Autumn, Upper Peninsula. Continued.

Looking down our road

 

Laundry dries on our deck

 

Orange leaves, blue sky

 

Leaves on the 1949 Studebaker pickup truck

 

Rowboat on the bay

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Autumn, Upper Peninsula. Continued.

  1. Karma says:

    Love your perspective in the first shot. And the yellow tree is very stunning.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Karma. Hope you enjoyed your day at work. The first shot (of course) is the telephoto lens. However–here’s where the Sony Cybershot came through–the yellow tree came from Ms. Cybershot. Thank you.

  2. P.j. grath says:

    Is this the most beautiful October Michigan has ever known? We may have had a brighter fall in 1970, but the combination this year of color and calm, warm days has been fantastic. I love looking down your road, too, Kathy.

    • Kathy says:

      It certainly is an incredible October, Pamela. I’m voting for this summer as well. Barry suggested that the view down the road from our house looks more appealing through the camera than it is in everyday reality. That may be the case. Although it is pretty.

  3. holessence says:

    Kathy – Great shots, all. My favorite is “Leaves on the 1949 Studebaker pickup truck.”

  4. elenasc says:

    Yes, the car is great!

  5. quietpaths says:

    I really like the view off your deck! The laundry is just where it should be too. What a place to dry!

  6. Susan D says:

    The photo of your road is such a great non-claustrophobic photo of the U.P. It has it all: a hill, sky, water, woods, space! Love the rowboat and, of course, the beloved Studebaker. What an amazing Oct… each day full of magic…

  7. K Odell says:

    I’m enjoying autumn vicariously through you.

  8. bearyweather says:

    The Fall is the best time to take pictures, don’t you think? Looks like your Fall leaves were much more colorful than mine this year. (i posted a few Fall pictures this week, too.)

    • Kathy says:

      bearyweather, fall is awesome for photography! I got so frustrated last year because it seemed impossible to capture the large vistas of color. Could only focus on individual trees. It is making me happy to get a larger view this year. (will check out your blog soon!)

  9. Colleen says:

    Kathy, the view down your road must surely be one of your many blessings! It must be lovely, driving to work and seeing this every day…. in all of it’s many moods and seasons. I’m imagining that there are many stories that have unfolded along that road over the years.

    • Kathy says:

      Did I ever tell you the story about how I hated it when we first moved to the Upper Peninsula? How many years it took to learn to love and appreciate “its many moods and seasons”?? I could probably tell at least ten interesting stories of some adventures seen along this road. What a good idea for another blog some day!

  10. Carol says:

    Would it be okay if I brought the girls over so we could walk down your road? Such a perfect road to walk, I think. And then I could enjoy firsthand all those other things you took pictures of. So perfect!

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, Carol. We’ll see you tonight after dinner. We’ll take your girls and we’ll go down to the eagle pond. Maybe we’ll see a bald eagle. 🙂

  11. Dawn says:

    Oh I want to live on YOUR street! 🙂

    • Reggie says:

      So do I! So do I! 🙂 And the contrast of those luminescent orange leaves against the blue sky was just … WOW! Well done, Ms Cybershot.

      • Kathy says:

        Reggie, I just had to show off the fact that Ms. Cybershot can take some magnificent pictures. After I talked up the Canon so much and showed Ms. Cybershot’s faults. She seems to do particularly well with the color yellow. Wonder why?

        • Reggie says:

          There’s probably a very good technical reason why Ms C excels at yellow, but personally I think she was just trying to remind you that she has always been there for you throughout your many months of blogging, that she taught you how to see the world from a different perspective, and that she deserves to be honoured for that. If she hadn’t taught you the basics of photography, you wouldn’t be where you are now – a highly creative, observant photographer with an eye for the unusual and the unexpected. So, hugs to Ms Cybershot for being such an awesome teacher!

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, you’re one of the closest readers. You actually may even see this street one of these days.

  12. John says:

    Finding your blog(s) is one of the nicest things to happen to me in a long time. You and your friends are wonderful! Living UP here only part time, I don’t meet many people outside of my own neighborhood. You have given me a wonderful insight and perspective on life North of Whirl-I-Gig Road.

    • Kathy says:

      John, it is very nice to meet you. Your comment made me smile all day yesterday! “Life north of the Whirl-I-Gig Road”. Never thought of it that way before! I will stop by and visit your blog, as well.

      • John says:

        Yep, we are around back behind your husbands office and up the hill. I used to try to split my time 50-50 between the flatlands and L’Anse, but it is working out to a little less these days. Your writing makes me feel like I’m there and walking the same path for a short period of time while I’m reading. Thank you for sharing it with us!

        • Kathy says:

          That’s good to know. Yep, I can imagine where you live, within the block. Hope you get to spend lots of days here in the next few months. If not, I’ll show you pictures!

  13. Robin says:

    Gorgeous photos!

  14. Cindy Lou says:

    I’ve spent all autumn trying and trying to take a photo that does justice to the beauty of the leaves….have I said this recently? Hmmmm… I think I have but it’s frustrating! And you, my dear, have done a fabulous job of it…. 🙂

    Hey John….Where ’bouts in the UP do you live? Welcome, welcome to our little ‘neighborhood’ here in Kathy’s world!

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy, I know that frustration well. There is such beauty surrounding us, and our little cameras will rarely do justice to it. I thank the new Canon for providing some wider-angle shots that bring in more range.

  15. jeffstroud says:

    Great shots! Fall had fallen upon you!

  16. Kathy says:

    Reggie, you made such a good point! Ms. Sony Cybershot and I are hugging you!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

