A blog which babbles more than a babbling brook

I have at least three really good ideas ramblin’ through this brain about possible blogs to write.

But, heck, forget it!  I am gonna babble.

A babbling brook...no! More than a babbling brook. A waterfall!

Haven’t done a babbling brook blog in a while, have I?  (Please!  Do not smartly respond that all my blogs babble like brooks in the woods!)

Going to simply reveal random facts.  What’s on the mind.  Whazz happenin’.

1.  My outdoor blog is biting the dust.  (When did I become so addicted to clichés?  Note to self:  stop it, now!)  Last year’s 365 day commitment was getting–I kid you not–between 200 and 300 hits a day since its abrupt ending last December.   I would complain darkly to Barry, “How come the outdoor blog gets more hits than this blog, and nobody is even WRITING anything?”  But, suddenly, unexpectedly, eight months to the day after the commitment ended, the blog hits plummeted.  Here’s my theory:  they keep you on the search engine hits for a while after a blog closes.  Then, eight months later, they decide you’re obsolete.  That must be it. 

Wild asters by the bay

2)  Summer is ending.  School is starting next Tuesday.  It’s raining cats & dogs today.  (Didn’t you get that note to self?  Stop it NOW on the clichés, Kathy!)

3)  Tis now the Labor Day weekend holiday.  Any of you readers doing anything exciting?  Going north?  Going south?  Staying at home and enjoying the last of summer’s goodwill?  Scurrying inland from the effects of Mr. Hurricane Earl?

4)  We are going to a party on Sunday.  It’s a swim-across-the-lake party.  I dunno about swimming across the lake.  Some of us opt for a walk to a nearby bridge instead.  My girlfriend has already said, “Oh good, you’re going to the party!  Let’s do our walk to the bridge.”  Guess that’s where I’ll be going…having done enough swimming this year already.

5)  You guys wouldn’t believe it!  Two trees just crashed to the ground in the high wind.  Darn that wind.  Darn that tree-murdering wind.  I can’t locate the fallen trees, but heard them crash like thunder.  Should type faster in case any trees decide to topple on electrical wires.  Typing like lightning now!

One of our beautiful birch trees...

6)  Going to make something called Cowboy Caviar for the party.  Any of you heard of that?  But never you mind.  That may be tomorrow’s blog.  What the Cowboys Eat. 

7)  Is there anything more to say?  Let me pause and consider. 

8)  No, nothing imminent approaches.  Therefore, let me wish you all a HAPPY LABOR DAY weekend.  Relax, rest, rejuvenate as the last days of summer…

9)  Oh no!  The power went out!  Didn’t type fast enough, apparently.  But I have returned to you as surely as the power hath returned.  (Oh, very odd synchronicity!  As I typed the word “surely” the telephone rang.  It was a taxpayer named Shirley coming to pay her taxes.) 

10)  And that’s all folks!  Sorry for the babbling blog.  It’s the 202nd blog of Lake Superior Spirit.  Hope you all have your electrical power and holiday spirit.

11)  Until tomorrow!

12)  Love, Kathy

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to A blog which babbles more than a babbling brook

  1. barb says:

    Oh, my.. My head is spinning and I have tongue in cheek (note to self!). I will not be doing any swimming either this weekend, Kathy – I’m in Denver. However, I may (or may not) walk to a bridge. I look forward to the recipe for Cowboy Caviar since I live in the West and cannot afford the real thing.

  2. Kathy says:

    Hi Barb…sorry to have made your head swim! Guess what? The trees are crashing down everywhere around here–at least three trees–and the power keeps going out. They have gale warnings out on Lake Superior and possible waves of 20-25 feet. Can you imagine??

  3. Karma says:

    This far inland I believe we will be spared the worst of Earl, but no big plans here. Going to shop for an interview outfit – would love to have some hopeful vibes sent my way on Wednesday morning (intereview day!)as a job that I covet (classroom social studies teacher) at my school has unexpectedly opened up.
    I love your perspective in the first picture and the light in the wild asters shot is gorgeous!

    • Kathy says:

      Sending hopeful vibes your way, Karma! I do hope you get that job. Oh how exciting that the opportunity has opened up! Please let us know how it goes… Crossing fingers & adding prayers!

  4. Gerry says:

    (1) Waterfalls are one of the nicest things about the UP.
    (2) In this household Cowboys eat kibble and bananas, NOT caviar. Please do not give him any ideas.
    (3) On Labor Day I labor not. I will hide from the Civil War veterans and read something that is Not About Them. Maybe I will hide from them by walking across the Mackinac Bridge, but probably not.

    • Karma says:

      The Cowboy eats bananas? How unusual! I’ve never met a dog that actually eats banana, rather than just mushing it around in its mouth for a bit and then leaving the lovely mess on the floor for the humans of the house.

      • Kathy says:

        Gerry, I don’t know if you want to let Cowboy read today’s post. Please try to keep him from the computer. Hey, have you ever walked across the Mackinac Bridge? I never have, but perhaps someday that would be a good thing. Something to share with the grandchildren perhaps…

      • Colleen Lloyd says:

        Our daughter-in-law’s Big Dog Umber (doberman) used to love bananas. Unfortunately they had a “room emptying” effect on his digestive system. He was only allowed to eat them as a special treat when they were all going to be spending a LONG time outside in the fresh air!!

  5. Kathy – You were typing so fast that MY keys we’re smokin’ as I read your blog. Now that’s fast!

    We’re gonna bicycle ride each morning, rain or shine, and then I’ve got two article deadlines and one piece of curriculum that I’m going to write. Len (a closet home brewer) is gonna fire up the still and brew another five gallons. He’s making Scottish Ale this time.

    • Kathy says:

      I’ll be your eyes did blur, Laurie. Will you bicycle 58 miles? Or however far you bicycled that famed day a week or two ago? Wow, you are supplying some intimate information in this comment. Len is a closet brewer! Wow…I know some people who would love to drive on down for some of that Scottish Ale!

  6. Carol says:

    Babbling is good. Babbling is fun. Preserve babbling, whether it be a brook or a blogger! Love the photos!

    I can’t seem to get to my website right now, so there may be no post tonight. I’ve been thinking of going to posting Sunday through Thursday anyway, since I post in the late afternoon/evening. This may be a deciding factor. If I do, it will probably also be a babble.

    No plans here for Labor Day. We tend to lay low on holidays. Enjoy yours!

    • Kathy says:

      Preserve babbling! I am laughing, Carol. We shall have to preserve it, indeed. Sorry you couldn’t get to your website last night. Probably should go over and see if you were able to post. Your Sunday-Thursday schedule sounds good. I am always thinking I should aim for every other day. But then a fierce desire to share arises and my original intent dissolves. Alas.

  7. Colleen Lloyd says:

    Surely and Shirley! Kathy, your life is so full of ALL kinds of interesting events and possibilities. I just love it!
    Not so long ago I watched a program about Lake Superior surfers. Looked like a very hearty breed of individuals. They must be loving your 25 foot waves! I love storm watching….the wind and the waves crashing in. A bit strange, coming from someone who grew up on the prairies.
    Looking forward to seeing and reading about Cowboy Caviar. My Dad, as a very young fellow (before the war) was a true, real life cowboy. One of his first jobs was driving the chuckwagon and cooking for all of the hungry cowboys on the cattle drives.
    Wishing you amost wonderful and relaxing weekend 🙂 Hope the wind dies down soon and not too many more trees come crashing down!

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, wasn’t that surely interesting? I love synchronicity! I hope you like the Cowboy Caviar post. Laughed so hard writing it…it’s a wonder I can still type. (The wind has died down, but it’s still blowing in the tops of those trees.) So interesting about your Dad’s story. That was the end of an era…

  8. Dawn says:

    Love birch trees, we have some too…miss the waterfalls…our asters haven’t started blooming yet but will shortly. Babbling is an art…more of us should try it. You never know what might come to light!

    Personally I’d swim across the lake, just because you usually walk to the bridge….but that’s just me.

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, I can just picture you as one of the swimmers-across-the-lake. Or you would be running around the lake! I truly admire people who can do that… I am surprised that asters haven’t bloomed yet downstate. Hopefully they will soon so you can enjoy them.

  9. patty sue says:

    Love your babb..bling blog. Sorry about your trees, strong winds and electrical ups and downs!!! I’m home this 3-day weekend – after starting back to work this past week. I will love my peace, quiet and solitude. I have some updates to share with you! mm-hmmm! 😉 love you darlin’!

    • Kathy says:

      Hey there Ms. Patty Sue! You have got my curiousity a-rising! What, what, what, do tell! I am going to message you right now to hear about the updates! Enjoy your three day weekend before the busy-ness starts again on Tuesday!

  10. Dawn says:

    Hi – Happy weekend! I’ve heard of (and eaten Texas Caviar) black beans and other treats??? Yum.

    Such a pretty birch tree, I’m sitting outside right now watching the honey colored light on the tree trunks. Sunset through the trees can be so beautiful.

    Enjoy a wonderful few days ahead.

    • Kathy says:

      Hello, Dawn. You are one of those “in the know” people about Cowboy Caviar which, yes, is also known as Texas Caviar. Smiling thinking of you sitting there outside admiring the light on trees. Especially honey-colored light…the most beautiful.

  11. I love this! Not only is it a babbling post but it continues with all of your friends babbling away too!!! We have one of our plain every week kinda weekends happening here, and no Hurricane Earl. Not even any 25 foot waves. *yawn*

    Thank goodness I came here, to enjoy some babbling news. My part of the world seems very boring in comparison. Thank you for brightening my day. 🙂

    Have a fantastic Labour Day weekend y’all !

    • Kathy says:

      We’re all babbling brooks, Joanne! That is the best kind of brook, when all kinds of waters join together. **yawn** you’re funny! Wasn’t there an EARTHQUAKE in New Zealand? That’s almost your part of the world, isn’t it?

  12. Elisa's Spot says:

    I reserve visits to the outdoor blog for when I am feeling a certain way. At the moment I am not able to describe the feeling of a certain way. But, this does not diminish the need nor the feeling, in fact it allows it to flourish unimpeded by expectations. How simple is it, to write a simple blog? Did we figure that out yet?

    Smoochies and wet shoes on that trip to the bridge!!!
    elisa

    • Kathy says:

      Elisa, I full gave up on being able to write a simple blog. Simply gave up. I am incapable of it…except if “simple” means being true to ourselves, being authentic, being present with what’s arising. I have decided it gets complicated when we get lost in a swirl of thoughts and drown beneath that bridge. Trying to let the thoughts swirl without joining them. Would you like to walk with us too?

  13. bearyweather says:

    … a babbling reply …
    I have trees down, too … the wind has been powerful. Don’t want to complain, though … it blew the hot humid air away.
    I have two separate lives … Summer and School … my summer life is ending and it is a sad time. (blog post coming soon)
    Weekend will be spent preparing for school on Tuesday. Most teachers I know labor throughout the Labor Day weekend.

    Babbling rivers are relaxing and ease my soul … I could use one this weekend.

    • Kathy says:

      bearyweather, are you a teacher or a student? I’m assuming you are a teacher. In our little school, our two teachers have been preparing for the start of school for a while now. Wishing you a babbling river to ease your soul before school starts. Take off your shoes and just let the water wash all your cares away… See! They’re going down river now.

  14. Robin says:

    I’ve been wanting to come by and read this since I got the notification (I subscribe via email) because you have my nickname in your title. No, it’s not blog or babble. It’s Babbling Brook. An English (imaginary — internet — met her and had dinner with her and her family in England) friend gave me that nickname (and several other nicknames including Noisy because apparently she likes giving out nicknames).

    I’ve always been curious about birch trees. I think they are beautiful. But I noticed, when vacationing Up North in Wisconsin, that they fall. A lot. When I mentioned to my husband that we should plant birch trees (because I think they are beautiful), he reminded me of all the fallen birch trees that surrounded the area where we were camping and cabin-ing in Wisconsin. You’ve reminded me that I want to look them up. I don’t see many birches here in Ohio. Perhaps they are not native to this area (in which case, we won’t be planting them because we’ve been sticking with native plants when we plant).

    Now you know why my imaginary English friend calls me Noisy. Or Babbling Brook. 🙂

    I hope you’re having a wonder-filled and relaxing weekend.

  15. Kathy says:

    Robin–I mean Ms. Babbling Brook–how delightful! It’s fun to know things like this. This blog’s for you. I mean REALLY for you. 🙂

    Yes, the birch trees seem to fall a lot. I think they have been susceptible to disease in the last few years. We’ve seen many die. I do love them, though. They look so exquisite with their tendrils of bark and their natural stripes and lines and the way they glow in the sunlight.

    Hope your weekend has been wonder-filled too! Mine has been…

  16. Cindy Lou says:

    A bit late getting here but my weekend was quite lazy….enjoying the last few days before heading back to school. I’ve had two different kinds of cowboy caviar and like them both! How did yours turn out?

    • Kathy says:

      My turned out pretty good, thank you, Cindy. I’ll bet you did have a lazy hazy Labor Day weekend. We went to Carla’s Saturday night, but Carla said she only glimpsed you by the garbage dumpster. LOL! Darn, why do we always go to the restaurant when you’re no where to be found?

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

