Infinity

Trail of underwater leaves floating in river current

 

Geometrical autumn

Sideways

When far away becomes up close...

Floating leaf

Perfect number eight--Infinity

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Infinity

  1. Elisa's Spot says:

    Nice play with camera!

  2. Kathy says:

    Too busy to write a blog this afternoon so thought I would post pictures from Saturday’s adventure by the river. I just got home from work…doing laundry…must harvest brocoli from garden…make dinner…go to a meeting. Yikes! Lots to do!

  3. photobyholly says:

    You’ve been able to capture some gorgeous fall colors here, nice shots!!

  4. holessence says:

    Kathy, “when far away becomes up close” looks just like Nova Scotia! And I do mean JUST LIKE. I love the infinity symbol, but my favorite photo today is geometrical autumn. Fantastic!

    • Kathy says:

      Isn’t that a fascinating geometrical shot, Laurie? I liked it, too! I also liked how the telephoto lens focused WAY ACROSS THE BAY to bring us a shot we would have had to squint at with the little Sony Cybershot. Thank you, m’dear. Hope to get to reading your blog later today…hopefully…too much to do, so little time! (Then why am I answering comments? she asked)

  5. Reggie says:

    Sigh… such beautiful autumn images… I love the colours of those leaves.

    • Kathy says:

      Reggie, there has been so much beauty around here during the last week that it’s frustrating a little because the camera can not do justice to it…

      • Cindy Lou says:

        I know that feeling well…..I’ve been entranced by the colors against the deep blue autumn sky and have failed to get an adequate picture of them. Grrrrr! I shall have to hold on to the colors in my head!

  6. gigi says:

    What caused the perfect 8? Do you know?

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, indeed, Gigi. I know exactly! Two leaves dropped out off from a tree and fell into the river. Each one made its own concentric circle, and they overlapped into infinity.

  7. Carol says:

    Great pictures of a great season. Aren’t long zooms wonderful? Our first digital had 10X, and when I replaced it I thought I could live with 6X, soon discovered I couldn’t live happily with it so now I have 18X. That makes a happy marriage!

    • Kathy says:

      18X!!! Wow, that is a lot. I am using a not-so-good-quality long lens right now and I have no idea what X it might be. Hey, I should go look. (Back again–absolutely no idea.) We are borrowing the lens…Barry says they are cheap ones. Glad to hear you have a happy digital marriage!!

  8. Marianne says:

    Great pictures! I love the floating leaf and infinity! Again, you were in the right place at the right time.

    • Kathy says:

      It was fun to wander by the river, Marianne. When Barry walks right next to me, he says he never even sees what I see. He doesn’t see shadows, reflections, single leafs, the number eight. I think it’s fascinating how we all see different things.

  9. Dawn says:

    Love infinity! And you must be at peak color now!

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, indeed, Dawn. Peak color! Almost getting past peak. It will be past peak by this weekend. So colorful and so brief! What about you guys down in the Lower?

  10. Robin says:

    Fun! 🙂

    They are all beautiful, but “Sideways” is my favorite (perhaps because I’m a bit sideways myself…lol!).

    • Kathy says:

      Robin…shhh…lean closely. Sideways is one of my faves, too, but that’s because…shhh….I’m a bit sideways too. Sometimes I’m upside down and backwards too. But can usually look upright to the casual observer. lol!

  11. Susan D says:

    These ARE with the new test-drive camera, right? #’s 1, 5 and 6 all equal faves. Love the close-up across the water, too. See, my little girl camera can’t do that with such detail. Shhh – I love her. (Notice my firm grasp of technical terms and camera lingo).

    Thank you for the beauty and uniqueness ….

    • Kathy says:

      Good morning, Susan D. I couldn’t sleep last night and got back up at 11 p.m. and Barry was looking at the blog so I made him read the comments. He had to go back and look at #1, 5 and 6 so we could see which ones you liked.

      Glad you whispered around your little girl camera. They do certain things so magnificently we shouldn’t belittle them.

  12. Infinity is the best!

    Great that you caught it right then……..

    • Kathy says:

      Kim, I sat for a long time and watched the ripples on the water. The leaves would drop and concentric circles spiral outward. Over and over again. I don’t know if I saw the circle 8 until the photo was uploaded. Maybe did. So many beautiful rippling circles.

  13. Kiah says:

    So pretty! Where is ‘geometrical autumn’ taken? You’re so lucky to have such a gorgeous array of colors. Who needs Times Square when you can have that!?

    • Kathy says:

      Kiah, it is amazing how quickly it all disappears. The geometry photo was taken beneath the Ravine River bridge. That’s the one past the Slate River…heading out toward the Trading Post. I don’t know if you’ve ever stopped there. I don’t know if I ever have before. The northern US is indeed lucky to wear these magnificent autumn colors for a week or two each fall.

  14. truels says:

    New camera – or not: These very different autumn captures are all really fine: Nice work!

  15. bearyweather says:

    Very nice … I appreciate you sharing your Fall. Our Fall colors were a disappointment this year … mostly yellow (did not get cold enough at night for the brilliant reds) and the day they peaked, was the day the rain started and washed them all out of the trees…. only a few remain plus the stubborn oaks.
    I did find some find pictures to share, though … I have had some very musical visitors … later this week.

    • Kathy says:

      Sorry you’ve had such a drab autumn foliage, bearyweather. I know about those years. We thought we’d have that, too, but luckily did not. Will look for those musical visitors!

  16. Karma says:

    I love “geometrical autumn” – perhaps it is the teacher-wannabe in me, but there’s just something about shape and organization here that speaks to me.

  17. Cindy Lou says:

    I don’t know, Karma….I’m a teacher and don’t have particulary good organizational skills!?!? 🙂

    Beautimous, lovely photos – you, busy lady, you!

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy Lou, maybe it’s a certain KIND of teacher? Math teacher? lol! You know, my mother-in-law reads this and thinks I’m busy all the time, too. I try to tell her that’s not quite true. This little photo expedition took maybe an hour on a Saturday morning. The rest of the day…rest, relaxation and a good book!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

