“Blood of the Mother Earth”

Today is  Blog Action Day

This year’s topic is something which we often take for granted, and yet deserves our utmost respect and appreciation and gratitude.

Precious water, flowing water, deep water, sacred water.

Water falling

It is a day to contemplate an important consideration in all of our lives.

Where would we be without clean drinkable water?

Movement

Would we be able to survive until next Friday without fresh water?

Colors of water

Do you remember the adventuresome couple in their 60’s who walked around Lake Superior this year?  Please click here if you haven’t read their amazing story.  Kate Crowley and Mike Link undertook this 1,600 mile journey with the intention of promoting Lake Superior, the largest freshwater lake in the world.  Everywhere they stopped, they talked about fresh water.  They made us think–and think again–about the importance of this natural resource and how we can’t take it for granted.

I’m sure you’ll be excited to discover that they made it walking  all the way around the lake!  Isn’t that inspiring?  They hiked full circle back to Duluth, Minnesota, on September 18th.  Please click here to read about the day Barry and I interviewed them back in May.

River dance

Most of these photos were taken at the Sturgeon River Falls two days ago.  Susan (click here if you don’t know who Susan might be) and I decided to abandon our computers and hike by the river.  Afterward we enjoyed a sandwich down at the Hardwood Steakhouse in Covington.

Churning foam

Today I invite you–remember, it’s never to late to think about water, discuss water, blog about water–to pour a tall glass of water.  You can add a slice of lemon or lime, if you like.  Sit down and drink.  Sit down and think about this precious resource that we so often take for granted.  Remember how it feels to be thirsty, really thirsty.  Think of all the people on our planet who have to walk long distances to a well to draw a simple pail of water.

Swift moving moisture

Now, drink deeply.  Give thanks.  If you choose, you might do a little ceremony I once witnessed by a Native American elder.  Thank the Spirit of Life (God, Great Spirit, Jesus, Allah, whatever you call the divinity) and pour a little bit of water on the earth, offering it back to the earth. 

Waterfall

The elder said reverentially, “Thank you, Mother Earth, for your sacred blood.”

Wishing you all a day filled with water…and appreciation for its flowing abundance in our lives.

P.S.  Thanks, Elena, for your blog post yesterday which alerted me to Blog Action Day!

P.S.S.  Laughter with those of you who read the earliest edition of this blog post.  I was convinced I was a day late–that TODAY was October 16th.  I’m living in a time warp and don’t know what day it is.  Are you too?    Thanks to my daughter who contacted me with the correct date.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to “Blood of the Mother Earth”

  1. elenasc says:

    This is very nice! Thank you to be part of this!!!

  2. jeffstroud says:

    Thank you kathy! well done, great photographs! I visited Elena’s blog too, she has a great blog there!

    I am Love, Jeff

  3. Susan D says:

    Your time warp is still in effect. You are right on time for Blog Action Day! At least, it’s Oct. 15th in my world. And what a wonderful topic. The potable water here is overly chlorinated so I let it sit before drinking. I LOVE the water at Arvon School. So fresh and cleansing. Your “water” photos are gorgeous!! Especially like Colors of Water, River Dance, Churning Foam and Waterfall. Thanks for taking me along on that Water Walk … bliss. Will honor water – even more so – this day…

    • Kathy says:

      shhhh, Susan. This is a secret time warp. (Suddenly singing the song in my mind “Does anyone really know what time it is?) lol. I am obviously challenged even locating the appropriate date.) We are lucky when we don’t have to drink chlorinated water, that’s for sure. Thank you for the walk by the Sturgeon the other night.

  4. holessence says:

    Kathy – This is a breathtaking pictoral presentation. I am in awe of what you captured, and in reverence — always — for water.

    • Kathy says:

      Laurie, thank you!! It was a joy to take these pictures and tie them in with a larger concern for Water. (It is a joy learning what the new camera will and won’t do, as well. Gonna buy that new lens one of these days. Soon.)

  5. John says:

    This was a wonderful blog. I think about the water often, even more these days contemplating what could happen on the Yellow Dog Plain with the Eagle Kennicott mine. My heart aches for the people who so desperately need employment, but I shudder to think how much those jobs could cost us all in the long run.

    • Kathy says:

      John, how I admire how you’re looking at this issue. My heart, too, aches for the unemployed of our community. There are so many of them. Yet I want sustainable employment–sustainable jobs which won’t end up hurting our children and children’s children with polluted water.

  6. Robin says:

    It’s an important issue, that’s for sure. Wish I’d come by earlier. I might have aimed my blog post today in that direction (life giving water) rather than in the direction I went (musings on death, renewal, and memories).

    Your words and beautiful pictures remind me of a chant:

    The river is rolling, rolling and flowing
    The river is rolling, down to the sea
    Oh Mother, carry me, child I will always be
    Oh Mother, carry me, down to the sea.

    Not sure who to attribute it to.

    • Kathy says:

      Chanting along with you, Robin, and imagining the sounds of that river carrying us to the sea. Will stop by to read your blog about death, renewal and memories.

  7. Colleen says:

    Kathy, your Colors of Water photo is thought-provokingly lovely. I’m guessing this is pure, uncontaminated water in it’s most natural and glorious enviornment. It brings to mind Masaru Emoto and how blessing and expressing gratitude for this precious resource can change us and our world.
    The idea that water is a mirror reflecting our mind, our thoughts, our soul feels very right to me.

    Appreciating water and you 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, thank you for the reminder about Masaru Emoto’s work. To think that gratitude and blessing can actually change the properties of water. How often we forget that… Appreciating you too!

  8. Kathy, such a delight ~ your words vie for attention with the visuals, and yet I know that if I just follow the gentle guidance you provide, the two will flow into each other.
    But this is a blog to be visited at least twice, if not more, for the wealth of water’s significance it brings into my life.
    I’m feeling refreshed just reading it. Yes, water is such an integral part of our ceremonies as well.

  9. Kathy says:

    I found your blog via Meenakshi where I found a most serene poem bringing the depths of water’s lessons, and now this… I stop and quench my thirst in majestic images and words that transcend all time. Thank you so much Kathy for your blog.

  10. LOVE LOVE LOVE

    The essence of the sacred has been captured here in such vivid color!!!!!
    Yes I am so inspired to get a glass and really savor the beauty of actually being so blessed.

  11. bearyweather says:

    Looks like the waterfalls on your side of the Great Lake are just as beautiful as mine. Hiking on the North Shore is my favorite get-away .. I am jealous that you were able to go this week. Thanks for mentioning that couples hike around the lake … keeping our lake healthy and happy is crucial. Someday, i would like to take that same hike (or bike .. or drive if I am too feeble).

    • Kathy says:

      bearyweather, do you think you could hike 1,600 miles? I am not-so-confident that I could! We have driven around the lake, years and years ago, and truly enjoyed that. Hope you enjoy a waterfall next time you’re out hiking.

      • bearyweather says:

        Nope … it is more of a dream (and why I mentioned biking and driving ;0). I would love to have a month or more to do the drive very slowly and hike a few waterfalls or scenic outlooks each day all the way around the lake.
        Unfortunately, there are just a lot of little lakes and trees … no waterfalls nearby … I need to travel to see them.

  12. Cindy Lou says:

    Having almost always lived near large bodies of water – I am almost always in awe of it. The past few years have found me fascinated by the natural drainage system out at camp – following where the small rivulets of water end up keeps me thankful.

  13. Pingback: Follow your heart’s quest… « Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

