Lazy hazy picnic at the beach

Lazy hazy beach evening

We just returned home from a quiet picnic on the beach.  

We planned this after yesterday’s swim.  As many of you may know, I’ve vowed to go swimming every day in August that the temperature hits 80 degrees.  It was something like 94 degrees today.  I can’t tell you exactly because I only squinted, frowning, at the thermometer.  Hot.  Very hot. 

And I have a headache.  It’s probably a caffeine withdrawal headache, as I’m cutting back on coffee and black tea.  Even took a Tylenol this afternoon, something I rarely do.  It hasn’t worked too well, darn it. 

 After Barry (my non-beach guy) got home from work, we packed a cooler and headed to the lake.  Here’s our impromptu menu:  salmon sandwiches with cucumber and red onion slices and Aioli (a garlic mayo) on thin buns.  We mixed up a can of lemonade and poured it in used glass tea containers. 

Ready to go?  Yep, we were.  Add in bathing suits and towels and a couple of lawn chairs and Ms. Camera and off we drove. 

 We lingered for about an hour.  I swam.  Hubby said he was going to swim, but declined at the last minute.  It was just too comfortable on those lawn chairs.  We watched all the young moms and dads and kids playing in the sand and water.  Compared to yesterday, the beach seemed almost deserted.  Yesterday half the county splashed in the waves to cool down. 

It’s cooled down back here at home.  I have Ms. Ellie, the laptop computer, out here on the deck.  It’s now shady and feels soft and sultry, like a most beautiful late August evening.  Looks like it will be over 80 degrees tomorrow, so there is only one more obligatory swim remaining in the vow. 

By the way–stay tuned tomorrow!  I have a blogging surprise for you.  I’ll bet you can’t guess.  Something is going to happen in this blog that has never happened before.  Ponder that one!  🙂

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Lazy hazy picnic at the beach

  1. Dawn says:

    Warm here too..but I’m not complaining. I don’t want this summer to end! Think Katie the dog and I will be camping out tonight.

    Can’t wait for tomorrow’s surprise!

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, I hope you and Katie enjoy the evening. I wish for you: No mosquitos. No bats in your tent. Cool breezes… (and maybe evening a midnight snack or two.)

  2. K Odell says:

    The sandwiches sounded nummy! I love those little flat bread rounds

  3. elisa says:

    oooooooo a ponder!

  4. Kathy – Your picnic dinner sounds DELICIOUS! And your weather sounds like perfect be-at-the-lake weather!

    We may (may not) get a storm this evening, but they’ve practically guaranteed one for tomorrow, wrapped up pretty and handed to us with a ribbon on top. That will be nice for cooling off, and growing bigger mosquitoes for our bat friends.

    • Kathy says:

      Thinkin’ we might be getting that storm later on today…the cool front is approaching from the west. Still sultry this morning. I’ve been for a walk down to the bay and soon headed off to town for yoga. A swim on the way back? Maybe…we’ll see.

  5. Another day tommorow at the beach?? Bats?? Bugs?? Blueberries?? HommmmmI am guessing……can’t wait.

    Tell Laurie to stay inside….it would be safer, especailly with a storm tomorrow……LOL

  6. Marianne says:

    A trip to the beach sounds like a fantastic idea after spending the day helping my son clean his apartment for move day tomorrow. The temps hit 33 Celcius (91 Farenheit). Weather guy said feels like 41 or 105 Farenheit. I don’t know how they get this feels like stuff. I haven’t checked into it yet. Does your weather guy/gal tell you what the temperature feels like?

    • Kathy says:

      Marianne, is today move day for your son? Hope you both survive the hot temps. Our weather guy USED to tell us what the temperature feels like…we haven’t been able to get TV for over a year now. Silly government changes. But that’s OK! Our son said it was 112 near Los Angeles last week. YIKES! (Don’t know what that translates to celcius, except it’s HOT.)

  7. barb says:

    I went cold turkey on coffee last Friday. I’d like to substitute green tea, but why does it taste so much like grass? I want to know what the surprise is…Tell us! Tell us! Tell us!

    • Kathy says:

      Cold turkey, barb? You are brave! Have you tried jasmine green tea? It is really good. I don’t like plain gree tea either. But you must wait for the surprise. Just a few hours. It’s good for us to develop patience, lol!

  8. Carol says:

    Wait! They’ve decided cofffee is good for us now. No need to cut back or eliminate it. Unless you’re really into self-flagellation.

    We have no beach, no matter, it was 62 and raining here today, with a freeze warning for tonight.

    Oooooo. I love and hate surprises. I always want to know NOW. Waiting is a talent I’ve never developed.

    • Kathy says:

      Carol, I have heard that fact about coffee. I have believed that fact. I have wanted to believe that fact. With all my heart.

      However, my body tells me something different. It hurts when I drink much caffeinne at all. Odd, huh? I think drinking coffee is some kind of self-flagellation for my body, darn it. My mind loves it, though! Instead of completely going off caffeine, I am going to try to see if my beloved jasmine tea causes any pain. If it doesn’t…will try that.

      Sorry to tease you guys about the surprise! I know what you mean. I am hoping to develop patience one of these days. Patienty waiting for it to develop. tee hee…

  9. Karma says:

    You know, I think I must have misunderstood the original vow – I thought you meant that the temperature of the water hit 80 degrees! You meant the air temperature, right? That makes much more sense as I can’t imagine a body of water as large and as far north as the Great Lakes reaching 80 degrees!

  10. flandrumhill says:

    Kathy you have to drink more water. Especially if you’re active and out in the sun. One of the worst headaches I ever had was one hot sunny day when I decided to both cut back on coffee AND mow the lawn.

    • Kathy says:

      Amy-Lynn, today I cut off coffee completely and have suffered from a terrible headache all day. But I keep drinking water and herbal tea after reading your advice. I think it’s finally subsiding…hopefully.

  11. quietpaths says:

    How perfect can you get? Love the lunch items and hey, we have the same cooler! I bought it ages ago….

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

