Deja vu all over again…

Twins? Deja vu? Seeing double?

Thank you, Yogi Berra.  You’ve described it perfectly.  It’s deja vu all over again. 

Yes, it’s repetitive.  Yes, some might call it boring. 

But we’ve gone and bought the same exact car TWICE!!  

Frost on old dead red car

What a crazy high-flying, high-spending week it’s been!  

1)  First entry in an art show.  See yesterday’s blog

2)  First time experimenting with a Digital Single Lens Reflex camera.  See this blog and this blog

3)  Are you ready for this??  We bought a new used car yesterday!!  

What a week it’s been. 

Gosh, we'll miss seeing frost on you, Grandma's Buick

The power of thoughts is truly amazing.  Here’s what happened. 

I thought, “Gosh, darn, I’m not ready to buy a different car.  Why did Barry’s old red Buick–Grandma’s Buick–have to die?  I am still enjoying driving my 2003 Buick Century.” 

Second thought:  “OK, if we have to buy a new car, I really don’t want to spend more than $8,000.  And the car must have in the range of 50,000-60,000 miles.” 

Third thought (no kidding!  You’re not going to believe this crazy mind!  This thought happened last spring):  I want to have more blog hits than car mileage. 

Can you believe the patterns of frost on cars?

So we start looking for cars last week.  All the cars that fit in our mileage range priced out about $12,999-$13,999.  Darn it.  This was not looking good. 

Until–this is still amazing–we suddenly spot IT.  The very same car we already have.  The car I’m driving.  (Barry is driving Grandma’s maroon 1995 Buick Century.)  It’s a 2003 Buick Century.  The very same car.  With 66,600 miles.  

Etchings in frost...

We gasp.  We look at each other. 

We murmur,  “Do we dare?  Two identical cars?  One for Her and Him?” 

We had better get very used to frost of the silver variety...

We dared.  We turned over $7,600 yesterday to this nice salesman in Houghton.  We drove away, two matching cars, pointing southward toward home. 

It’s one of the weirdest things we’ve ever done. 

Blaze of yellow autumn leaves through frosty windshield

And what’s crazier:  as of this very moment, the car mileage and the blog hits are the SAME.  66,697. 

Is that weird, or what?  Is that synchronistic? 

I told Barry it had to be because of the deep breathing/yoga practice I’ve been doing every day for more than a month.  The Universe is lining up to manifest intention.  Our deepest desires are coming true. 

He nodded, a deeply patient man. 

Yep, Kathy, he said.  Must be. 

How do you think we’ll know which car is His and which car is Mine?  That’s the question for October…

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Deja vu all over again…

  1. Martha Bergin says:

    You’re safe!… but just barely. The mileage was almost… 66,666. If you can get ‘er past that number, she oughta run fine! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Hey Martha, I just watched a video–two days ago–that the number 66,666 really means “Incompletion”. OK, maybe it was the number 666, lol. So anything above that is headed for “Completion”. smiling!

  2. Sue says:

    Russ and I both had 1991 red Buick park ave’s for a few years. Never had a problem going to the wrong car…..you’ll know yours by sight, smell, and feel in a nano-second! LOL
    I absolutely LOVE the picture of the Autumn leaves through the frosted windshield….. That’s just beautiful art….you should frame it!! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Oh good, Sue, glad to hear that we’re not the only look-alikes in the world. I’ll bet you’re right. You learn really quickly. Thanks about the photo…it was fun taking frost pics yesterday. I actually had another photo-taking adventure yesterday morning…too much happens in a day to write about everything that happens!

  3. Patricia says:

    Wow I love the frosty pictures and what a delight to find the perfect match!

    The repeating 6s really have tons more wonderful connotations that those devilish ideas running around town now…

    Thank you Val for the introduction…nice to find you

    • Kathy says:

      So pleased to meet you, Patricia. I am still shaking your hand in my mind. Glad that you enjoyed the frosty pics. I had to wear mittens yesteday already, can you imagine???

  4. Robin says:

    I don’t think it’s boring that you have matching cars. I think it’s kind of cool. Just more of that good ole synchronicity. 🙂

    The frost photos are amazing. Some of them look like frozen feathers.

  5. Carol says:

    You could always put one of those Jack in the Box balls on your antenna (or his) – or dingle balls on the rear-view mirror. Or just paint “mine” on yours and “his” on his.

    No? What? No sense of adventure?

    • Kathy says:

      No sense of adventure? Now I really am laughing, Carol. I can just see Barry agreeing to put dingle balls on his rear view mirorr. Still laughing!

  6. Marianne says:

    Synchronicity, that’s fantastic! Blog hits, car mileage and matching cars. Wow. Must have been meant to be. And I love the beauty in nature also.

  7. Dawn says:

    oh I like the jack in the box on the antennae thingy!

  8. Karma says:

    If you and your hubby are anything like my hubby and me, it will be very easy to tell whose is whose – by the junk in the seats! We both carry around much more junk than we should, but it is very different junk! Mine: papers from school, receipts, Dunkin Donuts cups, Red Sox cap, dance shoes. His: ticket book, large quantities of police equipment (okay I guess he needs that!), soda bottles, food wrappers.

    LOVE the frost pictures (as much as I don’t want to think about having to scrape that stuff once again!)

    • Kathy says:

      Good point, Karma! I always carry around the canvas bags (to bring to the co-op) in my back seat. That will be Clue #1. He always has his camera bag in his car…nope…that might not work if we both have cameras. Except mine will be in a backpack and not a camera bag! I used to love Dunkin Donuts coffee. would love to have a sip right now! Oh, and your husband is a policeman?

  9. Susan D says:

    TWINS! You DID it!!! I’m so happy for you. And – of course – I have a penchant for twins. I think the 2nd baby will be very happy with her sib and with you and Barry as parents 🙂

    I got so excited reading about all the manifestations occuring … just a big bubble of happiness and joy for you. Thank you for sharing these wonderful events, Kathy.

    Your pictures are brilliant. I love them, and you …

    • Kathy says:

      Leave it to a mama of twins to choose that assessment! Smiling, thinking of people as car-parents. Thank you for the way you always mirror happiness back. How you feel so happy for other people. Brilliant frost photos? Wow! You know what the best part of switching my hours at work will be? The frost will be mostly melted by the time it’s time to go! Hurray!

  10. elisa says:

    I love you. His n Her plates?

    • Kathy says:

      Love you too, Elisa! He would veto that in a second. I think it will just have to be intuition and parking spots. He always parks in Spot A and I park in Spot B. (He lets me have the Spot closest to the house!)

  11. Gerry says:

    OK, now, see, I knew it. You were pregnant. Twins! Congratulations.

    But I’m sure that’s not frost–just the Cowboy’s fur after a little dash under the punchbowl. Surely it’s too early for frost.

    • Kathy says:

      Sorry, late getting back to these comments. I was up all night nursing the twins… no, no, no, just kidding! Haven’t you had frost yet, Gerry? You lucky ducks if it’s true. It looks like we’re going to have a grand glorious day today with temps near 70. Hurray, Indian Summer!

  12. sartenada says:

    Awesome photos from Frost art. I really have not seen so good photos for a long time.

    What a coincidence with hit and miles!

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, sartenada. I love it when something simple like frost takes your eye. And the way the frost looked like feathers. I thought that hits & miles thing was a big coincidence, indeed.

  13. Kathy I had a lot of fun reading your post out loud to David after he asked “what are you laughing about!”

    And there you go… setting your intentions and look what happens:)))))

  14. Cindy Lou says:

    How funny! Have you had a race yet to see whose twin car is fastest? Now see….that would be something Johnny and I would do! 🙂

    Fabulous fall frost feathers! How’s that for some early morning alliteration!?!?

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy Lou, I can just see you and Johnny doing that. Now Barry and me? I don’t think so… I remember a VERY crazy ride with you on the back roads behind Chassell years ago. Are you still so crazy? lol!

      • Cindy Lou says:

        Not quite so nuts but given the right opportunity? You betcha! I remember when the kids were in jr. high/high school and we had the first good snowfall, we’d pile in the car and drive to the nearest big parking lot and do ‘donuts’ until our heads spun! Think I’ll ever grow up?

  15. Val Erde says:

    Brilliant patterns…. !
    🙂

    And – why not get the same car again, if you loved the last one?

  16. Put a pink antenna topper on yours. That’ll work! LOL

  17. P.j. grath says:

    The frost shots are beautiful, Kathy. We had our first hard frost last night, but I was too busy this morning to linger over it. Your lingering was definitely worthwhile.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh so you guys have had a hard frost down in the upper part of the Lower? I know what you mean about being too busy to linger, though. I like my new work schedule. More time to linger in the mornings. However, afternoons are now challenging trying to get dinner together on time.

  18. Oh Kathy, what a FUN and FUNNY post to read. Oh my gosh! His and hers matching cars … ya gotta love it!

    You asked, “How do you think we’ll know which car is His and which car is Mine?”

    I suppose it’s the same way you tell boy pancakes from girl pancakes. By the way they’re stacked!

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, I laughed for at least two minutes after reading this yesterday. Where DO you get these jokes? And how do you remember them? By the way they’re stacked!! ha ha…

      Suddenly wanting pancakes. Have a good day!

  19. Kathy – That was my first “dirty” joke and it came straight from the third grade 🙂

  20. jeffstroud says:

    Hey late to the frost show! Beautiful!
    There is some magic going on in your life, good for you to ask for and receive the message universe was and is sending!

    Jeff

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, there seems to be those times when magic is going on. And then there are the quiet more inward times. I actually felt a shift today back towards the interior. We shall see. Glad you liked the frost.

  21. Pingback: Did you hear the one about the 84-year-old grandma? « Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

