Why the dial-up world hates me.

Spider of branches overlooking Keweenaw Bay

 

 I think I got out of the wrong side of bed this morning.  

Before work I wrote a passionate blog dissecting Facebook.  

Now–after work–another blog insists upon being written.  And it’s another somewhat controversial one.  Darn.  Probably should just go meditate for a while or hop back into bed putting the covers above the head until the inner voice is prepared to be Nice.  

But alas.  You’re all in for it.  Along with me…  

Lake sparkles (1)

 

 OK, I just made up headline which you’ve already seen:  Why the dial-up world hates me

Which of course isn’t even true.  Of course the dial-up world doesn’t hate you, Kathy.  Let’s not take things personally.  Get up out of the wrong side of bed today?  OK, we give.  Why does the dial-up world hate you? 

They hate me because I insist boldly upon repeatedly publishing high-resolution photographs on WordPress.  

Kathy, what’s wrong with this?  

Lake sparkles (2)

 

 When you publish high-resolution photographs–and BIG ones, at that!–it takes forever to upload them if you do not have cyberspeed Internet service.   The poor readers curse blog writers or photographers who unashamedly do this.  They call you names through clenched teeth.    

Well, at least you have the grace to be ashamed of yourself, Kathy.  Why don’t you change your evil ways?  Why don’t you be good and publish smaller or medium-sized pictures?  Better yet, why don’t you compress them, girl?  Be a good sport!!  

Unusual driftwood...

 

 Because, oh because…I LIKE the big high-resolution photos so much.  There, I’ve said it.  I like ’em.  They make my heart pitter-pat.  They make me love photography.  They make me want to go take more pictures.  They inspire me–a visually challenged person–to look deeply at the visual world and fall more head-over-heels in love with it.  I am SO guilty of not looking at blog photos when they’re small or medium-sized.  My eye refuses to look.  It’s a challenged eye.  But when the pictures are Big, the eye actually blinks.  It engages.  It looks around.  And it’s a good feeling to have my eyes waking up and looking.  

As for the cost–it really doesn’t cost that much here on WordPress.  I added a huge slew of gigabytes on my outdoor blog last year and it only cost maybe $25 or $30.  That’s pretty inexpensive to make you happy, right?  

Branch in gray sand

 

 Furthermore, I tried compressing ’em last year.  Really tried.  But they lacked something.  They looked a little flat.  They looked–well–compressed.    

I do have some morals, though.  I only put up to seven high-resolution photos per blog.  Only seven, mind you!  OK, every once in a while, eight.  And on trips–when there are lots to show folks–I compress them.  Even though a certain someone sighed about that…  

Stone on stone

 

 Kathy, what if you lose friends over this issue?  C’mon, give a little !  What if you lose readers?  What will you think then?   

I know.  It’s sad… I AM sad for the dial-up world.  I don’t want to lose friends or readers.  But, but, but…I’m hoping for forgiveness.  For understanding.  For patience.  OK, not unlimited patience…maybe just enough patience to upload seven high-resolution digital photos.  They could do the dishes while the photos upload!  My friend, Gerry, of Torch Lake Views  does her dishes while patiently–I’m sure patiently–waiting for the photos to upload.  

Kathy, on another note, are you really going to subject us to a tirade about Facebook?  Or do you want all your friends and family to hate you, as well?   

I promise to sleep on it before publishing a single world.  Unless of course I find some great high-resolution photographs to go with the blog today!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Why the dial-up world hates me.

  1. Kathy – I love the dialogue! By any chance are you a Gemini? You know, the twins … one sitting on each should, pulling the conversation back/forth in your head/heart.

    No matter what — squished or unsquished — don’t stop posting photos.

    Laurie Buchanan

    • Kathy says:

      Nahhh, Laurie, I’m a Cancer! About five years ago I was trained in a really interesting technique called Voice Dialogue where you get your inner selves to expressing their different viewpoints. I absolutely love the work of Voice Dialogue. It helps give all of our different and unique perspectives voice in the world.

      You must have missed all my blogs on Gaia using Voice Dialogue–probably before you came. Part of the gist is that I think we are complex individuals with many many views within us. Many of us, as we assimilate personalities, decide we’re one way and not another. We’re nice and we’re not mean. We’re happy and we’re not sad.

      But in real life we’re both. Voice Dialogue gives us the opportunity to express both sides of ourselves–and hopefully realize the more holistic self (selves) that we are.

      Gosh, that feels like almost another blog!

  2. jeffstroud says:

    Kathy,

    Way too funny! But I know, or think I know part of you is being serious!!!

    I don’t have difficulty loading your photographs, so they are always easy for me to see and read your blog whenever I am ready and willing!
    The photographs are wondrous as usually, you are are getting more creative with what your are photographing!

    Plus what do you care what people think or do? It is none of your business, so mind your own! Did they ask you to compress your photos? Did they, whoever they are complain about the time loading your blog?
    I really like your friends Gerry’s good humor to know to go wash the dishes while waiting, very effective.

    So post away, if you chose!

    I am Love, Jeff

    • Kathy says:

      Jeff, I loved the opportunity to write this blog because a part of me thinks it’s funny and the other part, serious. Thank you for your kind words about creative photographing.

      Oh, Jeff. Yes. Part of me cares what people think and do and say. At other times I just feel/sense frustration through what folks say and do. On the third hand, I really don’t know many people who have dialup.

      On the fourth hand, there is a part of me that doesn’t care. It’s going to be itself, no matter what. It felt important to write this…just to get the issue out in the open and discuss it freely.

      You are Love, Jeff! Thank you for reading and commenting.

  3. Gerry says:

    Kathy, the dialup world does not hate you. It just doesn’t visit your blog very often. Sometimes I don’t have time to wait for all the photos to load, so I just read the text, look at whatever photos have loaded in the time I do have, and move on. Sometimes I get back to see the rest, more often I don’t.

    There’s nothing wrong with that. It’s just the way it is.

    Each blogger has a vision for the beloved blog. Each blogger has a particular sort of reader in mind. I love the diversity. Let a thousand flowers bloom! In whatever color or shape–or resolution–we please. Readers will come, or not come. Life will go on.

    • Kathy says:

      Gerry, do you want to know a little secret? I probably would not read my blog if I had dialup. Not probably. Most probably wouldn’t.

      I do love what you wrote here! You said this once before. Every blogger has a vision for our blog. And readers will come and go. We have to follow our vision and others will follow theirs. It is as simple and beautiful as that.

      P.S. I told that inner voice not to use the word “hate”. Much too strong, I advised. Much to exaggerated. However the inner voice was whining. Best to let it speak its truth. We knew the larger truth would come out in the “long run”.

  4. Colleen Lloyd says:

    Kathy, for someone who claims to have gotten up on the wrong side of the bed this morning, that wonderful sense of humor of yours doesn’t seem to be at all affected! A little rant is sometimes exactly what is needed and when there are first class photos along with it…who could ask for anything more. Wasn’t it Shrek who always said “Better out than in”.

    And just for the record, we’ll take your photos any way that we can get them and consider ouselves blessed!

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, phewwww. Oh it’s good to rant constructively and not having people comment “Off with your head!” As they told Alice in Wonderland. I find that the easiest rants to witness are when we’re ranting to different sides of ourselves. When we’re taking both sides. I am thinking the entire Facebook rant should be rewritten as well. Hmmmm….thank you for your kindness. I am feeling much better.

      The problem is, it seems, that there is a part of me that wants to please everyone. And we all know that’s not possible!

      • Colleen Lloyd says:

        Kathy, I understand this dilema all to well! The pleasing-everyone gene that seems to come up for review, often in our 50’s (speaking from a woman’s perspective) and refusing to be ignored. I have a small green laminated bookmark with a silver spiral attached that I’ve had since turning 50 (ten years ago). It reminds me every day that “Your opinion of me is none of my business”. Much like what Byron Katie might say say.
        Looking forward to your Facebook thoughts and I really do appreciate your ranting techniques!! Graceful and well executed!!

        • Kathy says:

          I LOVE Byron Katie, Colleen. Was just thinking about her this morning before turning on the computer…and here you’ve mentioned her. Might be time to read her book again!

  5. Cheyenne Steele says:

    Oh, Kathy! What love! ~ Who could ever hate you, who didn’t first hate what was beautiful within themselves?

    It is written over and over that talent, love, beauty, communion, is hated by those that cannot find it.

    It is a GREAT complement to YOU! whoever hates you…is revealing their love! They had to love you first!

    I love you! …with no opposite!
    cheyenne

    • Kathy says:

      Cheyenne, what a delight to see you on this blog. I love your perspective on this–I know we’ve talked about this before. To love with no opposite~~that is the hidden pearl. Thank you!

  6. Kathy, I think you should just go for it! As a reader told me when I was asking for thoughts about reducing my posting frequency from May through Sept – “it is your blog, you should do what inspires and is right for you.”

    I reduce the size of my image files for internet use (800 X 600 px)- except for redbubble. I like to leave the images big (though lower resolution ) on my blog.

    Half of our island is dial – up and half is high speed. Fortunately, we have high speed. I would not want to be without it. Great dialogue.

    • Kathy says:

      Terrill, your words have wisdom. These are our blogs and we should do what feels right to us. I am glad you have high speed internet. This discussion is reminding me to be grateful of what we have…those dial-up days were not fun.

  7. Emma says:

    I love your photos! My dial-up days are in the past, but I do remember how long things could take to load. Still, your photography is a large part of this blog. I think it’s just right as it is!

    Now, let’s hear your thoughts on Facebook!

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Ms. Emma, for your support. I think it’s right just as it is, too. As for those Facebook thoughts…I am going to sit on them for awhile longer. The inner censor refuses to allow publication just yet. Might have to be re-written a tiny bit. Maybe today…but, then again, the morel mushrooms and wild leeks and garden are all calling. And yoga is today. Hopefully soon?

  8. Damn, people still use dial-up…thought that was outlawed? 😀 I know, I know…we are not Japan. I have read about Gerry’s town board wrestling with the costs of bring high-speed Internet to the rural north of Michigan’s LP. I hope someday it becomes commonplace for anyone in the US to have access to faster Internet access. In the meantime, you do what you wish to do. Sorry, if that upsets some people.

    • Kathy says:

      Funny, Scott! Dial-up should be outlawed! But, then again,then half of us wouldn’t have ANY internet. I don’t know how we (in the rural northlands got so lucky to get DSL. Yes, I do know. It was courtesy of forward-thinking folks at Baraga Telephone Company. Even though we can’t get TV here. Go figure.) I guess I am going to continue doing what I wish to do. I just feel better about doing it now that I’ve fully expressed my thoughts.

  9. barb says:

    I like them high-resolution and BIG! (But, I’m not dial-up…)

  10. “But in real life we’re both. Voice Dialogue gives us the opportunity to express both sides of ourselves–and hopefully realize the more holistic self (selves) that we are.”

    Kathy – I wasn’t familiar with the term “Voice Dialogue,” but in what I do for a living I’m oh-so-familiar with the different sides of self. Now I’m off and running with my friend Google to learn more about Voice Dialogue. Tthank you for pointing the way.

    Laurie Buchanan

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, the best book on Voice Dialogue is by Hal and Sidra Stone and it’s called Embracing Our Selves (The Voice Dialogue Manual). I went down near Chicago several years ago to learn the technique and was blown away by what it offered. Genpo Roshi teaches “Big Mind” which I heard combines some of the insights from Voice Dialogue and Zen. I would love to learn more about how he’s woven the two together.

  11. june says:

    Kathy, re space, would it help if you put your photographs onto flickr and then link pasted them into your blog – I have not used much memory space on my blog as I upload them there and can put them on a privacy setting etc, yes many people still have dial up in the country here in Oz, but they are trying to fix it so broadband it everywhere.

    I do enjoy them in large resolution (:

    • Kathy says:

      June, I guess I am not too worried about the space when I found out how inexpensive it was to buy additional space. Probably am going to continue to post them in high/big resolution. Although your idea sounds like a great option! I love all the creative ways people have dealt with this…

  12. P.j. grath says:

    Kathy, I love your photos, too, but I have to ask: do you find mine too small and flat? I don’t ask to be defensive or argumentative but because I really want to know. Oh, but don’t judge by the post I just put up, because that one is photos of old xeroxes of old photos!

    • Kathy says:

      Pamela, to be truthful, I have to force myself to sit still and patient to look at photos on almost everyone’s blogs. I have to sit through the feeling that the photos look small and flat. Yes, that is my first impression. Not just on your blog–but on most blogs.

      Sometimes, when I am absolutely present and still and have time, I can move my energy into truly seeing the photos, no matter what the size. But it takes work. (We’ve had discussions about this visual challenge before, haven’t we?)

  13. Martha Bergin says:

    I’d like to read your blog critiquing facebook. Where would we be able to find it?

    • Kathy says:

      Martha, the only place any one would be able to find that Facebook critique is under lock & key in my email draft box right now. 🙂 As I just commented to Emma, the internal censor won’t let that one out right now without some re-writing…

  14. Cindy Lou says:

    So much packed into one blog today! You are one funny lady! I’m really interested in the Voice Dialogue technique – will have to look that one up. And I agree with those who felt that it’s your blog and you are welcome to do with it what you will – that’s part of its charm for me! You’re photos and words create a world that we all share – and reading everyone’s comments is part of the fun! Love you!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Cindy! Barry said he ran into you yesterday at the school. Probably about the same time I was responding to your comment. Today am feeling headachy and icka. But hoping to get out to hunt for the wild morel mushroom soon.

  15. I have High speed, but I am in the lo rez habit left over from well, the last century. so Kathy, what’s your rez? Oh, I looked. Not that big. What dpi do you load? If it were as big as 300 dpi I think your files would be huger than they are. The pictures do look great. the rocks and sand especially.

  16. Kathy says:

    Carla, truly, I have no idea what my rez is. Or what dpi I load. WordPress gives you an option of small, medium, large and full size. I always load large. And then people have thanked me for uploading high rez photos. Other than that…I’m technologically illiterate!

  17. melinda says:

    i am committed to beauty… irrational, impractical, frivolous beauty. not everyone gets to see it.

    • Kathy says:

      Melinda! Yes!! Why don’t we think of things that way? Being committed to beauty for the sake of beauty! Your words struck a chord of joy in my heart. (And of course your mountaintop paradise of beauty did, as well…)

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

