Gently stroking a butterfly wing & other tales from the Lull of Summer

Butterfly pauses; does not fly away.

It’s one of those Lull days.  You know what a Lull day is, don’t you? 

One of those days when you quit thinking so much about (fill in the blank with your favorite litany of worries, preoccupations, plans, concerns, judgments and whatever else your Mind is creating) and simply relax.

Thimbleberry blossom

Many of us remember these days from childhood.  Long days which stretched endlessly from morning to night.  Our fancy followed whatever it wanted to follow. 

If it discovered a butterfly lying on the road, it leaned down to gently stroke the wings, thinking perhaps that it had been struck by a car.  Our fancy murmured a silent song toward the Butterfly Spirit–or maybe hummed it out loud–when suddenly the butterfly shivered back to life and flew upwards into the sky, alive, ALIVE!  A miracle, indeed.  One strokes a dead butterfly and now it’s alive and everything is possible in the world. 

Of course, you skeptic adults, do not insist that the butterfly always lived.  That it was only pausing on the road.  That your fancy only created that story of delight.  That the stories of the world are wrong.  Shhh… For a moment now, let your child play.  Let the butterfly die and live again. 

The mystics say that it happens sometimes.

Peering deep inside a Goat's-Beard

On this most mysterious of days when you’re not planning what to eat for dinner or thinking about your meeting later tonight or how something hurts or how certain thoughts travel round and round in cul-de-sacs of never-ending loops…you perhaps sit on the deck in the sun and close your eyes, without a thought in the world.

Birds sing and squawk; chipmunks scurry.  You think you want this sense of lull, of well-being, to remain forever.  Forever.  But do not allow that thought to cloud the blue June sky!  For this desire brings you out of the no-thing-ness of the summer afternoon and back into the breath of desire and who knows when you’ll find yourself back in this place which is enough, which lacks for nothing?

Return to the Earth O Leaf!

In the forest life and death intertwine together, lovers forever.

We forget that in our quests to make money, make dinner, make plans. 

Throw off the cloak of what we “should” do on this summer afternoon and sit outside with the sun warm on our cheeks, content, fulfilled with the next rising moment.

Web captures raindrop jewels...

Jewels of life appear before us, unbidden.

Bouquet of daisies for you. Don't let that little honeybee sting you. Shoo it away before you smell!

I left the deck to write this love story for all of you–but shall return again to the Lull in a few minutes.  Grateful, ever grateful, for this life.  For you.  For all of it–the mystery of its unfolding moment by moment.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Gently stroking a butterfly wing & other tales from the Lull of Summer

  1. OMG
    I LOVE THE BUTTERFLY
    AWESOME!

  2. barb says:

    These photos are glorious. I think since I I just finished working in my garden all morning, I may lull a bit. I’ll visualize your photos while I let the sun warm my cheeks on my deck here in the Rocky Mountains.

  3. Sue says:

    Such a perfect blog for this perfect June day……blue skies, billowing white clouds, temps in the low 70’s, bird song, and more. This day was a delight, and your blog was validation that life isn’t measured by the busy work we do, but by moments like these that we choose to savor.

    I especially love your picture of raindrop jewels!

    • Kathy says:

      Dear Sue, if I wasn’t going downstate I would come and visit YOU on the Mississippi River! (Just started singing that song M-I-S-S…you know…where you spell out the letters of Mississippi.) Savoring moments!! YES!! Let’s do it again today. 🙂

  4. Susan D says:

    Ahhhhh, bliss – fit the day perfectly. Stunning photos! Thanks 🙂

  5. Robin says:

    “…you perhaps sit on the deck in the sun and close your eyes, without a thought in the world.”

    Are you peeking into my life? I think we must have had similar days as that is exactly what I did today. And came back with some treasures of my own. The day was much too beautiful to do anything except find that lull and enjoy it.

    All of your photos are beautiful but I especially delighted in the raindrop jewels. I thought they were bubbles at first (and bubbles are one of my favorite things).

    • Kathy says:

      Robin, are we leading tandom lives? How wonderful! It’s weird…I wasn’t even going to include that raindrop photo and tossed it in at the last moment. Glad so many liked it! (Bubbles are some of my favorite things too. I hope you saw my watery-bubble blog earlier this winter. If you didn’t I can look it up for you.)

  6. P.j. grath says:

    Kathy, you had the day that I’d planned for myself and didn’t get. Glad you did! Thimbleberry blossom makes my mouth water for jam.

    • Kathy says:

      Pamela, mmmm….thimbleberry jam! If we dream and concentrate long enough on those sweet-tart berries it will be August and we can have some!

  7. holessence says:

    “Our fancy followed whatever it wanted to follow.”

    Kathy, I was able to make that part come true based on your challenge — and thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you. What a lovely post. As always, supportede by stunning photography.

    • Kathy says:

      How I love the whimsy of your fancy, Laurie. I am soooo glad you always let your fancy out to play and find new places to explore.

  8. jeffstroud says:

    This time we did not take a walk we Lulled about in the yard or deck, and traveled with you through your lovely thoughts and expressive photographs. I did not get to this until late, it is already dark here now. I was a beautiful cool day for the first time in weeks. Still no rain, but the coolness helps sleep and daytime activity much more pleasant to do!

    I am Love, Jeff

    • Kathy says:

      Jeff, your word-pictures of your day sound wonderful. Could you send some of your hot weather over here to the Upper Midwest? It’s been so cool this week. Could we request the 70’s at least? Blessings, fellow Luller!

  9. Dawn says:

    Very nice concept, and truly lovely photographs. Can’t decide which one is my favorite, I thought the goat’s beard..but loved the spiderweb droplets too…and the leaf on rock…and and and….

    Still considering where I can go that I haven’t been before…lived in MI all 54 of my years, difficult to find somewhere I haven’t been. But I’ll figure it out!

    • Kathy says:

      Good morning, Ms. Dawn. Interesting ponderance about where to go. Laurie went to a church! A church where she had never been before. I am now wondering what places our minds don’t even entertain to visit. And yet that place might be just the ticket. If I’m making sense… That leaf, by the way, was just lying rotting on the forest floor. I couldn’t believe how its veins looked almost blue. Interesting way of dying…

  10. Cindy Lou says:

    In three more days, I shall have many lull days to look forward to – ahh, summer bliss! Absotively, possilutely beautimous photos today – bejeweled spider web takes my vote and once again, your words have reminded to slow down and live the moments of my life.

    • Kathy says:

      Your lull days are almost here Cindy Lou! (although I suspect you will not be lulling until after next weekend…) Enjoy your last few days of school before your flowers call you sweetly into the garden.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

