The birthday blog which never ends.

Kiah and Kathy at the Birthday Table on the deck

We are so backed up in the blogging world.  All the way to last night. 

We are still sitting at a birthday dinner opening cards and presents and hooting and carrying on.  We are still lighting candles on a homemade carrot cake and oooohing and ahhhing that folks cared enough to send their love across the miles. 

I apologize.  We’re still in yesterday.  By tomorrow we should be caught up to today.  We’re in overload!

Barry and Kathy pose for Family Pictures to be published on the Worldwide Web.

It was a lovely birthday celebration last night.  Kiah cooked and baked.  Barry grilled fish.  Especially because Cindy Lou asked I shall reveal our menu:  vegetable shish-ka-bobs marinated in a scrumptious sauce and grilled on the deck.  Greek salad laden with garden lettuce and tomatoes and olives and feta cheese.  Lake trout which once swam in the cold waters near Isle Royale.  Carrot cake laced with ripe bananas and agave syrup.

Vegetable shish-ka-bobs, courtesy of visiting daughter.

Oh, the presents I received!  Coffee from the coffee shop in NYC where Kiah is the manager.  Mint tea.  A tisane of almonds which we brewed for our dessert tea.  Cards from fountainpen (HI FOUNTAINPEN!!!) who is a blog-reader who actually makes cards from my photos and sends them as gifts.  More than once.  Gifts from California.  Gifts from Manhattan.  Cards from downstate and near Atlanta, Georgia.  Ahhh…it is the Life, indeed.

Tea. Toasted almond tisane, to be exact.

Today we’ve been Busy.  After I worked early this morning…we headed into town for errands and fun.  Here is a quick synopsis:

1)  Eggs and homemade whole wheat toast at the Nite Owl Cafe.

2)  Visiting Catherine.  HI CATHERINE!!  Thanks for the birthday card!

3)  Banking.  Washing the car.  Long story about washing the car.  The last time I tried to wash the car–maybe at the end of winter–the car wash broke down at the attempt.  The nice owners sent a courtesy coupon.  Because the birds have been perching on a wire above the car, I decided it was time to use the coupon…

4)  Coffee at the coffee shop in town.  My daughter gave a long explanation to me about the difference between cappuccinos and lattes.  We sat on the chairs in front of the coffee shop and sipped our drinks.  Lynnette paused to talk about her daughter’s engagement.  A wonderful photographer happened by and urged us to disband, teasing that we were having an illegal gathering. 

5)  Unexpected meeting with Susan D. at the grocery store.  Got to introduce Susan and Kiah!  Susan, meet Kiah.  Kiah, meet Susan.  Hugs all around!  (And lots of laughter too…)

Life is so interesting.

Blog writer & daughter a la birthday dinner

Because I had inadvertently bought raw shrimp at the grocery store, we had to head home to put it in the freezer.  That interfered with our previous plans to meander along the beach.

We stopped at the house and put the shrimp in the freezer.

I checked the blog and email.

“Get off the computer!” my daughter called, “We’re going to the beach!!”

Exotic candles on healthy and delicious carrot cake!

Off we went to the beach.  We walked up and down the sandy shores.  I have a half-dozen pictures of that meander which might entertain you.  Might show you those tomorrow–but then that would still put us a day behind.

How to catch up?

Awwww....mama & daughter love!

Apologies that I haven’t been able to read anyone’s blog since…since…a while ago.  I am SO behind.  The blogs are out there, waiting to be read.  Every morning I get up and say firmly, “Kathy, today you shall read your friends’ blogs.”  Every evening I go to bed and feel a bit guilty that another day has passed and I have not taken the time to read.

Please accept my apologies again.  Perhaps soon it shall happen.  It is hard when we have precious visitors….  

In the meantime, I do believe we’re done with birthday blogs.  Until next year.  Thank you for attending the festivities!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The birthday blog which never ends.

  1. Elisa's Spot says:

    Thank you for sharing it.

  2. jeffstroud says:

    As long as we know you are having way too much fun to answer and not laid up in ditch some where! All is good.

    I am glad you are enjoying your self and your family !!!

    I am Love, Jeff

  3. Carol says:

    you are entitled to ignore all of us and enjoy your family and your birthday. I doubt any of us are going anywhere! And what a lovely lovely birthday you’ve been having. Enjoy it!

  4. Goodness, Gracious, Sakes, Alive – Kathy! None of us is going to grow extra legs and run off anywhere. However, Kiah will soon be on her merry way again.

    That said, you FOCUS on Kiah and spend concentrated time with her. We’ll be here when you’ve soaked up as much of her as you can store before she hops back on that airplane.

  5. P.S. If you notice an itty-bitty bite of your cake is missing, it wasn’t me (I’m pretty sure it was Jeff) …

  6. Marianne says:

    Looks like a very tasty birthday dinner. I’m sure it was extremely nutritious since it was prepared with love.

  7. barb says:

    This looks like a celebration that could last and last – and hopefully WILL because everyone else is doing the cooking. Did you know carrot cake is actually considered a veggie, so you can have as many pieces as you want, guilt-free? Enjoy!

  8. Susan D. says:

    Oh, how I love all the pictures of you, Kiah and Papa Bear. You’re all so healthy and happy and beautiful. The food pics are awesome, too! Feel like I was there to celebrate with you.

    What a treat to run into you and Daughter at Pat’s (as in “who’s Pat?”). Every day brings delight and surprises.

    Hope you’re having a wonderful evening – it’s Heaven outside right now. Love and Hugs ….

  9. Kathy says:

    Thank you all for reading and commenting and being so understanding about the limited time right now. It seems we’re scheduled almost every day until she leaves next Friday. Today–weather permitting–is the Pow Wow. Tomorrow–Marquette. Monday–hopefully!–kayaking.

    Blessings to all of you & a very enjoyable weekend. Love, Kathy

  10. jennifer sulkow says:

    I enjoyed your birthday blog kathy!

  11. patty sue says:

    What a gift to have your beautiful daughter with you to help you celebrate your birthday! Great blog and love the little glimpses into your day! 🙂

  12. Sounds like great mother daughter time—Enjoy….

    Kim

  13. OM says:

    What a delightful sharing, you have the power to bring us right there!! I’m a carrot cake devotee and gourmand, and I’m sure your particular recipe was superb! I’m so glad you will have many happy memories of this time and this visit. Fabulous to see such great pictures of you, too!!

  14. Dawn says:

    No rush on blog review…I’m behind too! Soooo many more things I could have shared with all of you about Alabama..but alas..I’m back in Michigan now so I think the way I will catch up is to just start with today! LOL

    Happy Birthday, enjoy your time with your daughter, those moments are the best!

  15. Cindy Lou says:

    Yup – I’m with everyone else….cherish every moment with sweet Kiah. We’ll all be here when you get back……hugs to you, Miss Kiah! 🙂

  16. Ariane says:

    GOOD THING your blog was neverending so i at least still have a chance to wish you a HAPPY CONTINUATION of all things WONDERFUL ! (sheeeez, i must be living in a quinta-cave not to have joined in the celebration til now !)

    wishing that this spin around the sun will bring a visit to portugal (closing eyes & imagining you blowing out candles)

    Big Birthday hugs to you & pass some on to KIAH-Darling as well 😀

    <3victoria

  17. Colleen Lloyd says:

    Kathy, it has been such a treat to share your day. What a magnificent cake! Carrot cake has long been top-cake in our house. So glad that you had such a lovely day. Our oldest son also spent several years in the coffee shop business and we had a chuckle reading about Kiah and your coffee conversations…..the chuckle came from the memories that it brought back of the many hours spent learning what-was-what in the coffee world. And even more important….how to order the darn,er…delicious stuff! Hello to Kiah and wishing both of you many wonderful hours together.

  18. Karma says:

    Blogs will keep! Enjoy your time!

  19. Kathy says:

    Thanks again, you guys. I appreciate that you are still stopping by when I feel so busy and full with interactions and connections. It kinda feels like you all are beautiful butterflies fluttering nearby…I can see your colors and the way you land on the flowers to share your nectar of life. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

  20. Geoff Geary says:

    I was a foreign exchange student at Liverpool H S NY in 1971-72 (originally from New Zealand but now living in Melbourne, Australia) and have been trying to find one of my friends at school there, Lynnette French. We corresponded for a time after I left but lost touch. Her father Robert French was one of the school principals. I was just wondering whether the Lynnette you refer to in your Blog (Lynnette paused to talk about her daughter’s engagement) might be her? Possibly Lynnette Rank (married to Jeffrey)? I have a reference in one of my searches to a Lynnette Rank attending Liverpool H S, Class of 1974, but no other details.

    There is a school reunion next year which I am considering attending, and thought it would be great to catch up with Lynnette if I could.

    Regards,
    Geoff Geary

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

