Another bird in Paradise

Snowy Egret

Do some of you old-time readers remember that my dad always looks up at the planes jetting into south Florida and announces, “Another bird coming into Paradise”? 

This post shows you some of the resident birds of Paradise–from one of the newly arrived birds from Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.

So many birds in Fort Myers Beach, Florida:

Egrets, Herons, Pelicans,  Cormorants, Anhingas!

Gulls, Ibis, Terns, Spoonbills!

Mom and I walked through the “Bird Sanctuary” on our way toward the Outrigger Motel and Restaurant this morning.  We ambled along the bright sunny Florida beach.  We picked up live sand dollars and tossed them back into the Gulf.  We squinted into the sun.   We waded in the surf.  Later, we sipped lemonade and orange juice with Dad (who arrived on his bicycle.)

It’s been a quiet day.  After our walk, we ate lunch.  Then napped.  Then I snoozed more by the pool, reading. 

Ahhh, this is the life, folks.  One could get used to this.   80 degrees.  Sunny. 

We’re headed to dinner and the theatre in twenty-five minutes.  I must type fast.  Have at least 75 photos I haven’t shown you yet, but didn’t want to freeze up any slow-loading computers.

Welcome to Fort Myers Beach, readers.  Hope you enjoy our week as much as I will!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Another bird in Paradise

  1. Oh my gosh, Kathy, the photos are exceptional. The clarity of the first one, especially, took my breath! I’m so happy for you with your folks in the glorious weather by the beach. Ahhhhhhhhh

    • Kathy says:

      Thanks, Laurie, that first one amazed me too! It is glorious weather. Which is good–because last spring when we visited it was ch-ch-chilly. OK, in the 70’s.

  2. ninnys1 says:

    Loving these gorgeous bird’s and your skill in capturing each one’s beauty. Thank’s!

  3. Pingback: Another bird in Paradise (via Lake Superior Spirit) « Ninny's Nest

  4. Colleen says:

    Oh my….that sky!! The blue is exquisite! And the white egret! What lovely photos and what a lovely day. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy……

  5. Sue says:

    Oh my goodness….your photos are stunning! Now I’m so envious….I want your camera, and I want your lens too!! 🙂

    • Sue says:

      and I really love the last picture!! Great shot!

      • Kathy says:

        This camera & lens seems to be a winner. Of course I need to figure out how to use it. I am still basically playing point and shoot. Scott Thomas told me to use flash when doing portraits outside….can’t even figure out where the flash button is!

        • Kathy says:

          I “saw” that last shot in my mind’s eye and so wanted it to turn out. My mother said, “Why in the world are you trying to just get his feet?” I loved that it turned out, too.

  6. Awesome….I would bet you could find an awesome feather from those birds…I started collecting feathers….

    Have a grand time

  7. P.j. grath says:

    Love seeing the birds enjoying themselves, as I know you are, too. Love that last image, the black feet and long, horizontal shadow telling the whole story.

  8. Karma says:

    That gorgeous clarity – that is one of the big differences I noticed when I started shooting with the Rebel. Your egret pictures are gorgeous, and I am quite jealous of all the wonderful photography opportunities I am sure that you will have this week!

    • Kathy says:

      Isn’t the quality/clarity amazing, Karen? I am still not sure how to use the darn camera to get the optimal shots in different situations. Don’t tell Scott but I am still putting it on automatic most of the time. Will try to show you a cool butterfly shot that turned out, soon as possible.

  9. Dawn says:

    WONDERFUL! I’M SPEECHLESS! ENJOY!

  10. OHHHHH Kathy The photos are breath takin gon my Mom’s computer, rather than my cell!

    WOW

    • Kathy says:

      Isn’t it fascinating how different computers/phones show different qualities of the photos? On one computer a photo looks so-so and then leaps out on another.

  11. KathUsitalo says:

    Beauteous.

  12. Jeannie says:

    Awesome pics of these amazing feathered beings, they live here on the West Coast also, I always get so excited when I see them…

  13. Jessica says:

    Glad you are enjoying FL Kathy. It sort of stinks that I moved to the side of the state you don’t visit. I guess we are destined to be on the opposite sides of both FL and MI. LOL Up here in the panhandle, it has been trying to get into the 70’s during the day and the last few nights we’ve actually had frost.

    • Kathy says:

      Darn it, Jessica, we’re doomed! LOL. Maybe we’ll meet one of these days. Maybe you and your family will be taking a visit on the West Coast of Florida one of these years. Maybe we’ll talke a walk in the Bird Sanctuary. Frost in Florida does not sound good…

  14. John says:

    OBJECTIVE FOR THE WEEK: Beyond touching your toes. Before leaving at weeks end, by evening you need to be able to bend over and pick-up three sand dollars from the beach. (No you may not wiggle you feet several inches below the surface of the sand to shorten your reach)

    • Kathy says:

      John, I had to laugh. You are so funny. OK, you want to know the toe-touching scoop. I have not done yoga for three or four days now. But–just checked–the toes are still reachable. Phew. My mom just said, “You can do yoga after our walk.” I said, “But I have to start downloading more pictures and post another blog before our boat ride.” She said, “Well, it’s up to you, Kathy.” As for finding sand dollars, it’s an unusual day when there are lots and lots of sand dollars on the beach. The sand dollar touching opportunity may not happen again!

  15. Cindy Lou says:

    Beautimous, wondermous, fabulous…..my favorite is your first! That white against that incredible blue – WOW!!!

    • Kathy says:

      It sure was a WOW picture, Cindy Lou. I kept rubbing my eyes saying, “How did this one get so clear and sharp and crisp?” Glad you enjoyed too. Really glad.

  16. Kiah says:

    What a wonderful welcome to Florida..gorgeous Mama. Have a wonderful time! xoxoxoxo

    • Kathy says:

      Kiah, wish you were here, too. Remember our last trip down to Florida together? You even walked on the beach with us in the mornings, didn’t you? Miss you!

  17. Carol says:

    I am a day behind and so have commented on Thursday’s post before this one, but I suspect while you are in Florida my comments will be the same: Wow!

    • Kathy says:

      Carol, I am so far behind in reading blogs that I might never catch up! (And probably won’t have time to visit blogs until later next week after I’m home & settled.) Isn’t it fun when we feel so many WOW’s?

  18. Robin says:

    Fantabulous bird captures. Simply beautiful. The kind that make me say “Wow!”

    It sounds like you’re having a wonderful time. Enjoy. 🙂

  19. Reggie says:

    When I saw that first picture, I literally GASPED.

    And then there were MORE!

    I have NEVER seen a sky that BLUE or a bird that BRILLIANTLY white.

    WOW. That new camera of yours has definitely been worth every cent. S-T-U-N-N-I-N-G!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

