Ordinary musings (tee hee! Isn’t the ordinary always extra-ordinary?)

Shy and tender unfurling daffodil

Dear Blog Readers:  Sometimes it is so hard to write a blog.  You want to know why?  It’s because I loved, truly loved, the last two blogs about a) Flowing and b) the Chipmunk Kingdom.  And now…all there is to write…is Ordinary Happenings. 

I mean–how can you compete with Flowing and the Chipmunk Kingdom?  There is no way.  So any of you who are reading will have to settle for Ordinary.

Here’s Ordinary:

Spruce on Huron Bay at dawn

OK, let’s back up.  The first “Ordinary” was a daffodil blooming next to the Post Office in Skanee.  I was just ready to enter our township annual meeting Monday night when I spotted Them.  Budding flowers.  I had to dash across the street with the ever-present camera and Prove that spring had arrived in our northern outpost.  Daffodil heaven!

The second photo occurred the next morning.  I was driving to work after getting a pile of checks signed.  I saw the lone tree hanging out beside the Huron Bay and hopped from the car to take its photograph.  It obliged.  Can you see its early morning smile?

Moth! (Actually used photography technique)

The above photo occurred as I left work a few hours later.  A moth on the school window!  I decided to pretend to be a “real” photographer and fiddled with the camera’s settings.  This specific setting advised that it would blur the background while accentuating the foreground.  Didn’t it succeed?  Wa la!  That may have been one of my first efforts to lure the camera to produce a specific shot.  Aren’t you proud?

Eight photos later...I present to you...a close-up of a spider-web

The above shot took place the day after the Chipmunk Kingdom Adventure.  I was sitting stock-still in the woods.  No wild animals presented themselves.  Instead, wild spider webs appeared.  I photographed.  Photographed again.  Darn things never would focus!  Until this one.  Therefore, I proudly present it to you.

You are here. It's always interesting to see where "Here" might be. 🙂

OK, I think we’ve fast-forwarded to yesterday.  Barry and I traveled up to Houghton for our usual weekly shopping trip (plus, of course, a dinner out!)  See the map we found on a motel window?  This explains where in the world we might be.  It’s always comforting to know where one is.  And now you know–briefly–where we paused yesterday afternoon.

Walking on water. (OK, can you guys see it? Can you really see it?)

OK, I must admit to drinking a glass of Sauvignon Blanc and peering across the Portage Canal.  My ever-present photographer’s eye (can’t you ever stop, girl?) spotted folks Walking on Water.  The question is:  can you readers see them?  The water-walkers?  Or was it an effect of drinking a glass of wine?

Now–STOP!  Please do not continue to read or view photographs.  Stop and collect yourselves.  Do not pass GO.  Do not collect $200. 

Do not read on if you’re the tiniest bit squeamish.  Here’s why.  The next photo opportunity happened after dinner.  Barry and I had enjoyed the most magnificent of dinners up in Houghton–I shall not share the name of the restaurant–except to inform you that it was a Fish Restaurant.

The crowning glory of this Fish Restaurant is an Aquarium.  We love looking at the fishies.  We ate our fish dinners while admiring the fishies.  I excused myself to visit the Ladies Room.  Upon returning to the table…Major Excitement!

The waiters and waitresses and my husband were all talking excitedly!  Because guess what happened?  A fish in the aquarium decided to eat another fish. 

Yes.  It happened.  Therefore, do not look if you’re squeamish.  Please.  I wouldn’t want to ruin your dinner.  Especially if you are dining on fish tonight.

I'm sorry to show this...but it's a Fish Eat Fish World. Yikes!

I will try to have a more exciting blog soon.  Sorry about the ordinariness. 

Still–just for the heck of it–wishing you an extra-ordinary day!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Ordinary musings (tee hee! Isn’t the ordinary always extra-ordinary?)

  1. Kathy – There’s not a SINGLE SOLITARY ORDINARY thing about this blog. YES! I saw the people WALKING ON WATER. And YES! I see a fish EATING ANOTHER FISH!

    The word “ordinary” is clearly subjective.

    This was EXTRAORDINARY!

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, don’t you just love ordinary extra-ordinariness? YES! And it’s all around us all the time…except maybe the fish eating fish at the restaurant. LOL.

  2. Dawn K says:

    I want to be where you were. No wait. I like where I am. I’m spoiled. I want to be everywhere! Enjoyed your “ordinary” day!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh Dawn, girl, I get you. I’ve had that challenge too. Wanting to be everywhere in this whole world. Maybe that’s what reading too much did to us. We’re insatiable–for everywhere!

  3. Kiah says:

    A fish eating a fish? Walking on the water? A treasure map? Creatures and blooming foliage miles from civilization?

    This is not an ordinary blog.

    Love,
    Your Little Sodden Bird

    • Kathy says:

      Dear Sodden Little Bird, I would have loved to have you sharing our day. Then you wouldn’t have got so wet. Hope your wings are dry now, bebs.

  4. Oh, yes, just another ordinary day in paradise! What else do you expect?
    So you were there, and know what happened. But I looked at your fish pic and thought: little fish cleaning parasites from throat of bigger fish (said the fox to the gingerbread boy).

    • Kathy says:

      Paradise! Yes! Barry laughed and laughed last night when we read your comment. He says he’s caught enough fish with herring hanging out of their mouths–in just the same way–to know what was happening.

  5. Colleen says:

    Hello Kathy, I love your depiction of ordinary……..how extraordinary!

  6. Dad and Mother says:

    Kath—–Will we ever know for sure if the big fish was eating the little fish or just trying to spiting him OUT???Dad

    • Kathy says:

      Now, Dad, that’s exactly what I was thinking! That is what it looked like–totally–to me. I can’t repeat the story Barry told me about what happens when you a pull a fish out of another fish’s mouth in an attempt to rescue it. OK, I’ll tell it. He said the digestive juices are already working and the skin of the fish gets stripped off first. I am sorry to tell you that. Especially if it’s before breakfast.

  7. You are hilarious. You are just so funny. Yes, of course I see the people walking on water. I would have sent you a photo of the red worm in my compost today that the sun caught at just the right angle- it looked like a red gold worm, glowing in ordinariness. And the fish is just too much. See- Kath- your photography is so pleasurable the world just likes to put on a party when you are around- pipes spewing frozen cascades, spider webs, windows- everyone wants in on the fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hugs and love from your pal who’s Grandma was born in the stationmaster’s dwelling on the railroad in Skanee…over one hundred years ago. More on that another time. Love, Your Fan, S

    • Kathy says:

      Suzi, wow! Red-gold worms sound lovely…glowing in wormy ordinariness that is exquisite. Why we people miss it is beyond me. (Except of course I missed it for decades, so it’s not beyond me…) Anywho, OK, you’ve got me hooked. Like a fish. What was your grandma’s name and was there a railroad in Skanee? Did the railroad go all the way out there? Oh my goodness. I must know. I know Historians around here. They know Everything.

  8. Jessica says:

    Looks like you had a great “ordinary” day. That is a really cool fish photo. Although I feel bad for the colorful fish who was on the receiving end of the “kiss of death”. By the way, out daffodils are blooming here. The tulips are not too far behind.

    Jessica

    • Kathy says:

      Oh my goodness Jessica I felt awful for that yellow fish. It all looked so surrealistic, though. Like it couldn’t be happening. But it was.

      Looking forward to tulip sightings!

  9. Aunty Di says:

    I am Trudie’s aunt from South Africa. The “It’s my life” Trudie. I so enjoyed your post about your ordinary day. I have lived in plantation areas in SA for fifteen years and I cannot explain to people the wonderful things I have seen in my everyday life that other people seem not to notice unless it is pointed out to them. I unfortunately do not have the raw talent that you have for photography and writing. Keep it up and carry on spreading the word.

    • Fountainpen says:

      Dear Aunty Di: My comment about your not having Kathy’s “raw talent” for
      words and photography. I believe that words love words andsomehow they find each other on the page once we write…and write…and write….It requires some inner discipline to let them explore how they want to be expressed…It requires patience and a kind of confidence about it all…..

      Certainly there in SA, I think your words might just want to tumble out on page after page…..Can you tell, I love words…..yes, that’s part of it, too…You need to fall in love with words and treat them with gentleness and kindness. I assure you they will trust you and make themselves known to you….

      Fountainpen

      • Kathy says:

        Dear Aunty Di, Yep. Everything Fountainpen said. I’m not sure about talent…for example, I never hardly took a picture before last year. What counts most, I think, is the freshness of our eye. Seeing what we see and simply taking pictures and writing the words.

        And writing the words and falling deeply in love with the words. And then scrambling the words into metaphors and talking about how the daisy reminds you of the sunlight flicking through the clouds and maybe Uncle Frank’s pipe. Letting what we see take us on a journey…

        I was taught a writing technique a couple years ago called “Diving Deeper” in which, every day, you simply sit down and let the words dive out on the page without really thinking about them. You don’t let your thoughts interfere with the words jumping into the water of your page (or computer). You let them splash and cavort and play.

        (That’s all I do every day here. I don’t think. Just let the words appear on the page–and often just sit down and laugh and laugh.)

        Oh my goodness did you expect this much input from your delightful little paragraph? I hope we words-lovers didn’t scare you away! Thank you so much and please come back, Trudie’s aunt. And tell us all about South Africa!

  10. Or Kathy, if we shift our perspective just a wee bit, maybe — just maybe — the big fish was actually regurgitating the other fish like your parents suggested …

    • Kathy says:

      Dear Laurie, don’t you LOVE shifting perspectives? Actually (as I just mentioned to my dad up above) his perspective was my FIRST perspective. I simply allowed Fishermen-Husband to shift my perspective to his…hmmm….maybe this was a treacherous shift. (I am suddenly laughing really really hard about the words “regurgitating the fish”. Maybe should wait awhile before eating breakfast.)

  11. allielujah says:

    Hmm. Not a bit of ordinary to be seen here! =]

    I love the moth picture. Macro shots are my favorites. And I totally see the people walking on water! What a wonderful shot!

    The fish! It’s such an oddly beautiful picture though, color and composition wise.

    It appears a lot of loveliness has occurred during my blogging break! =]

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Allie, I suspect you know lots more about photography techniques than I do! But I’m learning…slowly…hoping to some day catch up with you. Yes, the fish pic is oddly beautiful. I think the Big Fish looks surprised rather than menacing. Like “oh no, what have I done NOW?” 🙂

      • allielujah says:

        Oh, I’m still learning as well! Aperture still boggles me haha. I’m taking a film class in the fall (schedule permitting) so I’m hoping to wrap my head around it all then!

        And I totally agree! I feel like the fish is saying “Whoops!” =]

        I’m not sure if you got my comment, but I’ve actually moved blogs. You can click my name and it will take you to it. I’ve decided to blog mostly about my knitting and photography escapades. Hopefully it will go well! =]=]

  12. Barbara says:

    Well, Kathy, there will be no stopping you now that you’re experimenting with camera settings! Happy Spring! Here’s to the magical delight of ordinary!

    • Kathy says:

      Barbara, the only thing that ever seems to stop me (re fiddling with camera settings) is that I’m usually bounding around amazed at what the world is presenting…and always forget that there can be different ways of portraying that. Oh thank you for your well-wishes. It is a glorious extra-ordinary–ordinary–Spring already!

  13. Trudie says:

    Nothing squeamish about that last picture. If anything, I find it funny. But then, I’m tired. It’s been a very long day. My mind tends to do weird things when I’m tired.
    But very well done on the picture of the moth 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Trudie…(shhh…secret…) part of me found it really funny and the other part found it awful. Aren’t minds weird things, generally? I find that our minds are the strangest creatures of all.

  14. truels says:

    Dear Kathy – “ordinary” ? I think that can be a goal in itself for a good and interesting blog – to show ordinary impressions from life (I try doing that in my blog!). SO: Go on! Make MORE ordinary posts! I can see that I am not the only one who likes them!

  15. Kathy says:

    Ordinary is the best, Truels! Let’s keep writing our ordinary extra-ordinary blogs! (glad you like ’em too.)

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

