Life and death

Reflection

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Life and death

  1. Very cool!

    I am just sitting here reflecting in the waiting room at the hospital…Just waiting to see how long mom will be kept here…

  2. Rich for me today, Kathy, to have this theme. I am enjoying the sun in the garden today and the squirrels smelling the spots where my friends planted over 100 daffodils in honor of my Mom on Saturday. Going off to write, just wanted to see what you are up to first. I appreciate our sychronicity. Love, S

  3. Susan D says:

    The light has the “lonely” feel to it. Reflections of the trees are amazing in their detail. Lovely…

    • Kathy says:

      I like the Pequaming Cemetery because it feels so magic there. It feels so lonely, yet so comforting with all the trees. I love the way this photo looks as if roots are growing out of the graves. This is one of my favorite photos of ALL TIME! I am going to get it framed.

  4. Food for my soul this day Kathy, thank you.

  5. barb says:

    I like that the reflection is in sharper focus than the cemetery – and that the fence is keeping death at bay.

    • Kathy says:

      Isn’t that interesting, barb? I never thought about the fence keeping death at bay. But it seems to. (Guess what? I climbed over the fence and into the cemetery! That was exciting, let me tell you.)

  6. Colleen says:

    The light is wonderful. Stunning. It never ceases to amaze me how the quality of light can be so different in different parts of the country/world. And it seems that sometimes the camera captures/sees this more than just us looking at it. Have always wondered about this. Beautiful.

    You have a new look!!

    • Kathy says:

      It was a gift, Colleen. The light came out at such a unique angle for only a half hour yesterday morning. I never thought about light being so different in other places. Wonder what the light will be like in Florida?

      Yes, I kept exploring with new looks several times yesterday afternoon. It was fun–and frustrating. There are certain things I like about each new look, but not others. I like this look a LOT except for the way the comments look. It’s going to take some time to get used to this new commenting format. I wanted something which would show the photos larger. I am head-over-heels in love with large photos. 🙂

      • Colleen says:

        I like your new look too! There was a nano-moment of “startle” and then a moment of “am I in the right place” and another moment of “oh, no…change (sighing). Then a settling in and actually seeing your new pages. Very effective.
        The comment section is very much like the question of the day set-up in the old Gaia.

        I’m looking forward to your thoughts (and images) on the light in Florida. For whatever reason this is what usually stays in my memory long after other images and memories about a place have faded. I love this photo too. Very much!

        • Kathy says:

          Colleen, I am still startled by the blog. I need to–quick!!–write more blogs. So we can stop being startled.

          I am fascinated by your comment about light staying with you. I am a baby in light-awareness. Can’t wait to learn more!

  7. Robin says:

    I came by and thought I’d commented on this yesterday. Very interesting photo and reflection.

    I like your new look. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Robin, I am so confused by this new comment format (and a glut of messages in the inbox of email) that I am not sure who has responded and about what and why. LOL! I love love love this photo. Barry is going to put it in the paper because he likes it too. I want it framed. His co-worker said, “Yeah, yeah, I don’t like this photo so much but I love the one of the tree that fell in the storm that looks like an eagle.” Strange how we all have different tastes! I don’t know why that still startles me.

  8. I thought I posted a comment here, Kathy. Did it die on me? Get buried in cyberspace? Turn to dust? 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Scot, I suspect it’s out there floating in cyberspace somewhere. It has never landed on this here blog, alas. So what did you post? Can you remember your thoughts? Inquiring minds want to know!

  9. Cindy Lou says:

    Hey youse! I’m like Colleen and wondered if I was in the right place…which isn’t all that unusual for me these days :}! Just got back last night (Sunday) from a weekend downstate w/ my JenJen, Kenzie, Ricky and his Jen, Mom – all at my sister’s home. What fun – they all went to the U of M game and dare I say?
    GO BLUE! Jen, Mom and I stayed to be entertained by Miss Kenzie. I shall have to get photos up on FB. I so miss this place when I miss a few days!?!? 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      You think you miss this place…we miss YOU! I am glad you had a wonderful weekend downstate. Glad to see that you’ve settled in this slightly-remodeled new living room. How I used to love visiting Ann Arbor when Christopher lived there.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

