Magnificent sculptures of sand

Please join us on Fort Myers Beach for the 2010 American Sand Sculpting Championship.    You probably won’t be counted as one of the 50,000 estimated attendees–as you’re only viewing the magnificent sand sculptures on your computer.  You won’t need your sun glasses, either.   Simply pour yourself a tall glass of lemonade (or a strawberry margarita), listen to some Jimmy Buffett tunes, and prepare to wander through 24th annual festival which drew artists from all over the world.  Please enjoy!  The artwork is indeed incredible…

Wasn’t that fun?  I overheard a visitor questioning an artist:  “Don’t you wish you could save your creation?  Aren’t you sad that it’s gone so quickly?”

The artist shook his head.

“Not at all!”  he said.  “I kind of like the idea of the impermanence.  It makes it more special, somehow.”

I agree.  These sand creations are indeed very special.  It was a pleasure to see them, wasn’t it?  (Please visit this official 2010 American Sand Sculpting website for more information.)

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Magnificent sculptures of sand

  1. holessence says:

    Kathy – those are unbelievable! I can’t even begin to imagine the skill it takes to create sand sculptures. Thank you so much for taking us along. That was fun!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Laurie…I’m not getting “bad grades” for missing D,E AND F over on your blog, am I? Pretty soon I’ll be waking up from nightmares because the semester is half over and I’ve missed so man classes. LOL! Guess I’ll have to cram next week…

  2. bearyweather says:

    Amazing that they can be created out of sand. I would like to watch them being built. Do they mix something with the sand besides water? Seems to me that as they dried, they would crumble without something in the mix.

    Thanks for sharing a warm beach .. we had our first snow today and it already feels like it has been here for months … cabin fever is starting early.

    • Kathy says:

      Bearyweather, I believe they do. Maybe Ivory Soap? Don’t quote me, though. I have many photos of the sand sculptures being created. You would have loved to see those. I was going to do a blog that started with the pile of sand and ended with the finished creation. But…too many photos…not enough space or time. Alas. I HEARD about that snow!! Made me so glad to be missing that first snow. Wanting to know if it stayed on the ground in the U.P. or if it’s all melted.

      • Kathy says:

        My mom just said they mix in a biodegradable type of glue (like Elmer’s Glue). Guess “Ivory Soap” was the wrong answer, lol!

        • Reggie says:

          Oh! I always wondered what they mixed into the sand, because the sand here sure as anything won’t stay in such shapes! I love sand sculptures, they remind me so vividly of childhood on the beach, building sandcastles and making sand-puddings… okay, I was VERY little then… 😉

  3. John says:

    If there wasn’t so much open space and blue sky it almost looks like Houghton Winter Carnival in February! I wonder if they used a different type of glue could they make permanent pieces of art … hmmmm.

    By the way I liked your picture in the Sentinel this week. What was the reflecting surface? The top of your car?

    • Kathy says:

      John, you wouldn’t believe it! I read your comment about liking my picture in the Sentinel this week and thought: What picture? What is he talking about? What picture could Barry have possibly used? And then I remembered. The cemetery/reflection photo! The one that was in this blog: https://upwoods.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/
      Yes, the reflecting surface was the top of my car. I love that photo more than you could believe!

  4. truels says:

    Very impressive that these talented artists can create those beautiful sand sculptures, great post, Kathy!

  5. Colleen says:

    The sculptures are quite amazing and the fact that they will soon be lost to the tides and the ocean somehow gives them a sense of being eternal…. peace-full.
    And a strawberry margarita just might be a nice idea too. To round out the experience 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, I haven’t had any strawberry margaritas down here…but we have had some wine. We were drinking strawberry lemonades (with frozen strawberries) during the Sand Sculpting festival. Mmmm…. delicious!

  6. Susan D says:

    Once again, exquisite – all of them, but I am enamored with the turtle. He just jumped (okay, crawled) right into my heart. Thank you, Kathy!

  7. Carol says:

    Just amazing! I think it would break my heart to spend the time to create one of these and then have it gone so soon. Which is why I hate housework – it just doesn’t last.

    It’s another WOW!

    • Kathy says:

      OK, Carol, you had me laughing! Yep, housework doesn’t last. Darn it. It’s interesting that these artists have chosen to work in a medium that doesn’t last. Lessons in impermanence…

  8. Great Sculptures….Reminds me of the ice sculpoting that they do in Minnesota at the St Paul Winter Carnival and also the “Butter” sculpting at the Minnesota State Fair….

    • Kathy says:

      Kim, they have a Winter Carnival in Houghton (just north of our place) with fabulous ice sculptures. These do look similar…but not as shiny and cold!

  9. Kiah says:

    FINALLY! Fellow blog readers, I’ve been waiting for these pictures for years. Every year I ask for pictures and every year I’ve been denied…until now! THANK YOU mama! My favorite is the woman in photo number five.

    • Kathy says:

      You are so welcome, Kiah. These are all for YOU! Since you’ve been asking and asking. (I like that photo of the woman, too. I like most of them…) Can’t believe you’ve never been down here for a sand festival.

  10. Robin says:

    Amazing! It seems to me it takes a lot of talent to do something like that. Thank you for sharing them with us. 🙂

  11. Cindy Lou says:

    Have you been there for this festival before and not shared pictures with us? They’re gorgeous! I’ve only watched specials on TV but these folks are amazingly talented – truly works of art. I’m with you and Kiah on your favorite 🙂 I think it should be a rule now that if you’re down there, you MUST share with us.

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, indeed, Cindy Lou, have been down here for several sand festivals before. But that would have been BC. Before camera. Back in the days when I thought photography was for people who didn’t know how to live in the moment. Ha ha! We must beware when we judge others~~pretty soon we might be there ourselves!

  12. Elisa's Spot says:

    oooooooooooooooooooooooooo

  13. Val Erde says:

    These are fabulous. I remember watching a sand sculptor at Weymouth, Dorset (UK) when I was a child, I think they still have some there from time to time, though will be a different guy.

    • Kathy says:

      Val, many of the same sculptors return to this festival year after year. There is one guy which stands out among the rest with a long white beard. He always sculpts sand castles. He posed for a photograph…if I had room, I would have put him in the blog.

      • Reggie says:

        You mean you have MORE photos of these sand sculptures, Kathy? Can’t you do another piece then? Some blue sky, white sand, glittering sea kind of photos juxtaposed with steely sky, white snow, glittering frost kind of photos? 😉

        • Kathy says:

          I have HUNDREDS of extra photos, Reggie. It’s really sad when you take so many photos and can only use a few in a blog. The others all sit there sad & forlorn in their folder sniffling, “Why not me? Why not me?” I am half tempted to do a Florida Rejects Blog.

        • Reggie says:

          Oooh! Oooh! I’d be happy with that! 🙂

  14. Jessica says:

    I have the sculptures from the contest up here that took place earlier in the summer. They just haven’t made it to the blog yet. Isn’t it amazing how much details they can create with sand, water and basic tools?

    Thanks for sharing your trip. Dave and I want to get down to southern FL next year while the kids are on summer break.

    • Kathy says:

      Hope you make it down, Jessica. Southern Florida is beautiful…but quite congested. I love the south end of Fort Myers Beach because it’s much quieter and more isolated than the busy north end.

  15. kiwidutch says:

    Thanks for providing the link from my sand sculpture photos to yours, amazing aren’t they!!!
    The wolves and the eagle is especially detailed, but as to picking a favourite? .. that’s way too hard!
    I like how the artist actually loved the fact that they *weren’t* permanent… all the more reason to take photos and extend the joy of admiring them.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

