Happy Birthday, dear Mom!

Mom walking along Fort Myers Beach

It’s such a delight to spend my mother’s 78th birthday with her.

I love you, Joanne...

We walked again this morning through the Bird Sanctuary on Fort Myers Beach, Florida.  We saw something special–a birthday gift for my mother.  I shall show you tomorrow.

Live sand dollar Mom found...throw it back in the sea...it's illegal to keep it.

We paused by the Sand Sculpture Festival and watched the beginning efforts on the sand sculptures.  Stay tuned for those photos–later this weekend.

Two gulls

We sipped lemonade at the Outrigger.  I hope you won’t get bored hearing our “same old story” most mornings.  We get up, we walk th beach, we sip lemonade.

Precious Mom and Dad

Walking home, we met my brother, Tim, on the sidewalk.  It was so good to see him again!

Don't blink Mama on the beach with Twins. Don't blink...time passes so swiftly.

Tim and his wife, Michele, and other friends from the condominium joined us on my parent’s deck boat and motored to Parrot Key for lunch. 

I hesitate to tell you–I got a little sick.  Nothing to worry about.  It was probably my gall bladder.  Haven’t had an attack for at least one and a half years.  I haven’t been eating as healthy as usual recently.  In the last few days have eaten an asiago cream cheese bagel, fish swimming in butter sauce and cream cheese fish dip.  For a person who cannot process oil–this is not good.  (For those of you who don’t know the whole story, the surgeon wanted to take out my gall bladder five years ago.  When I eat really healthy, there is no problem.)

Reflections of a beautiful life

Back to my mother.  It has been so wonderful to spend her special day with her.  She is the best mother in the whole wide world.  I am very very lucky to be her daughter.

Flying through life...

We’re going to have a light supper of scrambled eggs and toast. 

This butterfly is for you, Mom.

Thank you, Mom, for being exactly who you are.  I love you.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Happy Birthday, dear Mom!

  1. So glad you can spend time with your mom and dad, I am sure they cherish you as well.
    That is such a wonderful thing to do.

  2. Marianne says:

    Happy Birthday, Kathy’s mom. How wonderful to be in Florida with your parents. Looks like it’s still summer there. Hope you feel better real soon, Kathy.

  3. fountainpen says:

    Hey, Kathy, My Mom would be 99 today: 11-11-11….
    Is today: 11-11-10 really your mother’s birthday as well?????

    Fountainpen

  4. holessence says:

    Oh my gosh Kathy, your post made me cry. Not sure why, it just did. Beautiful.

  5. Gerry says:

    Excellent butterfly, excellent Mom . . . perhaps only one of the very best mothers in the whole wide world, as I remember another one . . . Clearly I have to make reservations to spend LaMirada Bob’s birthday with him. I probably won’t encounter a butterfly, but who knows?

  6. Carol says:

    There are no words. Just ahhhhhhhh and wow!

  7. Kiah says:

    Happy birthday Nans and feel better Mama!

  8. Happy Birthday to your mom Kathy. I love feeling your joy through your blog post.

    By the way, do you have a new camera? These photos are exceptionally lovely – extra clear and bright.

  9. Susan D says:

    Exquisite ~ all of it. Thank you.

  10. Reggie says:

    Happy, Happy Birthday, dear Mom of Kathy! You are so lucky to have each other. Sending blessings and joyfilled wishes to both of you for your continued good health and a long, happy, fulfilled life. Hugs!

  11. Dawn says:

    Happy Birthday to your Mom. She’s lovely! They say we all end up looking like our mothers, and in your case that’s a good thing!

    Loved the “reflections on a beautiful life” photo. Because of the symmetry, the color, but mostly because it’s so wonderful when someone who has a beautiful life recognizes it at the time and enjoys it.

    Enjoy.

  12. Robin says:

    This is such a beautiful post with beautiful, wonderous pictures to go with it. I loved reading it and am so glad you cherish your Mom and your moments with her. As you pointed out in the photo with the twins, don’t blink.

    I’ve avoided surgery through healthy eating, too. It’s not always easy to keep it up but so worth it. 🙂

  13. P.j. grath says:

    Mom’s birthday spent with Mom–priceless! Happy birthday to her! Love the reflected umbrellas. Butterfly, too, OF COURSE!!!

  14. Karma says:

    Very nice tribute to your mom. And a very nice butterfly shot! I knew I’d be jealous of your photo opportunities. The 11th was also my hubby’s mom’s birthday. We had a delicious cake, but not nearly as lovely of a day.

  15. Kathy says:

    Hello everyone! I read every one of your comments to my mom. She was so pleased. She said she is going to remember this blog until the day she dies. I told her it was her electronic birthday card~~even though she got a “real” birthday card, too. Fountainpen, how cool that your mother was born on 11-11, too. I would respond to each of your comments individually but we’re down to 15 minutes before we take off again. Jeezz!! We don’t have this much excitement and activity in the woods, let me tell you. Thanks again for commenting. You put a smile on both of our faces…numerous times during the day.

  16. Marion Stevens says:

    Kathy- It is so good to see pictures of your mom and dad. You mom and I go way back to when we were kids, my brother Bill, me, Joanne and Doug always had such fun when we got together in Indiana or Michigan. I always thought she was older than me, but my 78 was in March so, I have been wrong for a while. You photography is so good, my best to you and the family. Your cousin, Marion

    • Kathy says:

      Cousin Marion, I just read your comment to my mom and dad. They were so pleased to hear from you! You guys do have many memories together. By the way, you are exactly the same age as my mother-in-law. Did you know that her name is Marion, too? And her 78th birthday was last March!

  17. Cindy Lou says:

    What a blessed, beautiful day – shared among blessed, beautiful people!

    • Kathy says:

      Thanks, Cindy! (You know my Mom got so excited to hear these comments. She and Dad say every day, “Read us the comments, Kathy!” That is fun…)

  18. Colleen says:

    Kathy, the best of all wishes and many blessings to your Mom on her birthday. Is that beautiful flower (zinnia??) and butterfly in your Mom’s garden/or patio? The combination of that beautiful Florida light and your new camera….assuming it’s your new camera…. is exquisite.
    I do hope that you’re feeling better and that the light suppers are making a difference!

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, I am daily impressed by the new camera. Daily impressed by the Florida light, too! I am feeling really good. Back to eating very healthy… Appreciate your well-wishes so much.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

