Peace and simplity under the August moon

Lake Superior Spirit is kayaking off in a slightly different direction for the month of August.  Instead of paddling to the north in the blogging world, we’re veering to the south.

Contemplation

Instead of telling funny stories and exciting tales and humorous escapades, I am going to announce a theme for this month of harvesting thimberries and tomatoes and cucumbers.

The theme for the month of August shall be peace and simplicity

I invite you to join me in embracing these qualities in your own life.  May all who visit this blog be blessed with a little more peace, a little more quiet, a deep inner calm.  May our inner garden harvests be abundant and enough to nourish all the hungry places within. 

Spiderweb dew

I spent the day sorting through closets, old piles of papers, basement nooks and crannies.  Throwing away.  Recycling.  Accumulating hefty piles to bring to our local St. Vincent de Paul store. 

Thinking about life.  Thinking about this blog.  Pondering what wants to change directions; what wants to express things differently.  I believe we have many different voices within us.  I have a quieter, simpler voice which is longing to be heard.

So this voice shall be invited forth in August.  That which sings a slightly different song.  That which paddles south instead of north.  That which stands barefoot under the August moon listening to the slow and distant hoot of the owl.  Or the pawing of deer hooves at dawn.

Fawns at first light

 Peace to all of you…

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Peace and simplity under the August moon

  1. Inner calm,peace and simplicity…I love the way you take in life….

    We are our way up North to Green Bay next week and then farther North for a couple days.

    In peace…Kim

    • Kathy says:

      Enjoy your trip up north, Kim. Green Bay is about 4 hours south of us. Let me know if you get to see any of the beautiful Upper Peninsula. Enjoy…

  2. Carol says:

    I look forward to joining you on your journey of peace and harmony.

  3. Gerry says:

    Whenever people tell me what I “should” do with TLV I think “If you want that, write your own blog . . . ”

    Readers will flow in and out as their own lives move them, and we will find our own paths through the weeds and lily pads.

    • Kathy says:

      It feels good, Gerry, when we can let go of any readership expectation and simply follow the path of our own heart. That sounds wise. I remember reading a comment a fellow made last year. He had blogged a long time and said, “I have changed directions at least a half dozen times.” Sounds good! That way we won’t get stagnant.

  4. Dawn says:

    Sigh……to peaceful thoughts and abundance from the garden…or in my case…from the two tomato plants I put in.

  5. Susan D says:

    Love the peaceful photos …. wish I could get small and dive into the dew on the spider web, without getting stuck. I’m so hot … way too muggy for me.

    Transition time … at the beginning of a change of season … definitely quietly restless in the quest for peace and simplicity.

    Ready, set, crawl …. ah, feels good.

    • Kathy says:

      Susan D…it sure is muggy, isn’t it? Is your hair stickin’ straight up? Let’s lay on that spider web together and tell stories under the August moon. Good stories. No scary stories…OK, well, we can tell one scary story each, but that’s all. LOL!

  6. Elisa's Spot says:

    Oh! What a wonderful way to celebrate Lughnasadh!

  7. Kathy – I am looking forward to southern paddling with deep and gentle gusto.

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, it is good to paddle, to reach our paddles deeply and strongly into the waves. When we kayaked the other night it felt so wonderful. The paddling felt like meditation. No separation between the paddling and the stillness and the spirit… Exquisite.

  8. Karma says:

    I’m hoping for a peaceful August as well. Before we know it, it will be time for the hustle and bustle of the school year once again.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh yes, Karma. The school is so quiet when I go in it in the early mornings during the summer months. Well, some days anyway. I like to work really early and then get home by 10 or 11 to enjoy the summer days. I’ll bet you are fully enjoying your break…

  9. Marianne says:

    What a great idea, Kathy! Peace and simplicity seem like a great focus for August. Count me in!

  10. Colleen Lloyd says:

    Kathy, what you are saying here resonates deeply. I have been cleaning and clearing too. A sense of creating space. Nothing else, just space. At least that’s how it feels right now.
    Yes to peace and simplicity and to the willingness to change direction when your heart calls.

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, creating space. I found a quote in a book today: “True wisdom belongs to those who can fill the empty space between life’s great events with meaning.” I liked this quote, although perhaps it might be better to say: who can realize that the empty space is already filled with meaning. Loving listening deeper to the heart and being able to translate that into the rhythms of action and rest, movement and space. If that makes sense.

  11. barb says:

    Thank you – I always enjoy peace and calm and quiet. But – I’ll miss your fun-loving, boisterous self, too…

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, after thinking about this some more…really pondering what my heart’s desire is saying…it may not be about getting rid of the fun-loving self. Maybe just incorporating the simple peaceful self more. We shall see… Stay tuned!

  12. Elisa's Spot says:

    Simplicity, for me, is soooooo far from puritanical, thus, there will be nothing to miss.

    • Kathy says:

      There, Elisa, you’ve said it. Not puritanical. Nothing to miss. Not either/or…but both/and. But perhaps allowing an energy to express itself that has been feeling somewhat stifled or not appreciated. That is the energy I’m inviting to the surface.

  13. Cindy Lou says:

    It’s a good thing to learn all the sides of a friend – I look forward to the joy of simplicity with you. And I know that loving, boisterous self travels along with us!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Cindy, there are so many sides to ourselves. In this spiritual journey it seems that the hands and heart open to allow so much more. We can see ourselves as a multitude–and yet that can be simple and peaceful. When I’m not centered the multitude can become restless and easy. In centered awareness, all parts of the self can be honored more easily. Don’t you think?

  14. Pingback: Live the questions now… « Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

