Dare to walk where you have never walked before.

Bird house in the bog

Today I dare you.  Find a place where you have never walked before.  A brand new place!  A place of hidden intrigue.  Sights never before seen by your eyes.

You can do it. 

Perhaps it will involve ducking in the woods behind your  house.  Perhaps it’s a neighborhood where your feet have never been properly introduced to the sidewalk.  Perhaps it’s a park where you have never wandered.  A cemetery.  A stream.  A hidden lake.

Susan walking where she's never walked before...

OK, OK, I admit it.  I HAVE walked to this hidden lake before.  Maybe twice.  maybe three times.  I discovered it during last year’s Outdoor Adventures and ooohed and ahhhhed over the possibility of something being hidden in a landscape one think one knows. Click here to read of this first discovery.  Took Barry back there in November to show him the secret lake.  Click here for the second visit.

Last night it unexpectedly developed into Susan’s night to visit the Hidden Lake.

Overgrown out-of-the-way hidden path to the hidden lake

We aimed for a walk before dinner at Carla’s Restaurant.  We hadn’t seen one another since early in the winter.  Time to reconnect. 

We drove down to Lake Superior, behind the Pow Wow grounds. 

“Want to go left or right?” I asked.

We pondered the possibility.

“We walked left last time,” Susan mused.

“Then we must go right,” I stated authoritatively before–suddenly–remembering the Hidden Lake.  Susan must have the opportunity of glimpsing something rare and hidden jewel never before seen by her eyes!

Of course she willingly agreed, even though our trek would take us deep into Mosquito and Black Fly and Tick Country.

Where we discuss the possibility of Falling In.

Off we walked, admiring whatever the eye noticed.  We noticed bright green algae–or was it simply tiny individual green plants?– floating in the water.  One of us suggested that we were perhaps odd to notice and admire things such as this.  We delighted at how it looked up close.  We congratulated ourselves on our ability to Notice and Admire.

I advised Susan to watch for rotting or missing boards.  We approached the end of the dock.  It is one of those bouncy docks that bobs up and down in the water, threatening to heave one overboard.  We discussed the possibility of falling in.  We discussed what that would do to our dinner plans.  Susan suggested we would go to Burger King instead.

Since we really really wanted to go to Carla’s, we quickly backed off the lurching dock.

Where we discuss the oddness of things that catch our attention.

We then left the backwoods hidden lake and walked to the Right.  We stopped to peer at an angel with missing hands.  Had someone chopped off the hands in a fit of anger?  Had the elements somehow de-handed the angel?  What is the story behind the angel’s missing hands?

Better yet, can the angel still bless the land without her hands?  I am thinking that she can.  She still smiles enigmatically.  She perhaps suggests that nothing can take away what she is.  That nothing can take away what we are–even if we imagine we are missing some vital parts.

An angel without hands

Susan and I caught up on our lives in between angels and shells and waves.  We laughed a lot and perhaps even cried a little.  (I don’t remember crying, but I think we covered the gamut of emotions in our reunion.) 

We dined at Carla’s, enjoying the whitefish and baked potatoes and green beans and salad bar.  We looked out over Lake Superior through the front window.

(Susan had never before walked through the door of Carla’s Restaurant, either–another first!)

Pearly openness of underwater shell

As we drove back home we found ourselves laughing almost hysterically about some synchronicity.  Some way in which our lives mirrored one another.  I have always admired the way Susan (and her twin daughters) laugh so joyously at Life’s Secret Delicious Jokes. 

She says she laughs and laughs when she reads my blogs sometimes.  I say I often laugh and laugh when writing them…

New vistas.  New places.  Remember your dare, dear reader?  Find some place new to walk today.  Or tomorrow.  Enjoy stepping where your feet have never stepped.  Let the path open before you…

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Dare to walk where you have never walked before.

  1. fountainpen says:

    Great hidden path to hidden lake picture….
    and the blue shells in blue water….very lovely…..
    and the invitation to walk somewhere where we have never
    walked before….an invitation and a challenge!!!

    I will do it when I find just the right place, or the right
    place finds me!!!!

    Fountainpen

  2. jeffstroud says:

    How synchronicitic this post is, while taking our first walk of the day, I noticed to myself that I have not taken the camera with me on many of our walks of late, and I was wondering why? Bored, not very creatively challenged, not it the mood, any one of those will do. Yet low and behold there was a whole grouping of large mushrooms where they were not before. The owl family seems to be gone after allowing me to capture some shots of them, and standing silent with one of the for a few moments.

    I thought it is time to look up parks and nature reserves in the area to discover. NJ is full of places I have never been or had been as child that I have not witness in years and have not documented as a photographer.
    So kathy thank you for the dare.
    I am suppose to go to Philly today to meet up with a friend, I will see if I can photograph some other area’s I have not been.

    Well done once again… I love walking and journeying with you!

    I am Love, Jeff

    • Kathy says:

      Don’t you love it, Jeff, when it all gets synchronistic and we inspire one another? Good luck in finding a new place…and it will be fun to read about what you discover. 🙂

  3. Dawn says:

    Amazing. Yesterday I was somewhere, I don’t remember where, and noticed the think green algae on a pond, floating in a swirling pattern and thought of you, and wished I had my camera. Even thought of driving back to get the shot. But it was pouring last night, and again today, so that shot won’t be there exactly the same now. A lesson I have learned more than once; take the camera everywhere, get the shot when you see it. You can never recreate it.

    As for going somewhere I have never been? Hmmm…interesting idea. I have so many places I want to go that I’ve never been. My brother is going to Montreal, I’d love to meet him there, there’s that funny little point of land in Canada not to far away from me that I fly over when I go East that I want to visit…there are parks around here I’ve never gone to…which to choose?

    And when?

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, which to choose, which to choose? Sometimes there are so many choices that we get overwhelmed and can’t decide and end up choosing none. Haven’t you found that is true? I read somewhere that when we have more choices it’s actually harder for us to decide. (Montreal sounds lovely; I have never been there…)

  4. Cindy Lou says:

    This blog should be entitled “And Here Are a Few of Cindy Lou’s Favorite Things!” Hidden Lake was one of my favoritist places to walk when I lived in town – I was sure that I was the only one who knew where it was even though a well-worn path and the fact that someone had built a dock there said otherwise. And then there’s Miss Sue with her wondermous smile and joy for life – and then dinner at Carla’s……I worked Friday nite so was sorry to have missed you guys! Did Sue like it? What a great day you had, sweetie…. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy Lou, how we hoped that you would be at Carla’s! We kept our fingers crossed that you would be there…and felt sorely disappointed to discover your absence. We had a wonderful time. We laughed so much that the other diners probably looked askew over in our direction. (And I thought about you, too, at the Hidden Lake. Your secret spot…)

  5. elisa says:

    oooooooo we went to a lake too last evening, it isn’t so much hidden i suppose, as it is out in the middle of nowhere–Rose Valley Lake

    That plant, you were noticing, is called Duckweed. It also frequents fresh water springs, which is where the substance and I first became acquainted while I assisted in fresh water spring research years ago.

    • Kathy says:

      Elisa, thank you so kindly for identifying that plant! Wondermous to know. Do you think it’s lovely as well? Glad to hear you were at a middle-of-nowhere lake, as well, last evening.

  6. holessence says:

    Kathy – Remember the Nancy Drew mystery books that used to have drawings in them? Your photograph, “Overgrown out-of-the-way hidden path to the hidden lake” would make a perfect photo in a Nancy Drew mystery!

    As always, I loved being plopped in the front pocket of your shirt and taken along on an adventure — thank you!

    I don’t know if I can take you up on your dare today, but it shall be s-o-o-n and I will take my camera with me!

    • Kathy says:

      Yes indeed, Laurie, twould be a great Nancy Drew mystery scene! I love taking you all along in my front pocket or back pocket or sweatshirt pocket. You all keep climbing up on my shoulders and waving your hands and pointing things out. Please keep it up! We probably wouldn’t have noticed the duckweed were it not for one of you.

  7. Scott says:

    Hi Kathy,

    You dropped by my other website–my blog–a number of months ago. I mentioned to you that I was putting a few finishing touches upon my website. I thought I’d drop by and invite you to visits http://www.spiritsdawn.com if you feel drawn. In a way, it is a website that I believe that few people have walked before.

    Best,
    Scott

    • Kathy says:

      Scott, what a wonderful miracle website!! Very inspiring. Indeed, I have not seen anything like it before here on the web. Therefore, you are walking a wonderful new path… Hope you come across many, many miracles indeed.

  8. Pingback: Confidently in the directions of your dreams « the reluctant bloger

  9. Susan D says:

    Thanks again for the magic, KD – ALL of it. You’re the best 🙂

    Cindy Lou – Wish we’d had a sighting of you!!

  10. Barbara says:

    Does my walk in a “secret” garden count? http://ingebrita.wordpress.com/2010/05/23/a-secret-garden/ 🙂

  11. What a wonderful outing, and taking us along in your shirtpocket (great one Laurie!)

    Although I do not have any plans today, last week I went to four places in areas of town I have never been- New adventures of a different kind for work.

    As for your challenge I am taking Oreoz into a marsh next to our subdivision that has a walking path. I have not walked him there and I am sure he will love it…I might even take Mike with me!

    It is wonderful to share your stories and especially the pictures to solidify the journey.

    Kim

    • Kathy says:

      Kim, it sounds like you have succeeded in the dare–even before it was given. Adventures in new parts of town (even for work) definitely count. However, let me know how the marsh walk goes. Hope you don’t have many woodticks down there!

  12. Colleen Lloyd says:

    Hi Kathy, what wonderfully appropriate words…new vistas, sights never before seen by our eyes.We’re temporarily on the other side of the world, momentarily feeling upside down. Internal compass completely out of whack…hopefully a result of jetlag and only temporary!! How nice to check in and read your gentle dare and reminder to always let the path open in front of us…no matter what set of stars sits above us to guide the way.
    And yes, yes, yes…nothing can take away what we are. You have no idea how good it was to read your words today.

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, I forgot you were visiting the other side of the world! Hope you have a wonderful vacation. am so honored that you paused to visit even when jetlagged! And that the stars will guide us, even though they are in different positions.

  13. holessence says:

    Kathy – Here is a link to the photographs of where I went when I took up your challenge: http://www.holessence.com/featurephoto.html

    • Kathy says:

      I think I commented elsewhere, but your challenge was awesome! Congratulations! You win a HUGE prize of our admiration & reverence. OK, the reverence may be for the church. LOL!

  14. I know this took a long time but I took the dare as well.
    Thank you for the… Dare + Inspiration = Beauty. It was timely for me as the Japanese Gardens are right by the hospital where my daughter keeps care of her transplanted kidney and she almost lost it this past week. It was a wonderful thing to do while we were waiting to hear whether she would have to go back to dialysis or not.

    http://whatjulieslearned.wordpress.com/dare-inspiration-beauty/

    • Kathy says:

      That is one wonderful blog, girlfriend. You DID it! You dared and succeeded in so many ways. I hope your daughter’s kidney is OK and that she doesn’t have to go back to dialysis. Sending her some prayers for a full recovery. And thank you, Julie, for doing this! Blessings…

  15. Pingback: Interrupting our camera discussion…for an evening at the art gallery « Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

