Desperation in the woods

Lone fawn

I have been a little sad all day.

Here is what happened last night.

It was raining in the forest.

Wet, wild raindrops beat down from the sky.

I looked out the window–at the clearing behind the garage–and saw a mama doe and her fawn.  (I was talking with my mother-in-law on the phone and suddenly gasped, “Oh, there is a SECOND baby fawn out there!”)

But the second baby fawn was suddenly and swiftly kicked away by Mama Doe.  Kicked away, nudged away, turned away. The fawn attempted to nurse.  The mama chased him away.

The second baby fawn turned and scampered toward the woods, alone.

The Mama and her fawn ambled away.

The second baby fawn bawled and bleated, crying for its mama.  True despair echoed in its voice through the forest.

Where was its mama?

The rain continued to drench the land, the deer, the bleating abandoned baby fawn.

The fawn cried its way into the ferns behind the garage.

I went outside in the pouring rain, raining dripping through my curls, soaking clothes.

“Baby fawn, where are you?” I asked.

It continued to cry, and then stilled.

All you could hear were the raindrops, beating against the leaves, the garage roof, the tree trunks.

Baby fawn, did you ever find your mama?  Did your mama find you?

Are you safe? 

Baby fawn, how we wish that you are safe and re-united with your mama…

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Desperation in the woods

  1. Sue says:

    Oh, Kathy, that is so sad.

    Most likely that fawn was orphaned and looking to be adopted. If you can find that fawn, you could adopt it and be it’s new mama. Instinct with tell that fawn to fall down, curl up, and be still if it feels threatened. Usually you can find it under a fern, tall grass, or small tree where it will be camouflaged.

    I found one once when I was 16, and the adults there gave me milk to feed it from a pop bottle. It worked….and then the fawn thought I was the mama!

    We named him Bucky, and the people there adopted him ’cause my folks wouldn’t let me take him home. They were very good deer parents and Bucky grew up big and strong and lived a very nice life.

    I hope this fawn has a nice life too.

  2. Robin says:

    Oh, how sad. 😦 Nature can be heartbreaking at times.

    I do hope it has found its mama or someone to adopt it. Poor baby.

  3. Susan D says:

    Oh, my … tears. So heartbreaking. All I can hear is Bambi calling his plaintive “Mother” … after his mom dies. Oh, dear, Kathy. Such a feeling of desperation and helplessness … yet, I appreciate your sharing this piece of real life … thinking best thoughts for the fawn and for you …

  4. fountainpen says:

    Kathy…ah, yes, these are the times we just go on, doing what we can,
    believing that a higher power can and is doing more….

    Just continue to look for it quietly…..

    I send caring and respect for all that you do for these little creatures
    in your forest…..

    Fountainpen

  5. Barbara says:

    Oh, Kathy, how heart-breaking! If the fawn comes around again I hope you can try what Sue suggests… (((hugs)))

  6. Doris says:

    Kathy:
    With your wonderful energy, and love…….the little fawn will be okay.

    It touched my heart…..their so helpless.

    Hugs,

  7. Ohhhhhhhh dear. If s/he comes around again I, too, hope that you will try what Sue suggested.

  8. Dawn says:

    sad…I’ve seen mama deer with two babies regularly, so odds are this one WAS orphaned and looking to be adopted. I hope some nice mama deer does!

  9. barb says:

    Perhaps this is why you hoped for a fawn in the grass – this story was waiting to unfold. I wonder if there will be a next chapter? If so, I hope you’ll share it.

  10. Kiah says:

    Umm…how could you ever deny me from coming home for a month every summer after witnessing this? I need my mama too!

  11. Carol says:

    The fawn needs you! And you can do it! You can be a fawn’s mom!

  12. Yes
    It is a plan in the making….
    I too was almost in tears…

    The Dr Seuss story!
    “Are you my Mother?

    Kim

  13. Reggie says:

    What a desperately sad story, Kathy. I hope you find the orphaned fawn, please tell us what happens?

  14. pearlz says:

    How sad, I think of how the baby sunbird in our backyard would feel if its nest was abandoned, and it cried out. We hear the mother crying out for her baby all the time! She sings to it, and to us maybe.

  15. Elisa's Spot says:

    Here, have a muffin while you wait to see if you get to see that baby fawn reclining in the underbrush after all. I have been up since 3:03 a.m.! I found inspiration then, wrote a bit, created shopping list and menu, made blueberry muffins, and am now having breakfast at 5:25 am watching the east turn pink. Off to the tree place as soon as tea is down! Damn the Distractions! (let us hope my friend the skunk does not also keep early, or late hours!)

  16. P.j. grath says:

    Kathy, it’s morning now, 7:37 as I tape out these words, but I don’t see your name among the comments. New developments? Is the fawn still there? Did you go to the rescue? All your readers want to know!

  17. Karma says:

    How very sad! Is there perhaps a wild life rescue in your area that might be able to help? As other commenters have said, please do let us know if there is more to this story.

  18. Kathy says:

    Hello, everyone. Sorry I didn’t reply earlier this morning but I’ve been out at work since 6:30 a.m. and just got home. Walked a wide sweep around the perimeters of our clearing but couldn’t hear or see anything. Looking for a baby fawn–unless it made itself known by crying or making noise or being visible–would be like looking for a needle in a haystack. The forest is just too darn big and the fawn could have traveled for miles and miles.

    Unless we see or hear any more signs, I am going to simply hope that its mama was nearby on Sunday night and found the wandering fawn when she heard it crying.

    We can only hope…

    I will update you if anything else happens. In the meantime–I’m going to keep a positive spin on the fawn’s safety and well-being.

    thank you all for your good wishes. Love, Kathy

  19. Emma says:

    That would be very hard to witness… 😦

  20. Georgia Mom says:

    TOLD YOU WHEN WE WERE TALKING ABOUT OUR BABY FAWN BY THE ROAD. THINK IT WAS IN THE SAME TROUBLE. DON’T THINK WE WILL SEE IT AGAIN AS WE WERE DRIVING IN TO ATHENS. KIAH AND CHRIS HAVE SUCH A SUPER MOM, BUT THE HUMAN AND ANIMAL WORLD HAVE THESE HURTFUL EXPERIENCES. SEEMS MORE PREVALENT THAN THE DECADES THAT WE KNEW. KEEP ALL YOUR READERS INFORMED.

  21. Well, the ways of nature are not easy when it comes to our wild friends in the wood. As cute as the fawn is and as hard as it is to think about, nature culls out the weak. Survival of the fittest is a real axiom.

  22. Kathy says:

    A final update on the fawn situation~~no more signs of the lone fawn. (Although it could show up with its mama and we wouldn’t know if it was the original fawn or the second fawn.) So you won’t hear any more updates unless a mama shows up with two fawns and then we still wouldn’t know if it was her fawns or she had adopted the original crying babe. I am still thinking the mama had to be nearby and simply collected her wayward fawn and they are merrily in the woods munching plants.

    Scott, you are so right about survival of the fittest, though… Yep…even though it’s hard to think about.

  23. absurdoldbird says:

    Oh dear, you’ve experienced what I did nearly two weeks ago with a baby blackbird. It was completely rejected by its mum and dad and we cared for it, for twelve days. The poor wee thing died just a couple of days ago. (I’ve given the baby bird it’s own page on my blog). I hope that fawn is okay. I don’t know what it is, but the mother probably senses there’s something wrong with her baby. If it didn’t/doesn’t survive, it might not have done anyway, even if the mother hadn’t rejected it.

    • Kathy says:

      Now I am really interested to read about your baby blackbird blog. How lovely that you were able to care for it. We’ve seen mamas and fawns on our land since this happening, but who can tell which mama and fawn it is? That is an interesting possibility that you have suggested. You could be right.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

