Don’t fall in the water, stretch your muscles too much or peck on windows

Bike above water and bike under water

 My goodness, I am still showing you pictures from last weekend.  The last of May’s crop of photos.  Please enjoy a stroll through Marquette’s Lower Harbor, as we did last Saturday.  Can you feel the gentle breeze blowing off the lake?  Can you hear the seagulls calling?  Good.  Now don’t get too close to the edge of that pier.  I don’t want you to fall in the lake.  Too early to swim in Lake Superior, as you will surely discover if you keep taking pictures too close—

 No.  I did not fall in.  But you know how it is when you’re dangling your camera down a swim ladder or attempting to get just the right shot.  You could lose your footing.  One must stay alert.  

Ship's underwater reflection

 Barry still gets a chuckle at my burgeoning love of photography after seventeen months.  He’s still shaking his head trying to figure out if it’s his wife who keeps running all over the park with her little Sony CyberShot absolutely fascinated to snap reflections in the water.  He’s thrilled that his visually-indifferent wife is enthused about this new hobby.  

 OK, enough gabbing about last weekend.  Let’s fast-forward into the now.  If you still want to remain at the Marquette Lower Harbor, just ignore the remainder of the words and look at the photos.  The rest of you:  let’s get present to what’s happening now.

 What’s happening now:  I have been (mostly!) off the computer for a couple of days.  Aren’t you proud?  Maybe just a check-in to email in the morning and another check in the evening.  Less than fifteen minutes per stint.

 The rest of the time–outdoors in the greenery amidst the squawking birds and jungle-like clamor. Indoors meditating and reading and such. 

 This morning:  One full hour of yoga with my talented teacher, Ms. Shanel.  She’s the greatest! I told her so today.  “You are the greatest yoga teacher in the world for me.”  I can’t say about any one else–as I’m taking a private lesson–but she has been inspiration itself.

 We did the Pigeon again today.  Stretch, stretch, stretch!  But don’t stretch too far.  Shanel advises me to pay attention to my body.  If it hurts–and if it’s not a “good” hurt–stop.  Stop right now.  The Body Knows.  

 After yoga, my friend Denise and I met for lunch at the Nite Owl. We haven’t seen each other for months.  She ordered spinach salad and I ate the usual two scrambled eggs and homemade whole wheat toast. 

 Then we walked for a long distance.  All the way to Whirl-i-Gig Road.  Round trip of four, five, six miles?  Who knows?  I was so tired upon arrival home that I fell into an exhausted nap and could barely talk to said husband when he arrived. 

 “Exhausted,” I mumbled.  “Muscles ache…”

 But got up anyway and drank a cup of black tea while we caught up on our day.  

 In other news (unless I already told you this):  the garden is now 100% planted.  The lawn is mowed and weed-wacked.  A crazy robin returned to knock on our upper window the other morning–click here to see last year’s sordid post The Danger of Philandering Husbands .

 However, when this robin began pecking on the window steadily–starting at 5 a.m. and continuing on for hours–I ran outside and shouted (at the top of my lungs, poor neighbors who live through the woods) “STOP!  In the name of the law!!”

 And guess what, dear reader?  You’ll never believe it.  The crazed pecking robin actually got scared and LEFT.  No more pecking.  Gone.  Remember that fool-proof method next time a robin starts pecking on your window.  🙂

P.S.  And the oddest thing happened in the grocery store!  A fellow who works there said he has a crazed robin knocking on EVERY window of his house.  He said he googled for suggestions…and came upon my blog from last year.  Not that my blog could help him out…

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Don’t fall in the water, stretch your muscles too much or peck on windows

  1. holessence says:

    Kathy – What a fun afternoon jaunt for me to live vicariously through you today. Thank you! My absolute favorite photograph is “Bike above water and bike under water.” That’s a super-duper shot!

    And while we don’t have robins pecking at our windows, we DO have woodpeckers who like to give our house a good pummeling every now and again — and we have siding — it’s not even wood! Next time it happens I’m going to try your Sure Fire Robin Eviction Method and see if it works for Woodpeckers too. I’ll be sure to let you know either way.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh my–we’ve had the Evil Pileated Woodpecker attack the side of our house last winter and destroy half the boards. So I know what you mean. (Gasp! I did not mean to call the woodpecker Evil. Pretend you didn’t hear that…) Do let me know if that Sure Fire Eviction Method works. And I will keep my eye open for the return of the woodpecker and try it on him, too.

  2. Kathy I always love coming by for a good visit with you. I have beans baking in the oven and picked up a loaf of wholewheat sourdough bread to top off what will be supper later tonight. The radishes, peas, beans and carrots are up along with a few salad greens. We have had rain though so I have been in sorting, cleaning and decluttering mode… sure was nice to take break and go with you down to the lake for a bit:)

    • Kathy says:

      Ahhh, Terrill, your words feel soothing. Wholewheat sourdough sounds soothing. We’re having rain tonight, too. Welcome appreciated rain. Thank you for visiting.

  3. Thanks for letting us visit and see what is happening up there.

    You are making me so hungry with the vegi talk, I might have to escape and come up there and get some…Have to wait for them to grow !!

    Vegi’s sounds good right now…..Although a nice chocolate would too!
    I have not touched coffee, mocha, chocolate, sodas….for 7 days now…..on to a month JUNE 25 and longer! I am now talking myself intoi some kind of compromise? like one a month or once every two months??

    Kim

    • Kathy says:

      Kim, it’s gonna take some time for those veggies to grow, that’s for sure! (And if that chipmunk eats the beans…) Congrats on your coffee/chocolate/soda break. Truly. That is an amazing gift you’re giving yourself! 🙂

  4. Carol says:

    What a lovely neighborhood you have, and how nice your days sound – albeit achey-muscle-producing. We have had rain and I’ve been inside catching up on computer duties for promises made to people, looking out the windows at the plants I’ve bought that are waiting to be placed permanently into their homes.

    • Kathy says:

      Carol, glad you could stop by. Guess what! The muscles didn’t even ache this morning. Glad you’ve had rain and that you could get caught up on the computer and that your plants will soon be happy in their new homes.

  5. Dawn says:

    Maybe you scared the one demented bird from your house to your grocer’s home!

    I love the seagull photo best..though the bike is right up there!

    Thanks for sharing your day!

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, what a thought! Or…do you think there might be more than ONE demented bird? Perhaps we’re being overcome with demented birds…. Nah. I won’t go there. Must think positive thoughts about birds and chipmunks who eat ALL the peas.

      • Dawn says:

        Darn those chipmunks anyway! Last year a groundhog ate ALL my green beans. They are so greedy! You might have time to plant another crop of peas up there where it stays cooler…

  6. Robin says:

    lol! I think I’d stop pecking on windows too if someone shouted that at me. But I’m not the type of robin that goes around pecking on windows.

    This interested me:

    “He’s thrilled that his visually-indifferent wife is enthused about this new hobby. ”

    When it comes to all things visual other than what I see through the camera, I tend to be indifferent as well. I’d make a poor witness to a crime as I rarely pay attention to what people look like or what they are wearing or things of that nature.

    I like that first shot a lot. Nice reflection and great framing.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh my goodness, it’s a Robin that came by to talk about the Robin. Thank goodness YOU are not the window-pecking sort. Yes! Yes! I know exactly what you mean about that indifference to what people are wearing or what they look like.

      And I still can go visit other people’s blogs–just ask Terrill from Creative Potager up above–and not even see their pictures. At least until after the words are digested.

  7. Cindy Lou says:

    Cindy’s Favorite Photo-of-the-Day:

    A clamor of seagulls….the water and birds look so sparkly clear through the fuzziness of the tree. Beautimous, you crazy visually-impaired person, you! With all the beauty that you’ve shared with us in the past year and a half, I’m not sure you can still claim that title…..hmmmm?!? Maybe ‘recovering visually-impaired’ would better suit you 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy, did you read the comment above yours? I went over to Terrill’s blog the other day and didn’t even SEE her photos even though that’s what her blog was all about. The “recovering visually-impaired” probably is a better tag, though. Glad you liked those seagulls! I liked hiding in the tree to get that fuzziness.

  8. The bike over and under water is superb. A real gem of American life captured. I am amazed at myself that even though you are not writing about some of the photos, I still read your stories. I hope you take that as a compliment. Hope your soreness has gone away for now.

    • Kathy says:

      Really, Scott? You like it? Hip hip hooray!! I consider that a supreme compliment coming from a professional photographer like you. I’ll be singing all night. (Just kiddin’. Sort of. Well, I’m smiling now, anyway.) Congrats again about making the Freshly Pressed front page with your blog about Showing Scale.

  9. Annie says:

    WOW!!! Those pictures sure make me feel as if I am in your neck of Michigan! As a child, I remember being the only one in my family that would swim in Lake Superior. And yes, it was COLD!!!!

    • Kathy says:

      Annie, congratulations to you for swimming in Lake Superior! I suppose you were swimming on Memorial Day weekend like some of the kids around here. (I have this theory that only kids can swim that early…) As a person who couldn’t force myself to go deeper than my waist last summer, I am a self-avowed Terrible Wimp.

  10. Kathy says:

    Dawn, darn it all, we can’t plant another pea crop this year because it’s been too darn hot. Can you believe we can say that in Lake Superior country? (Not that I’m complaining too much, mind you…) We took down the pea fence a couple days ago. A sad moment. Please say a prayer for our beans. May they stay chipmunk-free.

  11. Reggie says:

    You had me in absolute stitches with that remark “But you know how it is when you’re dangling your camera down a swim ladder….” !!!!! (Wiping tears of laughter from eyes)

    I also love that upside down bicycle reflection shot – an example of perfect composition, I’d say. 🙂

    And condolences on the peas. Growing edible stuff in the garden has such unexpected challenges… who would have thought that a chipmunk would like peas. Good luck with the beans then.

    • Kathy says:

      Reggie (Does anyone call you “Reg”? I just did, in my head) I love that you laugh like this! And that you understand. I took five shots of that bicycle. That was the only one that turned out with exactly that composition. Good reason to take more than one shot, yes?

      • Reggie says:

        Giggle… Yes, actually, my best friend from varsity days calls me Reg. She’s the only one who does so though,… I think… But I regard you as my friend too, so you go right ahead. 😀

        And yes, when you (or your camera) are hanging upside down from a swimming ladder or when you’re perched up in a tree or balancing on a boulder or up on your roof shoveling snow (gosh, remember that?!) or in any similarly precarious position, it is definitely prudent to take several shots. Besides, there are SO MANY SETTINGS to experiment with!! ;-P

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

