Lunge..Downward Dog…Sun Salutation…Breathe…

Swooping beauty of autumn grasses

I am lovin’, lovin’, lovin’ the new routine.

You couldn’t get me to trade it for all the gold beneath the surface of the earth.  (I don’t think.  If you have a deal, let me know, and I’ll get back to you…)

Here’s what has been happening every morning the past two weeks.

I get up.  Yawn, yawn.  Drink one cup of coffee or one cup of tea, depending.  Chit-chat with Barry who is probably still befuddled by my new routine.  (Usually I have been up and OUT the door by 6:30 a.m. on work mornings, headed for the school, almost before he has time to mumble a “Good morning to you!”)

These days I kindly say goodbye to HIM before he shuts the front door.  Then begin 45 minutes of yoga.  YES!  45 minutes of yoga!  DOUBLE YES!

Have been taking yoga lessons since spring, but seemed incapable of translating that into daily personal practice until a couple of weeks ago.  Don’t know why the challenge.  Convinced myself that I could never remember the routine of practice.  Could never remember when to do Downward Dog and Warrior I and Chest Expansion and Child’s Pose.

Yet, yet…somewhere a couple weeks ago…I tried it…listening to soothing music on the stereo….and YES it worked!  I began to do the routine.  With starts and stops, not-knowings and not-rememberings, but pretty much OK. 

Then, after the 45 minutes of yoga ends, I do another 45 minutes of breathing meditation. 

I resisted breathing meditation mightily for many moons.  My meditation friend & teacher, Cheyenne (remember?  I went to visit her in Lake Tahoe last spring?)  recommended breathing meditation.  I had been doing meditation for about seven years, but not this kind.  I resisted her suggestion.  Why breathe anyway?

(Don’t any of you dare respond to that last question!)

Well, I have been breathing deeply deeply deeply for months now and have been experiencing more energy, clearing and connection than imaginable.  Cheyenne is a gifted meditation teacher and her advice has been incredible. 

So I yoga and breathe every morning.  That’s it.

Decided to change my work schedule–fortunately I have flexible hours at the school–and come in after the morning practice.  The peace I feel is incredible.  Astounding. 

In the beginning, doing the yoga poses, it was a little challenging to see the benefits.  (Besides flexibility and strength and physical health, ha ha…)  All these months later it keeps becoming clearer that yoga, especially with synchronization of the breath, was created by a genius.  Whoever you were to devise these simple stretches, I salute you!

It is so beautiful to start the morning devoted to one’s spiritual practice, health and peace.  I recommend it to everyone who can find ways to fit these practices into their lives, no matter your religion or belief. 

Namaste, dear blog reader.  (Which translates to:  The God in me honors the God in you.)

O ye precious yellow one...

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Lunge..Downward Dog…Sun Salutation…Breathe…

  1. Oh Kathy, this has really inspired me! My daily routine will be changing soon (haven’t had time to blog about it yet!) and I have been busily mind-planning the new schedule for my days.

    I do believe your changes to your day must make for a more productive day, all day long. Sounds like a wonderful plan to me! 😀

  2. Carol says:

    I do believe breathing in the morning is a very good thing. Actually, I sorta think one should breathe all day, ya know?

    Seriously – I hear you. I have not done yoga nor have I done breathing meditation, but I have my quiet time with my coffee in the morning, without which my day is just not right. I have been discussing with me an exercise class (stretching for the more mature class) that meets twice a week. Maybe. I just hate anything that requires I be a certain place at a certain time on certain days every week. I lived with that the many years I worked.

    • Kathy says:

      Carol, ha ha, there’s a wise guy (gal?) in every crowd! Yep, I think so too. I am amazed (OK, keep using that word) at how deep breathing can give energy. You know, girlfriend, I hate those very commitments myself. That’s why I took private yoga lessons. Can not stand having to commit to a time~~my teacher is very flexible and allows changes any time I want. Stretching feels sooo good.

  3. yes, Yes, YES!

    Amen si-STAR!

    Whoohoo — you go, girl!

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Laurie. Deep curtsy. Maybe I’ll touch my toes for you. (Except, can’t quite touch toes YET. That’s the goal! Touch the toes. Can you touch YOUR toes?)

  4. Elisa's Spot says:

    OOOOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooo how simple!

  5. YEAH! Kathy! Your morning practice sounds wonderful. I must tell you I get a bit cranky if I don’t get to do my daily practice…on vacation the kids know I am not able to head out the door until I do my thing…which, as I acquire more skills and loves, takes me more and more time. Which puts me waking up earlier. This is something I love, yet find hard to commit to, if I am up past 10pm. When do you go to bed? I am a certified TriYoga teacher, so I recognize the benefits and blessings of yoga, for every body. And doing a breathing practice really brings you to a whole new level of presence in your body and consciousness. I am so glad you have found your own practice. Many people take years to do this.
    I love how you answer your soul’s yearnings so instinctively. Blessings on your practice!

    I will be thinking of you in the morning! Lots of love! S

    PS While we were in Germany, the children who we were with recommended I buy this special honey at the Victualmarkt. It has a long German name, but at long last I discovered it is Dandelion Honey! This delicious honey is a favorite of my German family!

  6. uhoh…can you remove the first comment, please? sorry for the repetition! Love, S

  7. Kathy says:

    Suzi, I am RIGHT ON IT! The first comment has been removed. Thank you for your support, my gosh, it means a lot. I am so happy to have this dedicated of a practice for the first time in my life. I love it so much that I can see sticking with this. Bedtime is…looking at the clock…definitely 10 o’clock. Hey, it’s almost bedtime now. I am going to actually turn off the computer and sit quietly in a few minutes. It’s been a busy, full, fun, happy day. Dandelion honey sounds like nectar of the bees. How lovely!

  8. Dawn says:

    So…you’re saying that MY new schedule, get up at 6, rush around feed dog, take dog out, get dressed drive 40 minutes in stop and go rush hour, sit in a cube for 8.5 hours, listen to brokers complain, deny and/or approve loans, answer ringing phones, listen to brokers whine, etc…is NOT a good thing? LOL!

  9. Awesome…..

    Maybe we could do Yoga by Skype! :int- Laurie…”+”LOL

    I am not sure if I could do it, or even get up off the floor too easy….

    • Kathy says:

      Yoga by skype…ha ha, Kim…THAT would be an interesting sight to see! When I started out last March, I was stiff, stiff, stiff. Understand that challenge of getting up off the floor. But pretty soon you would be doing it!

  10. Marianne says:

    Good for you, Kathy! It sounds wonderful. What a great way to start the day. I could probably do the breathing meditation. I’ll make a note to try it.

    • Kathy says:

      Marianne, remember to breathe down really really deep. All the way to the bottom of the belly, the base of the spine. We’re aiming to open and clear all the chakras. So they say. The breath is our energy to make things happen in our life. Who would have thunk? Not me!

  11. Karma says:

    I’m so not a morning person. Maybe not a good thing for someone who leaves for work by 7am each morning, but c’est la vie. La lee la la life goes on! I could probably stand to get some yoga and/or meditation into my life, but not first thing in the morning. 😉

    • Kathy says:

      Yep, Karen, can relate. That’s why I never did it. Actually not because I dislike morning–I’m actually a morning person–but always wanted to be up & about working before 7 a.m. cuz it was the most productive part of the day. 99% of the challenge is finding the time of day that works for us. For some people it’s right after work; other people early evening; some people–lordy, lordy–4 a.m.!

  12. barb says:

    You have inspired me – I’ll start tomorrow. Maybe i’ll even report back to you. Unless I make excuses – then I won’t. But I think you’ll know…

  13. Cindy Lou says:

    I continue to try and work some exercise into my days – especially now that I’m back in school. Definitely NOT a morning person – thankfully, my husband gets up before me and has my morning cup of tea all hot and ready for me to take to the couch and watch my morning news….ahhh! My walks with the ‘pack’ in the woods are my time for quiet and concentrating on breathing, but haven’t quite gotten back into that routine yet?!?!

    • Kathy says:

      Laughing. Thinking of your nice husband bringing you your cup of tea while you sit with one eye open. I remember when we used to watch the morning news–when we had TV, that is. Your walks in the woods with your pack sound quite lively. But relaxing. Wonder why we get challenged getting into routines? What stops us, I mean? Hmmmm….

  14. jeffstroud says:

    Kathy,

    How wondrous for you! Yoga and Breathing practice everyday. I know Laurie’s Heart is just singing your praises today! As you are you are yourself.
    It is good to take care of one’s self, get the good thing in first, then the rest of the day will evolve more freely and effortlessly !!!
    And I keep telling myself, and reminding my self with our first walk of the day through the wood, prayerfully breathing, mindfully taking in what surrounds me and touches me as we ( the dogs) walk, clearing the night away, being conscious of the new higher thoughts I can bring into focus!

    I am Love, Jeff

    • Kathy says:

      Good morning, Jeff! “Get the good thing in first”! Those are the words that have been nudging me for a long time. To put things in right order (for me). To start the day deepening into what matters instead of what doesn’t matter as much (to me). For people who work, even a few minutes of silent centering or prayer might be a way of focusing on what counts beyond the everyday work and chores and busyness. Sounds like you do that on your walk with the dogs. And in your Morning Pages, too.

  15. Robin says:

    Namaste, Kathy. 🙂

    Yoga and meditation are part of the new/old path/routine I didn’t talk about on my blog yet. I agree wholeheartedly. It’s a wonderful way to start the day. I love, love, love it too.

    • Kathy says:

      Namaste, Robin, palms to heart. Interesting that we are both on the same path of starting new routines. It has been wonderful. For the first week or so my mind resisted somewhat…but lately it has gotten quite silent inside. The mind may have given up protesting or thinking other things should be happening!

      • Robin says:

        I’ve noticed our timing or our lives are fairly parallel which is interesting. I was just commenting on one of your other posts that you and I had posts that hit the front page of WordPress on the same day. That’s how I found you. I don’t check the front page often because I don’t have the time, but WordPress surprised me that day by putting me there so I thought I’d check out the blogs I was sharing the glory (so to speak) with and there you were. 🙂

        • Kathy says:

          Robin, do you remember what post hit the front page of WordPress for you? Maybe I already read it…but I’d love to read it again! How cool that we were partners in our–brief–moments of glory. ha ha…SO glad to have met you, blogging partner! Especially since we have these parallel lives going on…

  16. Pingback: Ready, Set, Go: Change Your Life « Grandeurvision's Blog

  17. Robin says:

    Kathy: I do. I was doing the Look Up theme for NaBloPoMo and it was a post about red buds:

    http://bogsofohio.wordpress.com/2010/05/06/look-up-the-redbud/

    SO glad to have met you too. 🙂

  18. Pingback: The Gift of Gratitude: Day 1 « Grandeurvision's Blog

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

