Who says dinner can’t be Cheerios and other stories from my day

Ohmygosh, I am so lazy.  I have not been able to take a single new picture since–since–well, it’s been a few days.  This has never before happened in the history of my blogging.  Alas.  Luckily, I have 10,000 photos from last year!  Why take a new picture, anyway? 

Last year! (But it would look like this if I get my lazy self out of the car and snap some pictures!)

So…would you like to know what’s been happening?  In this particular life? 

I watched a movie last night.  Letters to Juliet.  It was OK.  A chickee-flick.  A girl-flick.  Not the greatest acting.  Except for Vanessa Redgrave.  But (of course you’ve intuited this) it was a love story.  If you’re in the mood for a love story, rent it.  If you want good acting, try something else. 

It’s raining.  Rain, rain, rain.  2.25 inches yesterday!  Probably another half-inch today.  The Silver River overfloweth.  OK, maybe not overfloweth, but it is running high. 

I had trouble concentrating at work today.  One of those restless days.  When restlessness attempts to hijack the body.  OK, I must admit, restlessness won.  I even left work early.  (Which means I may have to go in a couple of hours this weekend.) 

The leaves have started to turn.  If I overcome my apathy for photo-taking, I’ll take some pictures for you.  Reds and oranges and yellows splash across the horizon as you’re driving to and fro. 

Fooled you! This photo is from last year! 🙂

Guess what?  My friend, Catherine, has invited me to a concert tomorrow night!  A Russian concert:  Chamber Orchestra Kremlin.   I shall go, even though classical music is not–necessarily–my #1 love.  That’s because we must always push the envelope.  That way our love expands.  We may discover we love classical Kremlin music.  We may discover something new.  (And, besides, Catherine has agreed to go out for dinner.  Hurray!  Won’t we have fun?) 

Something else has been happening.  I am going to show three photos at Gallery 325.  That is our local art gallery.  Can you believe it?  I have been painstakingly learning how to print photos (through mpix.com) and buy frames (at Michaels Store in Marquette).  The theme of the show is “Domestic Violence.”  Hmmm….OK, I was sure I would be able to come up with some photos that would cover domestic violence.  Even if it was a bird crashing into the window.  That sounds like domestic violence to me.  Does it to you? 

I absolutely adored this photo. But no one else seemed to Love it as much. Alas.

 

Tonight I am going to sit down and concentrate and write some words to go along with the three photos.  Of course, my heart is going pitter-pat quite rapidly at the prospect of writing something about domestic violence.  But what?  I think the poem or essay shall involve the domestic violence we do to ourselves, in our own minds. 

The only other news I can think to add is:  I am eating Cheerios for the first time in my life since childhood.  Of course, they aren’t really Cheerios.  They’re called “Heart to Heart Honey Toasted Oat Cereal” from Kashi.  Mmmm….very good.  They are fulfilling a deep longing I didn’t know existed.  There are even hearts in the cereal. Kinda like Lucky Charms, but without the nasty colors & flavorings.  Eating some more straight out of the box right now.  Who says dinner can’t be Cheerios? 

Signing off now, and wishing you all a splendiferous weekend. Happy Saturday with the added bonus of a Sunday!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Who says dinner can’t be Cheerios and other stories from my day

  1. Carol says:

    Congratulations on the opportunity to show some of your pictures! Even if the subject is Domestic Violence, which doesn’t sound like a happy topic. You could take a picture of my kitchen when I’m preparing a meal that requires a lot of chopping preparation and call if Domestic Violence.

    • Kathy says:

      lol, Carol! Never thought about using a photo of knives and cutting boards… Did think of using a photo of a dead bird that hit the window. Definitely domestic violence! (Brought the photos to the gallery yesterday; the reception is next Friday night.)

  2. Elisa's Spot says:

    oooooooooo i like your topic, i’ve been doing that to myself inside of my head for some days now
    i shifted more moment to moment, which felt difficult because the shoulders and the bitchers and worse continued to insist evil nasty things!!

    so i moved along all day looking at things, and having odd experiences and reading things about God and spirit of selves and taking care of that and now yours adding to the pile, I mean smile. Hey, at least there is no swearing! My goal today was Sunbutter and blackberry jelly sammiches and I moved up to organic deli meat and cheese sammiches stuffed with spinach and dill pickle cut cutely on the plate and fresh fruits! Those Kashi doohickies taste very nice and I like those heart things like lucky charms, a million external symbols and manifestations of love made SOLID!

    I like that image, and I want to know what it is. Made me think of Sigmund and the seamonsters!

    I am so excited to see the images and writings that you chose and place with you show images!

    • Kathy says:

      awww…a million external symbols and manifestations of love made solid. How incredible a spiritual bowl of cereal can be, dear Elisa. Well, I chose three photos and then wrote a poem-ish thingee about how most of the domestic violence occurs within ourselves. Would you have expected anything different?

  3. Dawn says:

    I think you may have mentioned that you’d be showing your art in a gallery…can’t wait till you get them up. How to choose only 3? And domestic violence….hmmmm maybe one of your skull photos?

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, they set a limit of three, so I had to choose. That was pretty challenging. My first idea was the dead bird, but that didn’t work out, even though I have a nice framed dead bird photo now sitting around the house. What to do with THAT? Skulls would have been good, too, but didn’t go there. Stay tuned!

  4. K Odell says:

    Congrats! I do love love love last year’s orange leaves picture. and cheerios are an excellent choice for dinner.

    • Kathy says:

      K, there are an awful lot of orange leaves abounding outside right now. I am drinking an orange Izze Sparkling Clementine. It is very fizzy. 🙂 Thank you.

  5. Kathy, I love your willingness to stretch the limits with, “We may discover we love classical Kremlin music.” You’ll have to tell us how it did/didn’t resonate with you.

    We have eaten that same cereal too – I love the Kashi brand!

    Your “twist” on domestic violence, “what we do to ourselves, in our own minds” is going to captivate the audience.

    Have a great weekend!

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, my motto is: we must always stretch our self-imposed limits! I’m puzzling whether I should answer your question about the classical music now or write a blog about it later. Well, just in case I don’t write a blog or don’t address the subject: it was very resonating. The music was superb! Catherine and I were glad to listen. The music soared very deeply…and after an hour or so… I’ll come back and tell you more IF I don’t write a blog about it.

  6. I happen to love that photo. I wish I knew what it is…but I don’t care. Send it to me so I can look at it all the time if you like, I am a fan of that image.

    Now, about your show…your words will flow. Just eat some more OooooohhhhhSSSsssssss!!!!!!!

    Love, S

    • Kathy says:

      Suzi, isn’t that photo something? What kind of creature IS it? I think it’s…well, I don’t know. I WILL find that image right now and email it to you. You can make it your desktop. Off to do a search!

  7. emaclean says:

    Dear Kathy–your red leafed tree photo scared me! Yikes, already? Glad to see it was from last year. I am coming east soon and really don’t want to see bare trees! I want to see color! I’ll be in Ontario, Canada and traveling to the Hudson River Valley. What are my chances here of seeing fall color? I suspect once we head up towards Montreal and Ottawa, we might be seeing bare trees.

    But maybe I’ll be stretching my limits–finding I love bare trees as much as brightly colored trees. It’s all in the journey. And timing is everything!

    Best, Erin

    • Kathy says:

      Dear Erin, I think, I think…our leaves are turning a little early this year. But don’t worry…most of Ontario is further south from us, so they will be behind us with the color-changes. I’m sure you’ll see some beautiful color, especially if you’re coming within the week or two. But, I agree. Bare-bones trees are a gift, too. It’s the journey, not the destination, lol!

  8. bearyweather says:

    We are a lot a like. My photo taking is not what it used to be this time of year (too much time spent at work and our leaves just sort of fizzled this year .. lots of yellows and then the rain took most of them down) … but, I have a good stock of photos if needed.
    I entered photos in a juried art show this summer … scary, but oh so much fun .. i am sure you will enjoy having your photos in a gallery … congratulations.

    • Kathy says:

      I’m trying to decide if our leaves are fizzling this year or if they’re doing OK. It’s spotty. If you look in one direction, it’s stunning. If you look in another direction, it’s fizzly. We had lots of rain last week, too. I am glad to hear you put your photos in an art show, bearyweather. I’m so unsavvy about these things I don’t even know what a juried art show is. Is that where a jury decides your photo fate?

  9. jeffstroud says:

    Kathy,

    I was so captured by the photographs I did not even read your blog!

    These are the most beautiful photographs I have seen from you! Really !!!

  10. Oh yes, breakfast for dinner, or Cherrios anytime! – love it!

    I have been listening to the “Pops” channel on XM Radio…It reminds me of my band and orchestra days playing clarinet, sax, bass clarinet, and trumpet….I seem to know the sounds and all the notes.

    Sunday I am going to a Coventing cereony at a church in Chicago. It is for Associates of the SSND, School Sisters of ,otre Dame, nuns who taught me in my early years. I am a Pre-Associate, feeling a bit on the outside right now and I should be in the cermony, except my companion nun was called to Florida to translate for French speaking Haitians in hospitals there for several months.

    After, Michelle Grady, a friend at church invited me to a free concert of Stephen Curtis Chapman and Greg Laurie at the Allstate Arena. Her whole family is going. Mike and ;oe will be golfing.

    Hi Ho Cherrios and away!

    • Kathy says:

      I’ll bet you are at your Coventing ceremony right now, Kim. Or maybe even your free concert. I hope you’re have a cheerio-good time! You will be interested to know that the chamber orchestra played violins, viola, cellos and bass.

  11. Robin says:

    Congratulations on the showing of your photos! You must be very excited (and if, by some weird chance, you’re not, I’ll get excited for you).

    I adore that last photo. What’s not to adore? And the first two are lovely. Our foliage isn’t nearly that exciting yet. I’m not sure it will be this year. The wind seems to be blowing the leaves away before they have a chance to turn.

    • Kathy says:

      Robin, it’s weird. I am happy about it. I think it’s fun. But I dunno about excited. So, OK, you can be excited for me. I am reaching through the computer to shake your hand. Good woman! Liking that photo! I like YOU.

  12. Cindy Lou says:

    Good for you, Kathy! 🙂

    I took a walk for the first time in awhile and it was quite lovely…not a lot of color yet but after cleaning/moving furniture/organizing/trip to Houghton/etc….it felt wondermous just to be outside. Maybe sunshine and Indian summer warm this week will perk things up!

  13. Karma says:

    Very cool on showing photos! How did the opportunity come about?
    I just love photo #1 here – so pretty.

    • Kathy says:

      Karen…well…how did the opportunity come about? One of the ladies who runs the gallery was in my artist’s way group last year. Then she bopped by this blog a couple of times. Then she said, “Hey you should put a photogaph in the gallery.” Well that was about a year ago. It has taken me this long to figure out a) how to print off pictures and b) how to frame ’em. I can sometimes be a big baby when I don’t know how to do things. Now I’m so excited I can’t wait to frame the next one. (note to Robin, above: I am more excited I guess about learning to do this than showing them. Go figure. I’ll probably be excited Friday night at the reception.) THANK YOU, Karma.

  14. jeffstroud says:

    Kathy,

    I had already known about your opportunity to “show” at a gallery, a little birdy told me! Oh no, that’s not it, I read it first on Terrill’s blog, yet I was aware you had been ask to exhibit at Gallery 325! I am thrilled for you, and extremely excited to see what your creative mind comes up with from the Theme “Domestic Violence ” ! I am totally there for you, in mind and spirit, and I know your work with be a “smashing success” as they say in England.

    I love these lines and I find the to be so true: “I shall go, even though classical music is not–necessarily–my #1 love. That’s because we must always push the envelope. That way our love expands. We may discover we love classical Kremlin music. We may discover something new.”

    I know for me in the past few weeks I have step out of my comfort zone as far as my art knowledge and understanding goes, and even stepping out of my comfort zone socially for the first time in a long time. So say, I shall go, even though such and such is not-necessarily-my #1 love, expanding the my mind opening my heart is my number 1 Love!

    I am Love, Jeff

  15. Kathy says:

    Jeff, you have been an inspiration to me to actually do this! I dunno about “smashing success”…although it is a domestic violence theme. I will post photos later this week some time. I am happy to hear that you have been stepping out of your comfort zone. That is a good thing. We can continue to support one another in our stepping out!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

