I dreamed it rained acorns

Acorns raining from the sky. Get your umbrella!

I dreamed acorns fell from the sky like raindrops.  You could hear them hit the ground:  ping, ping, ping

The rain of acorns paused.  You knew you must be dreaming.  But then it started again:  Ping, ping, ping!

It was raining acorns.  Just outside the bedroom window.

Acorns on the earth

They rain from the oak tree on certain years in these hot August days.  You don’t want to walk unprepared beneath the leafy branches of the massive tree.  You may want a hard hat.  Or an umbrella. 

You may fall asleep to the gentle sounds of acorns falling.  You may.  You may even dream of cracking open the nuts and grinding the inner meal into flour.  You may dream of acorn pancakes.

Once, a few years ago, I visited a local restaurant.  On the chalkboard outside was advertised:  Acorn Muffin!  I salivated.  I expressed ecstasy.  Someone was selling an acorn muffin!

It wasn’t until we sat down to order that I realized…sadly…that the sign advertised “A corn muffin”.  It was a sad dinner.  OK, not really.  We laughed ’til we cried.  I laughed ’til I cried.  Who else would have thought the restaurant was advertising acorn muffins?  I want to try one of these muffins before leaving this earth. 

Seunghye in a giant sequoia tree. California, USA.

I have been thinking fondly of trees.  Oak trees with their nuts of acorn.  Poplar, maple, spruce.  Walnut (of which we don’t really have growing in this norther clime.)  Ash, pine, cherry. 

Thinking about how trees assist the earth; help the environment.

“A tree makes oxygen, sequesters carbon, fixes nitrogen, distills water, provides habitat for hundreds of species, accrues solar energy, makes complex sugars and food, creates microclimates and self-replicates.” The 11th Hour via the blog Environmental Thinker.

Think of the gifts trees give us on this planet.  We are so lucky to live here in the woods, amidst the tall poplars and maple and oaks.  We are so lucky to know that they clean the air of pollutants, that they give in ways that benefit mankind so profusely.

Our son, Christopher, and his girlfriend, Seunghye, visited Sequoia National Forest last weekend.  Can you believe the size of these sequoia trees?  Can you imagine standing so small and insignificant in the ancient elders? 

Can you believe this massive tree grew from a seed cones not much larger than the size of an acorn?

Large things can grow from the smallest seeds.  You can dream it rained acorns…and witness the most amazing new life sprout from the soil of your dreams.  Just wait and see.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to I dreamed it rained acorns

  1. Emma says:

    I want to try making acorn flour once. It can definitely be done, but it’s labor intensive. A friend of mine has done it!

    I looooooooooove acorns. I would have gone into excited fits thinking it was an acorn muffin, too! Heehee! 🙂

    I love your acorn photos!

  2. Kathy Vilim says:

    Enjoyed your post. I am always thinking fondly of trees, so glad you are too. I am in SoCal, so no Giant Sequoias, but we do have native oak trees & walnut trees here in the Santa Monica Mtns. I enjoy watching the squirrels make their way thru the walnut trees that form a canopy through my yard. Maybe I will dream of squirrels in the morning fog…

  3. jeffstroud says:

    Hey must be a day about trees, I was just reading a note on facebook from Sylvia, http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=419427108506&comments&ref=notif&notif_t=note_reply

    It truly is a wondrous thing a tree! a few weeks ago Laurie had a blog about trees too.

    So very nice thoughts here Kathy!

    Jeff

  4. Sylvia N says:

    Hi, Kathy – I think the trees are calling out in the ether: http://www.facebook.com/sniedner#!/note.php?note_id=419427108506 – my Facebook note about trees as teachers and partners …
    and Elaine Clayton’s beautiful Illuminara sketch: http://www.illuminara.com/?p=1661 both within the last 24 hours.

    here’s to abundant trees –

    Sylvia

  5. Susan Derozier says:

    I love your posts and connection with trees. I used to love to close my eyes on windy days and listen to the different sounds of it blowing through the trees. I came to hear the difference on how it caressed the white pines versus the poplars and other trees. Fascinating how like us trees really are (or are we like them?). One loses a limb, mourns for a time and then sprouts another. We suffer our losses and in time learn to replace them with other signs of life. Thank you for your beautiful pictures and postings!

  6. Jessica says:

    Very nice post, Kathy. I clicked over on your subject line to tell you that I dreamed it was day, then suddenly it was dark and they were calling it a lunar eclipse, AND there were shadow-puppet style silhouettes of old time ships on the horizon. Well, then I read your post and understood it wouldn’t be necessary to tell you all that because you either have kamikaze squirrels or your tree is loosing its grip on its seeds all at once due to a gentle breeze or strong wind.

  7. Val Erde says:

    Lovely post. And that hollow tree (if I’m looking at the photo correctly).

    We grow from the tiniest of seeds too.
    🙂

  8. Oh Kathy – I love this post. I love trees! They are my favorite thing on this planet. I wrote an article about trees that’s on page 4 of the current edition of Evolving Your Spirit magazine. Here’s a link, I hope you enjoy it! http://www.evolvingyourspirit.com/

  9. Susan D. says:

    I tried, I really did – made a commitment to be quieter this month – no bawdy belly laughing at your posts. Perhaps a subtle smile, a lady-like chuckle now and then … an attempt go beneath the laughter.

    I lasted 3 days. Saw the first picture and burst out laughing. Something so whimsical and utterly silly about the raining acorns. I swear each one of them has a face and a personal expression. They’re all mugging for the camera. What a fantastic shot!

    Then, that ridiculous old disco song sprang into my warped mind: It’s Raining Men. Started seeing little yellow raincoats on the acorns – all of them morphing into little fellows raining down. (I know my brain is fried from the recent heat).

    Next came the “A Corn Muffin” …. which is so “you” … more belly laughing.
    Priceless!

    Was able to relax and compose myself for the rest of your offering – got lost in the lovely descriptions of trees, relishing the sense of them and all that they give us … as do you, Dear Lady Acorn.

    • Cindy Lou says:

      Susan, Susan – you wouldn’t be you if you didn’t erupt into laughter! Your joy always makes me smile! 🙂

      Trees are fascinating creatures, aren’t they? I love the connectedness of trees and their part in our ‘circle’ of life….

  10. Carol says:

    No acorns here, sadly. We have pine trees, fir trees, spruce trees. Cones of various sizes, but no acorns. There are lots of aspen and cottonwood trees around, but there were none on our property until we planted some. I’ve also planted poplar, crabapple, birch, maple, hawthorne, apple, cherry, peach, plum and pear trees.

  11. LagarLika says:

    My father planted about 20 years ago two trees in the front yard of the hause I grew up. The name in spanish is “Saman”, I don’t know the mame in english. This are big trees with long and strong branches that look like umbrellas. But the rooths are long two. Since they were planted too close to the hause my mother told my dad it was not a good idea, they could damage the hause. He said “By the time that happens I probably be dead, so it would be not my problem!” Sadly, he was right… But he enjoyed the freshness and shadow they gave to his hause. The trees are still standing and we love them and managed to fix them so they don’t damage the hause as long as it is possible.
    Your post always bring me good memories! 🙂

  12. Celeste says:

    Your post reminds me of my former home, surrounded by hickory trees. When those nuts would drop, watch out! They sounded like gunshots hitting the deck. I would wait for the breeze to stop before venturing outside, doing my best to avoid the golfball-sized missiles. You made me smile. And, I would drive to the UP for an acorn muffin.

  13. Kel says:

    oh i would have been excited about an acorn muffin too
    perhaps they’re called squirrell cakes 🙂

  14. Such a bounty trees give us. I am looking very forward to this fall. Thinking the colors will be as intense as they were two years ago. To again be blessed with the trees annual goodbye as they prepare for the winter months.

    Okay..it is still summer and I will enjoy the cool shade the trees provide us.

    Kathy, you do have a way with a blog title. 😀 I hope you find an Acorn muffin someday.

  15. Dawn says:

    Trees are some of my favorite things. Almost sacred. I always figure they were here long before me. I have to leave home when we have one that has to be cut down. My mother was the same way.

  16. Tammy McLeod says:

    Love your photos and laughed out loud at your acorn muffins! That is totally something that I would’ve been excited about!

  17. Barbara says:

    Oh Kathy, seeing Seunghye in the giant sequoia tree amazed me! Maybe someday I’ll see one in person. Trees have such strong and protective energy, what an experience that must have been to be so close to such a magnificent, majestic one. Love the acorn muffin story! Still laughing… and wondering what an acorn muffin would taste like…

  18. Kathy says:

    This was so delightful…I thrilled to hear all your stories about trees and acorns and acorn muffins (acorn muffins not CORN muffins, LOL!), squirrels, walnuts, other tree blogs, wind, tree limbs, lunar eclipses, seeds, metaphors, synchronicities, fantastic published articles about trees, laughter, Raining Men, circles of life, apple trees, hawthornes, plums oh-my-goodness!, umbrella branches, trees living longer than humans, shadows, hickory gunshots!, squirrell cakes–ha ha!–shade, leaves changing colors, sacredness, death, fellow acorn muffin desirees, and Seunghye in the giant sequoia, majesty. Oh my we’ve covered it all! Our descriptions are like the leaves and roots and branches of the trees sharing with the world…. Thank you, All!

  19. Jessica says:

    Nice follow-up Kathy! I think it is wonderful to reply to everyone who posted in this way, AND it saves you time! I could really use one of those “A corn muffins” right now. Or maybe some bullrush bread.

  20. Jeannie says:

    Trees are such amazing be~ings, those giant Sequoias are breathtaking! I love to walk around the Indian kitchens and imagine women grinding acorns in the rocks…fresh acorns for dinner.

    Love & Huggs Natural Beauty, Jeannie

  21. Pingback: “Hey, Lady, you lost your peach!” « Lake Superior Spirit

  22. Kathy says:

    Jessica, I am glad you liked that follow-up! It was a fun inspiration to do it like that. But WHAT is bullrush bread?, she asked with interest.

    Jeannie, sweetie, I so loved watching that video. It is so inspirational and healing. Thank you for sharing with all of us! (Imagining those women grinding acorns, too…)

  23. Jessica says:

    I just made that up. I think “Bullrush” is another word for “cattail” and I know that Native Americans took the down from the cattails and ground it into a flour to make into some form of bread. See my grade school report about edible plants. http://liveonpurpose.info/edibleplants.shtml (sheesh, what a geek I am! Scanning in grade school reports and posting them online…)

    • flandrumhill says:

      Jessica, yes bullrush IS another word for cattail! I’ve heard of flour made from them too. It boggles the mind how much knowledge is being lost. The world needs more geeks uploading their insightful grade school reports to ensure that future generations don’t miss out!

      Kathy, I love acorns and oak trees. There are so few of them around here. Wonderful post.

  24. Kathy says:

    Jessica, grade-school reports are the best! Look how much we all learn.

  25. Jessica says:

    Thanks flandrumhill and Kathy. I grew up under the shade of an oak tree and I got to know the squirrels very well (there were 2 albino squirrels on my block and one all black one; the rest were grey). I took oak trees for granted, and I realize now that not all of us on this planet have them around, they should be regarded as special.

  26. Amy says:

    I would’ve been excited, too, about an acorn muffin! Darn corn muffins! Every autumn I say I’m going to make acorn flour. Perhaps I should this time around, huh? (:

    • Kathy says:

      OK, Amy, let’s make a deal. You grind up the acorn flour and I’ll even PAY you for it! How does that sound? Like a good deal? 🙂

  27. Jessica says:

    I have often wondered about eating acorns and this post made me determined to learn more. When I actually get settled in our new home I am going to have to try making acorn meal. A quick Google search rendered some interesting and educational material. Thanks!

    • Kathy says:

      Jessica, it’s so good to see you again! Please do try this…and let me know how it turns out. Perhaps you’ll inspire me to try it as well. Then we won’t have to depend on some amazing restaurant to make them.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

