Blinded by the light

The camera can see more than its operator...

I’m sure all of you have walked up the road in the evening, toward the setting sun, completely blinded by the rays.

You’re staring befuddled into the bright rays of dying sunlight, unable to see anything straight ahead except the Light of the Heavens.

You squint.  You frown.  You wonder if sunglasses might help, if you owned any. 

You wonder if you should continue with eyes closed, hands in front of your face, groping.  You wonder if you should simply stare at the road and allow the feet to lead the way.  Obviously the eyes can’t see a darn thing.

When, suddenly, you look over at the dying plants alongside the road.  The plants are dying as September edges toward its waxing moon.  The ferns look ragged wearing yellow and brown tatters, although some still sport green overcoats.

Giant thimbleberry leaf with evening sunlight

The fern enjoys one of its last sunsets...

Good evening, Spreading Dogbane. Missing your pink flowers already!

The sun!  Look at the way the light plays on the leaves.  Some photographers say that light is magic; that light in the early morning and late evening gleams special from the sun.  I am still not cognizant enough of light’s alluring qualities, but tonight I felt drunk with the golden rays.

Unseeing from the blinding light straight ahead, I wandered sideways to kneel by ferns and thimbleberries leaves bigger than an open hand.  I followed light like it was the evening’s savior, stumbling in the ditch, spotting an illuminated tuft of grass here and there, following the magnificent rays wherever they chose to lead.

Orange fern glory! Heralds of Halloween.

Then it became utterly paramount to forget the rest of the evening walk.  Must turn around and scamper home, to upload onto the computer and see if the photos captured even a tiny essence of the glorious light.

But, hark!  Who goes there?  Look at that shadow!  Look at the length of those legs!  This evening sun is a trickster extraordinaire tonight, crafting and creating its own magnified world.

Alien?

Let’s stop running for a moment.  Catch our breaths.  How about a little shadow play?  Some yoga poses?  Some jumping jacks?

Shadow play

What makes the light so magical at this time of day?

Why does the lower angle of sunlight contain so much golden light, so much intrigue?

The answer, dear reader, is I’m sure…Blowing in the Wind.

(And here ends our songs–and light–for the day.  We’ll see you at dawn’s early light.  Oh say can you see…?)

The answer, my friend, is blowing in the wind. The answer is blowing in the wind.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Blinded by the light

  1. Yes…..jumping up and down…I get to be the first to respond today!

    Boy I pulled this up on my cell and I was literally blinded when I first looked at it!

    Great picture of the shadow! It is you right?

    Capturing the leaves and plants wqs beautiful, they are changing each and ever minute.

    Have a paeceful evening….Kim

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, it’s me, Kim. Being silly! I think I remember shadows like this as a kid, but haven’t noticed these long-legged shadows in years and years. Just saw you’re on a trip…enjoy yourself!

  2. Elisa's Spot says:

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm Light as Wind!!! ty ty!! we had cloudy gray alll day!

    • Kathy says:

      Elisa, I hope you were able to–err–enjoy your cloudy gray day. We had rain, rain, rain all day yesterday. It was so rainy I had to take off for the day and go to the city & play there.

      • Elisa's Spot says:

        LOL i did i diiiiiiiiiiiiiid!!

        I decided to add The Daily Aries Ponder to its very own home here on WordPress, as a branch to my tree. (that looks odd if you haven’t seen the blog huh?)

        Just ate a late supper and chatted with e online!

  3. barb says:

    Hi Kathy, I was beginning to worry that some squinting driver would come down the road and not see you out there taking shadow photos. I like your evening light on the ferns and leaves. Don’t expect me for sunrise, though.

    • Kathy says:

      Barb…smiling…thank you for your care about those squinting drivers. We live way way back in the boondocks so not too many cars wander down our road–especially since it’s autumn and a little past tourist season. However, I was listening really good. Really good. No cars! Sorry you won’t be out there at sunrise–I probably won’t be either!

  4. Yes
    In Dublin Ohio for the week…Performing a full lab inspection at our Division Lab…with a team of 8 inspectors….Quiet night in the hotel.

    It is funny, I remember it was so awesome to watch shadows…esecially when you were walking down the street. I am afraid mine is wider now and I will bet shorter…I will have to see what I can do about thatB

    • Kathy says:

      Enjoy your time in Dublin, Kim. I suspect all of our shadows have shifted sizes as the years have passed. Kind of reminds me of those crazy mirrors that distort and change everything.

  5. fountainpen says:

    Exquisite!

    Fountainpen

  6. Dawn says:

    Love the golden fern. I love early morning and late evening light too…it just makes everything glow…including me.

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, it didn’t feel like the photos did justice to how the light made me feel inside. I felt glowing…the world felt glowing…yet the photos looked simply slightly illuminated. Isn’t it delightful when we can feel that glowing feeling?

  7. Marianne says:

    Blinded by the light is good and feeling “drunk with the golden rays” sounds like bliss! Great shadow pictures. Looks like a fun day!

    • Kathy says:

      Marianne, I hesitated using the word “drunk” to describe the experience. But it kind of described it… In love, infatuated, obsessed with the light might have also worked. It did feel blissful. Had no intention of writing a blog, none, until the light did its thing and I ran home, feet pounding the pavement, trying to beat the shadow home.

  8. sartenada says:

    Great photos and great shadows. I was surprised to see how long shadows can be. The second last photo was awesome.

    Sometimes when I drive sun is at so low level that I cannot see nearly anything. The problem which stays in this kind of situation is that I have forgotten to clean my car’s windows from inside!

    • Kathy says:

      Sartenada, have you ever seen your own shadow this long? I don’t think I have since childhood.

      I do HATE it when we can’t see when we’re driving. Not a happy experience, especially if we are on busy roads. (Must check & make sure the inside of my windows are clean! Thank you!)

  9. Susan D. says:

    Delightful in every way! Loving all the pictures …

    • Kathy says:

      Good morning, Susan D. It was delightful seeing your daughter in Marquette as I ran-away-from-home on Saturday. Ran away from the rain, more likely. Wouldn’t it have been interesting if we were walking arm in arm and took a photo of TWO long shadows?

  10. Kathy says:

    Maybe if someone could stand on their head and take a long shadow photo you’d win a prize in a national photography contest!

  11. Kathy – this is a G-R-A-N-D post. I not only love WHAT you’ve captured here, but HOW you’ve captured it, and SHARED it as well. Thank you!

  12. Cindy Lou says:

    Wondermous, golden light….even the mostly dead fern looks glorious and I’m usually quite sad when they get to be that color as it means an end to my summer!

  13. Carol says:

    I love early morning and evening light – the casting of shadows, the golden tones. They make my heart sing and my tummy flip. By result, I love love love your photos. I just need to get off my duff and do some walking in those golden hours, rather than mid-day when the light is so harsh.

  14. The answer can be found in physics but does one really need to know? The evidence is seen and witnessed every morning and evening when the sky is clear or painted with while blossoms of clouds to colors of the rainbow as the Sun rises or lowers with each day.

    Go forth with that knowledge and capture the magic, Kathy. It is there to for us.

    • Kathy says:

      Scott, I thought–of all people–you would know the scientific explanation for this early morning/evening light. Love your words. Let us ALL go forth with that knowledge and capture the magic. Amen!

  15. Karma says:

    Nice capture of the sun low in the sky; that can be really difficult to do sometimes. I love those shots when you can see the “rays” beaming out. It such a magical time of day for photographs; I just love what the light does for faces and flowers.

  16. Robin says:

    I enjoyed this. It was fun and de-light-ful. 🙂

  17. Pingback: Blinded by the light « Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

