“You have to eat sardines like crazy to get enough feet!”

Howard and his Tin Men

I visited my friend Doris last week.  We chatted around her kitchen table, drinking coffee and nibbling on homemade jelly roll (made with delicious strawberry jam).

Her husband, Howard, (remember his previous photo in this blog?  Click here if you don’t and scroll down to the last picture) wandered in briefly to join us for a few sips of coffee.

He’s been making Tin Men out of tin cans recently.  Or maybe he called them robots.  You can put them in your garden–maybe to scare away the creatures.  Or you can give them to the kids and grandkids.

I asked to photograph his creations.  He–thankfully–agreed.  I thought they were super cute; don’t you?

He asked us to save our cans for him.  Soup cans.  Cans of all sizes.  Look at all the different sizes of cans that you need to make one tin man!

He shook his head as we walked outside, “You have to eat sardines like crazy to get enough feet!”

I laughed.  Repeated that sentence six times trying to memorize it for the blog.  Probably couldn’t remember it exactly these three days later–but you get the gist. 

Poor Howard!  He’s probably having to eat sardines three times a day to complete the tin men by Christmas or whenever it’s time to give them new homes.

I asked if he wanted me to advertise them in the blog.  We could all buy our own tin man and support his sardine-eating challenges.

“No, no,” he said quickly, “That’s OK.  I don’t have enough time to make too many of them.”

Don’t you love it when folks have the skills and desire to create fun things like this?  Have any of you fashioned anything creative like this lately?

Aren't they cute fellows?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to “You have to eat sardines like crazy to get enough feet!”

  1. holessence says:

    Oh my gosh, they’re wonderful! Howard is very clever, indeed, to have thought of these fellows with their sardine-can feet and funnel top-nots! If I counted right, it looks like it takes 13 cans (varying in size) to create a single tin-man. What a great recycling idea!

  2. Elisa's Spot says:

    I LOVE IT IIIIIIIIIIIII LOVE IT!!!

  3. Dawn says:

    Howard’s tin men are glorious! I’d for sure put one in my garden if I lived nearby. They are very special, and so is he! Love his face.

  4. K Odell says:

    I’ll drink the beer for him- and eat canned foods, but sardines are yeck. I love this- I think crafts are an excellent way to sepnd time, and homemade gifts are the best

  5. barb says:

    Actually, I might start eating sardines – Howard is onto something. I’ve read they’re good for your bones. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if there was a Tin Man craze? Well, maybe that’s more stress than Howard wants…

  6. Carol says:

    I’d love to have one for my yard! The Hub eats sardines. And soup. But the other sizes? Oh yeah, we do used canned beans for various things.

    Great job, Howard! And Kathy too, for sharing this with us.

  7. Robin says:

    They are very cute fellows. One of those fellows would look good in my garden, especially when I get around to adding more stuff to make it look like a Scrounger’s Garden.

    I don’t think I’ve ever eaten a sardine. I’m not sure I could…

  8. Kiah says:

    These. are. fantastic.

  9. Marianne says:

    Very, very cute!! Howard is a handy guy!

  10. Martha Bergin says:

    How creative! 🙂

  11. sartenada says:

    These are great. I have never seen anything like them. I appreciate people who can create “new things”.

    Thank You presenting them.

  12. truels says:

    You must really give Howard a big hug from me and tell him, that I was SO impressed by his Tin Men out of tin cans. If I lived nearby I would ask him if I could drop byto see them soon…. And tell him about what I saw in Cuba four years ago: Lots of nice things made of cans and pieces of cans, right beside me here in my home in Denmark I’m looking at 2 nice toy-cars made of cans. If you like (and give me a mail-adress) I can mail a picture of them. I know, that such things are made by people many other places – in africa for example.

  13. Pingback: I Will Try Again Tomorrow « Grandeurvision's Blog

  14. Kathy says:

    I can’t wait until Doris and Howard get to see this (don’t think they are near a computer right now). I am sure he will delight in all of your comments. Thank you for all your kind comments! Glad you enjoyed the Tin Men & Howard.

  15. Cindy Lou says:

    Very cool! And I’m with Dawn….I love Howard’s face and think I even said that when you first introduced us to him! Such character….just like his Tin Men! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy Lou, both Howard and Doris are Great Folks. It’s fun to go visit them. I remember what you said about his face last time. I always love to go visit them and see what’s new out at their house.

  16. Gerry says:

    I’ve seen one of these! Sue Keena had it displayed in a tree in her garden over at the Torch Bay Inn. I’ll have to ask her where she got it. Very cool guy, the Tin Man, and very warm guy, that Howard.

  17. Kathy says:

    Doris, I am so glad that Howard loved the comments. Oh good, I was hoping you both would. Tell him we have one sardine can that Barry saved for him. 🙂

  18. Val Erde says:

    These are so cute!
    🙂
    (I wonder what he could make with oinky meatbot cans…)

  19. Kathy says:

    Glad to learn another term…haven’t tasted Spam since I was a kid. Don’t remember the taste fondly, although I think I liked it back in those days. Along with vienna sausages, of all things. Howard probably could use all the cans!

  20. Elisa's Spot says:

    Kathy? Someone at another place posted a tinman too! She just asked me for a link to your blog, so off I go to posteth it!

  21. Pingback: The Santas, the Snowmen, the Tin Man and popcorn! « Lake Superior Spirit

  22. Colleen says:

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  23. Pingback: Tomfoolery of our Santas and Snowmen | Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

