The first day of our trip to Duluth: the murals in Ashland, Wisconsin

Murals painted on buildings in Ashland

Overlooking the bay in Ashland, Wisconsin

Dear reader,  I have no time to fill you in on the details of the trip right now!  We’re scurrying to reach our next adventure in the Duluth Harbor.  Followed by dinner and a movie (YES! I’ve convinced Barry to watch “Eat, Pray, Love”.)

Suffice it to say, we are having fun.  I did upload all of these photos from our Ashland, Wisconsin, adventure yesterday afternoon.  Anyone ever visited Ashland?  It’s a quaint little town along the top of Wisconsin.  One of their “claims to fame” is the mural walk. 

Here is what they say about the murals:

The Ashland Murals are a collection of seven murals painted by Kelly Meredith and Susan Prentice Martinsen between 1998 and 2005, depicting historical scenes from Ashland, Wisconsin. The murals include scenes of lighthouse keepers, lumberjacks, early grocers and pioneers who settled the region during the booming ore trade. One of the most amazing murals stretches half a city block and portrays sailors, soldiers, airmen and marines from different eras.

At the Hotel Chequamegon where we stopped briefly to sit on the deck

Lumberjack mural

Perhaps the lumberjack's wife?

The Storefront mural from days gone by.

Scenes on a mural

The murals are incredible I'm telling you!

Another time

Lady and gent

Interesting old building...windows looked blue in the sun

And then...we approach Duluth...

We really must go now if we want to tour a Great Lakes freighter.  (We’ve already toured the railroad museum and–oh–done lots of other things as well.)

Until later!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The first day of our trip to Duluth: the murals in Ashland, Wisconsin

  1. Dawn says:

    Looks fun! Have a great time. As if you wouldn’t! I want to see that movie, but I don’t think I’ll drive to Duluth…maybe just see it around here! LOL

  2. I’m lovin’ the photographs while you’re on your GRAND ADVENTURE with Barry.

    And you’re going to see the movie of one of my favorite books. I hope you’ll let us know your thoughts in your next post. If you’ve read the book, will you let us know if it’s as good as the book please?

  3. Elisa says:

    oooooooooooo Michael Pilato does murals here in my town and also in State College Pa. The completed murals are on the page or documentary someplace!!!

  4. Carol says:

    Love the photos of the murals! A couple of years ago we visited Cottage Grove, Oregon, to see the murals and the covered bridges. Maybe someday I’ll post some pictures.
    I saw “Eat,Pray,Love” yesterday and really enjoyed it. It’s a nice movie.

  5. Thanks for sharing your steps!

    Its great to see things from another perspective.

    As for the movie, let us know if it is a good one…I have not been able to talk hubby into it. Maybe I will have to find a girlfriend to go.

    I am. Waiting with baited breathe if you get a picture of my very favorite lighthous!!!????

    Kim

  6. jeffstroud says:

    Oh fun! Thank you for sharing your journey!

  7. bearyweather says:

    Welcome to my part of the world …. I love Duluth, but the North Shore is even better … probably a lot like your shores of Lake Superior.

  8. my hats off to Barry for agreeing to see EAT PRAY LOVE with you Kathy… did he count how many men there were in the theatre? We have small groups of women migrating together off Mayne Island to the small town of Sidney see this film. I read and really enjoyed the book and so I think I am just going to wait until it comes out on video.

    Sounds like you are having much fun and I look forward to your next installment!

  9. Cindy Lou says:

    All kinds of fun! Can’t wait to hear how the movie was – it was one of my favoritist books. What are we gonna do tomorrow, Mom? Huh? Huh? Can we go now? 🙂

  10. Artswebshow says:

    These murals are fantastic

  11. Kathy says:

    Hi guys! I’m home now…thank you for so kindly stopping by and admiring the murals. OK, here’s the scoop about Eat, Pray, Love. I basically liked the book better than the movie BUT (and it’s a big BUT) I loved the scenes in Rome and India and Bali. Somehow my imagination didn’t make the places as beautiful as they really are. The movie kind of leapt backwards and forwards a bit too much…but that was probably because I already knew the background after reading the book.

    Here’s the funny part: Barry said it was the BEST movie he’s seen all year!! Can you believe that? OK, it’s the ONLY movie he’s seen all year. There were about 40 women in the theatre and maybe six men. I’m lucky he’s so agreeable about these kind of things. And he’s lucky I am agreeable about train and freighter museums. 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

