It’s all going to the frogs…

Ribbit.

Nancy called a couple of weeks ago. 

“You’ve got to stop by the house with your camera.  You have to see the frogs in my pond.  And there is this most gorgeous red flower with the frogs all around it.  You must stop!”

Frog friends

So I stopped on my way home from work.  Looked at the gorgeous red flower.  (Not the one pictured below. If you want to see the beauty, click on over to my other blog, scroll down to the end,  and behold.)

However, no frogs.

What, Nancy?  Whatcha talkin’ about?  Frogs? 

Sure…

The pond where the frogs live.

This morning I had to stop by Nancy’s again.  This time, when we wandered together out by her gardens and pond, guess who sunned themselves on the lily pods?

You got it.   The missing frogs.  Lots of ’em.  Seven?  Eight?  A dozen?

Suffice it to say, we were in Frog Heaven.

Frog heaven.

After our close encounter of the frog kind, we toured her flower gardens.  Met her scarecrow watching over the corn.  The photos are pouting over in the “Pictures” folder, feeling jilted in favor of the amphibians.

Getting ready to leap. Frog. Leap-frog.

This afternoon I pretended I was a frog, too.  Looked at the thermometer.  Kathy, it’s 82 degrees.  What should you be doing this afternoon?

You know the answer to this, don’t you?

All good frogs should be swimming!

So I drove over to Second Sand Beach and dove in.  Leap-frogged in the crashing waves.  The water was stunningly warm!  Stunningly unlike Lake Superior’s usual frigid freeze-your-body-into-numbness.  Last summer I cowered waist-deep and could not, could not, could not, force myself to dive in.

Not today! 

Hopefully you other frogs will follow suit.  Get off your lily pads and find yourself a lake, pool or ocean.

Ready, set, LEAP!!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to It’s all going to the frogs…

  1. Kathy – Your frog post makes me want to do the Nestea plunge into a nice refreshing pool. The photographs are great — I especially like the last gentleman — you caught him showing off his beautiful “coat” and it a dandy!

    • Kathy says:

      Ahhhh, the Nesttea plunge! Yes! So refreshing… that last gentleman thanks you, I am sure. Can’t you almost here his pleased “ribbit” through the Internet?

  2. Oh my they are wonderful! Just look at them… I am not going swimming except vicariously through your blog Kathy. It is time for me to make sure I have all my new new paintings and photograph prints properly cataloged and recorded. I hoping some of them may find new homes after the exhibition in Sept. I dread this part of being an artist and a photographer but it must be done. Thank you for the wonderful distraction. Terrill

    • Kathy says:

      Hoping so much, Terrill, that your beautiful new paintings find homes where people truly admire them. Can’t wait to hear how the exhibition goes! Glad to be a happy distraction during your afternoon.

  3. janet9195 says:

    I love frogs. I don’t know why exactly. I love the sounds they make; I like to see them swimming under the water. I know they eat bugs, which I totally approve of.

    Hamster

    • Kathy says:

      Aren’t they wonderful creatures? I, too, approve of their bug-eating capacities. Especially mosquitoes. I hope they eat a LOT of mosquitoes. Thanks for stopping by to enjoy the frogs!

  4. quietpaths says:

    A good sign of a healthy environment! Frogs are like the canaries of the water…great shots.

  5. My favorite one is the Leap Frog!!

    Awesome…

    Kim

  6. Martha Bergin says:

    What cute frogs! 🙂

  7. Carol says:

    We used to have frogs in our pond, and toads hopping about in the flower beds – the past couple of years, none. Have no idea why. But I’ll not go swimming or wading until maybe tomorrow. It was 38 here this a.m., 81 as a high. Tomorrow and the next day, it’s to be in the 90s. So maybe the girls and I will go wading in the river tomorrow.

    • Kathy says:

      I wonder where your frogs disappeared, Carol…. hmmm….that’s always a puzzlement. The frogs disappeared in our cattail pond, too, but that’s because the water mostly disappeared. Hopefully you enjoyed wading in the river today!

  8. Kim says:

    Great photos! We see a lot of frogs in our house because it rains so much where we are, and it’s not always the most pleasant surprise, trust me. But your frogs look friendly 😉
    Kim
    http://photo-salsa.com

    • Kathy says:

      Smiling, Kim. They aren’t always the most pleasant surprise? I just leaned down to photograph one of those bright green fellas tonight and it LEAPED in the water and I yelped quite loudly. Is that what you mean?

  9. Susan D. says:

    What a wonderful, fun post! Frogs are just the best. Your pictures capture them and their froggy personalities so well. Thanks for sharing these delightful fellows and gals. Frogs Forever!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Susan! Gosh, didn’t we have a fun lunch together today and didn’t we talk, talk, talk? Even the frogs couldn’t talk as much as we did, lol! You should come to book club. Then you, too, can commune with the froggies. Let me know if you want to meet at the Access Site.

  10. milkfever says:

    Oh, what absolutely gorgeous photos. Those guys are so cute. I have a few frogs around my garden but not so big.
    The sound they make is heavenly, isn’t it?

  11. Cindy Lou says:

    Fun frogs! And your swim @ Second Sand sounds wondermous – isn’t Miss Superior great this year? 🙂

  12. Jessica says:

    Frogs are so darn cute. I kicked one out of the pool at the house we are buying yesterday. I am trying to discourage them as much as possible before we start pumping chemicals in it to clean it up. Thanks for all the froggy photos today 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, Jessica, I suppose there are times when we must definitely discourage the little creatures from making a pool into their own little frog pond. So you have a pool? How cool! That will be a treat. I must hop over to your blog and see if you have posted any pictures of it.

  13. Saw a tan frog hopping in my grass today, 1 inch long. The cutest thing.

    • Kathy says:

      A tan frog, Carla? I think that would be the most lovely sight. I remember my first pet tiny frog. I was nine years old and named it “Mischief.” Funny, the things we remember.

  14. K Odell says:

    It’s too hot here to even leave the house to find somewhere to swim. Did you kiss any of them?

    • Kathy says:

      Oh yes, K. I kissed all seven of them. And you wouldn’t believe the princes that have appeared today!!! Oh my goodness. It’s been astounding. LOL!

  15. Susan Hockings told me about your blog and I was curious to see why she was raving about it and sure enough I found myself mesmerized by the gorgeous photos – I particularly enjoyed “Frog Heaven.” Hoohoo – it was cute.

    What camera do you use? The photos are gorgeous! I’m in the market for a new one.

    I also liked the photo you had of someone sitting by the campfire in one of the earlier posts. Gorgeous!

    • Kathy says:

      Hello, Stephen! Nice to meet you…I am glad you stopped by the blog and met the frog(s). LOL!

      All I use for a camera is a little Sony CyberShot 12.1 megapixels. Some day I hope to have a better one, but this one is good for now.

      So happy to hear that you & Susan are friends. (She recommended that we friend one another on Facebook…hope we connect there too!)

  16. Macy Eady says:

    Love this! Was looking for a photo of where a frog lives and google brought me to your blog. I stold a photo for the young kids I teach art to, so it will be use in a very productive way. Reminds me of the days I lived in Ashland, Wisc.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

