Their splatter-patterns when overly boisterous in the pot are indeed pretty. Much nicer than the ones from chickpeas, which seem to ALWAYS boil over, EVERY TIME THEY’RE COOKED (which in my house is probably once a week, since we’re humongous hummus-eaters)

  11. Emma says:

    Aww, haha! 🙂 I thought the pattern was lovely, too. I’m glad YOU could see it that way even though you had to clean it up! 😉

  12. p.j. grath says:

    I’m glad they boiled over this time so you could share the beautiful spatterings with us. I love the way you find beauty in everything around you. Cheers!

  13. Cindy Lou says:

    I’m with p.j……you do have a knack for finding the beauty in ordinary things of life! 🙂

  14. Trudie says:

    I had a glance at your other blog as well. Have to say, you have a delightful way with words. Truly entertaining. Thank you for the beet story. Twas bee-a-utifully written 😀

  15. DiamondLil says:

    I’m now absolutely desperate for beets and will have to get some on the way home!

  16. Kathy says:

    Dear beet lovers, beet growers, beet eaters (even if reluctant beet eaters) , patterned beet juice admirers, pickled beet afficiandos, beet colorers (creative!), beet photographers, beet bloggers (oh my gosh there are OTHER beet bloggers??), beet story admirers…. I am glad you guys enjoyed this!! This story absolutely ruined my meditation yesterday. I was trying to meditate and the story started writing itself and pretty soon I was laughing hysterically. Some stories simply beg to be told. Beet stories are like that, apparently…

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...

