Sad

Lake, rocks, sky

Kiah’s gone.  Last we heard, she’s sitting in the Minneapolis airport–flight delayed–awaiting her flight to New York City.

I am home after a full day in the big city of Marquette, where I eventually hugged her goodbye at the airport. 

Feeling all those usual feelings we mothers feel when our children fly from the nest yet again.  Goodbye, goodbye.  Until we meet again.

The red of our rocks

Barry and I just picnicked on the deck.  Rice-bean-vegetable (and for him–shrimp) bowls from the Border Grill.  Multi-colored chips. 

We called Kiah in Minneapolis to ascertain the length of her plane delay. 

We miss her already.

Toes and waves

But both kids were home this month–this was good.

It is always good when the children return home for a visit.

It is simply an adjustment to return to our ordinary lives…to return from being three to two. 

Puddles

Here are the pictures snapped on Point Abbaye before the crazy flies started biting.  Back when we stood along the shore watching the wild waves break against the rock.  Was it a lifetime ago?  Or was that only yesterday…or the day before?

Crashing waves

And now July ends.  Tomorrow is the last day, isn’t it?  Our garden hath produced one red & ripe tomato for human consumption…the cucumbers are flowering wildly and spreading their skirt of leaves across the soil.  So are the squash. 

The harvest shall be upon us before we know.  The summer lulls only for an instant, just as goodbyes lull only for an instant.  Just as sadness arises just for an instant…and who knows what tomorrow shall bring?

Gone the feet...

Thank you, Kiah, for a beautiful visit.  It was so precious.  Please come again, soon, whenever your schedule allows.  The trees are waiting for your return, as are the eagles flying overhead.  The chipmunks say “goodbye”.  Come back home, come back home…but, in the meantime, enjoy the Big City.  Have a latte for me, will you?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sad

  1. Martha Bergin says:

    It’s sad to let them go -always a process- and sadder still if they couldn’t leave. I am thankful!

  2. Susan D. says:

    “But let there be spaces in your togetherness and let the winds of the heavens dance between you. Love one another but make not a bond of love: let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls.”

    ~ Kahlil Gibran

    • Kathy says:

      so lovely, Susan! (I mean, Kahlil…) I love the spaces in togetherness so much. A good analogy this late July rainy morning. (And suddenly thinking about your daughter out there on the West Coast. You’ll be seeing her this fall, won’t you?)

  3. Carol says:

    Mine have been leaving gradually this year, which makes it a bit easier. But Kat leaves next Tuesday and then the real adjustment begins. I did raise them to be independent though.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Carol, blessings to you and Kat as she leaves! I was actually so excited for mine to leave (yikes, does a mother say that?) I couldn’t wait for them to get out in the big world and have adventures. And then I could live vicariously through them and feel what it would feel like to live in other places. We are all such independent souls in this family that our challenge has been more to carve togetherness-space.

  4. Colleen Lloyd says:

    Good work, Mom….having the wisdom and the willingness to let them go. With your blessing and with your love.
    I sometimes wonder if the hardest part of it all is letting go of the need to “be the parent” and the idea that somehow our children are “ours” to keep forever….speaking from my own personal learning (and growing up!!) experience when our two guys were heading out into the world to spread their wings.
    Hugs to you and to Kiah 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, don’t we learn that lesson, for sure? The letting go is part of the process. I hope I didn’t sound like I wanted to hang on to Kiah or Chris being here. I don’t. I love that they are out in the world spreading their wings. But also didn’t NOT want to honor the mama-part that adores their company, the holding hands (Kiah), the love & appreciation. I also love the new life Barry & I have created, post-children. It is very special.

      • Colleen Lloyd says:

        Oh Kathy, no…you didn’t sound like that at all!! You sound like a woman with eyes and heart wide open who has two wonderful children who are now making their own way as adults out into the world. Thanks, I’m most certain, to the mama-part of you who has loved, appreciated and adored them!

  5. Gerry says:

    Ah, she’ll always come back. The place is imprinted on her. But next time she’ll probably have one of those hazmat suits in her luggage, against the flies.

  6. Dawn says:

    It’s so difficult when kids and parents live so far away that going home is such an “event.” I always wished I was close enough that I could pop over for lunch with my Mom. But that wasn’t the way it was.

    I’ve been, the past couple of days, writing a piece on saying goodbye to my Mom. Too long for a blog. But so interesting to see that the bereft feelings are mutual…

    • Kathy says:

      YES! To live close enough to family members that we could pop over for lunch. For coffee. Wouldn’t that be wonderful? I always wanted the kids to explore the whole wide world–not to necessarily stay here.

      Thinking of you writing that goodbye to your mom…and imagining the feelings that are coming up. It sounds like a healing cathartic sharing. And I believe your mom is hearing every word and loving you very much.

  7. Kathy – this post pulled at the tenderest of my heart strings. I really like the comment that Martha left, “… sadder still if they couldn’t leave.”

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, honoring the tenderest of your heart strings this morning. Wouldn’t that be sad if they couldn’t leave? I am already thinking of NYC adventures–and Chris has been having two weekends of adventures in the mountains of California. So happy for them!

  8. patty sue says:

    Ahhh Kathy Sue! I’m feeling this with you! I’m sad she’s gone and I’ve never met either of you! Well, yes, we’ve met many times in spirit and I often feel your energy/influence when I’m walking. I feel like I now know Kiah … through you. I sure would love to meet up with you and her in New York for a latte some time. Wouldn’t that be way kewl!???

    • Kathy says:

      Patty Sue, we actually talked about the possibility of a trip to the West Coast to visit YOU one of these days. I said to Kiah, “Hey, I know some people out there!!” She’s game…I’m game…just that little challenge of time and money, you know. Meeting up in NYC would be equally GREAT! I am so glad we know each other, at least in this on-line world. Maybe someday face to face?

  9. Pingback: “Hey, Lady, you lost your peach!” « Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

