Ha! Fooled ya, didn’t I?

Palm trees at sunset

Ha!  You thought we were done with Florida, didn’t you?

You thought we were going to be viewing SNOW photos tonight, didn’t you? 

(Because snow photos are what greeted Ms. Rebel this morning when she snapped her lens outside the door.)

High school drum band during the Sand Sculpture Festival

However, how WRONG you are!  We are still dreaming about Florida.

Several Florida photos have been protesting since yesterday.

“Why didn’t you publish US?” they whined.  “Weren’t we good enough?”

Go slow. Slower. No wake, boater! You'll wake up the birds...

In order to prevent an inner revolt, I have agreed to publish the Florida Rejects.

Ooops, didn’t mean to call them Rejects!  They simply were not needed at the time other blogs were published.

However, let’s allow them their space, shall we?  Without censorship. We can wait to see snow photos, can’t we?

Underwater shell

However, we can talk about Upper Michigan and what’s happening now.  We’ll let the photos “do their thing” while we gab away about the Latest.

The latest is:  Snow.  One half inch.  On the deck and forest floor this morning.  Oooo.  Chilly, folks.  Winter Hath Arrived.

Artist paints on beach

Which is hard to fathom when we’re viewing Florida photos, isn’t it?  Our world is so compressed these days.  One minute we’re sweating on the beach and the next minute we’re shivering near Lake Superior.  How can this be?

Artists build sand sculptures

I dug out my winter sweaters today.  Ahhh, blessed warmth. 

I also nearly dumped a cup of coffee on innocent bystanders today, but that’s another story.  Let’s pretend that didn’t happen.

Pelicans in flight

Barry has the bird feeder up in front of our house.  Come, chickadee!  Come, finches!  Eat of our winter sunflower seeds.  Spread your chirping  joy into our winter home.  We’ll feed you in exchange for your color and enthusiasm during these long snowy months.  We will.

Water patterns

The truth is, dear reader, I can’t believe how easy it is to forget Florida.  How easy it is to embrace winter.  You would think you would be protesting.  Grumping.  Shivering.  Longing for tropical warmth.

But no.  I love living here, along the shore of Lake Superior.  In a land where snow and ice carve the land during four to five months of the year.

Yet another pair of feet...and a shadow.

Let’s dig our feet into this northern earth and wait and see what it reveals.  In the cold, the bare bones of trees, much is given.  You simply have to see beyond the bold offerings of summer.  Let’s surrender to the new season, shall we?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Ha! Fooled ya, didn’t I?

  1. jeffstroud says:

    Hey cool shots, I love the first one! the rest are great too. I sorry I have not really followed your blog since you have been away. I am glad you had great time. That you are getting some fab photos!
    No I don’t want to see snow pix yet, but I suppose I should look some over and make some Christmas cards for my http://www.redbubble.com site? (plug)

    I will try to catch up with you!

    Jeff

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Jeff. I had been wondering what you thought of some of the Florida photos with the new camera. Can you believe it’s time to think about Christmas cards already? I’ll bet you have some cool snow photos which will be perfect to send to friends & family.

  2. emaclean says:

    Personally, I would rather be along the shore of Lake Superior than Florida any day. I envy you. Bet you don’t hear that too often from a Californian! Enjoy winter. I’ll be waiting for those snow photos!

    • Kathy says:

      emaclean, you just might change your mind after 6-7 months of snow! It always starts out so beautiful and pristine and lovely…and then after a few months you have “Cabin Fever” and you’d do anything to be somewhere warm and colorful. (But I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else…I don’t think…)

  3. holessence says:

    Kathy – I love “Yet another pair of feet and a shadow” – how cool is that?! I’ve had the woodburning stove blazing all day (Thursdays are my day to write at home). Winter? Bring it on!

  4. Marianne says:

    Kathy, I’m so glad you posted more photos of Florida. Beautiful!

  5. I am thinking about doing some painting next summer like the artist in your photo Kathy. I even have the same easel to do it with. And yes I was expecting some snow photos as well… but I can wait because I know that you have snow for a very long time. You will be wanting to visit me here on the west coast or make another trek to Florida long before it is gone.

    • Kathy says:

      Terrill, I am almost convinced that a trip to Vancouver/Mayne Island may be in order one of these years. It feels extremely possible…especially since that’s a place I’ve always wanted to visit. You would have been very inspired by the artists working along the beach. As for snow photos…stay tuned. They are in queue!

  6. P.j. grath says:

    We had snow this morning in Leelanau, too, Kathy–at least, here at the old farmhouse. Halfway to Northport and beyond there wasn’t any. Later, a bit in the air but no more.

    Florida has its beauties and appealing qualities, just too many people and too much development. But that comes, I guess, with the easy climate. Glad you had a good time with your folks.

    • Kathy says:

      You are right about your Florida assessment, Pamela. I like the south end of Fort Myers Beach because it has much fewer people and more wild lands. The north end is extremely populated. It’s hard to drive anywhere down there, though.

      It is interesting about that snow. We have had some on the ground each morning, but L’Anse has nothing. And that’s only 10-12 miles away. But they are more sheltered at the end of the Keweenaw Bay.

  7. Jessica says:

    🙂 Enjoy the snow for me too. I look forward to seeing the snow photos, but I am glad I won’t be there. We are planning on going to visit MI in March so Mother Nature might surprise us with snow yet.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh that Mother Nature! We’ve had many March snowstorms in Michigan, haven’t we? However I will cross my fingers that you will have a blizzard-free visit.

  8. Carol says:

    We had snow flurries this day, with some inches due to come in within the next few days I gather. Florida photos are appreciated, although I agree that I would rather see the warmth in photos than live in it. I missed the real seasons the years we lived in SoCal. Of course, your photos are great – do you ever tire of hearing that? I like that you took the bank picture from behind.

    • Kathy says:

      You know, Carol, I love visiting Florida but would never want to live there for the long-term. Maybe I could do what my parents do–stay down there for part of the year. But I don’t know. Winter has many gifts. Winter teaches us many things. How would we get our winter-lessons?

  9. Karla says:

    No, we shan’t surrender just yet Kathy. What about the Re… er, photos that didn’t make this second cut?

    • Kathy says:

      Karla, you come on over. Come on over. I’ll fix you a cup of tea or coffee and you can sit in front of the computer and look at the 200-300 photos that didn’t make the second cut. LOL! You could even bring some of ’em home with you.

  10. Dawn says:

    I don’t mind waiting a bit to accept that winter is here. I’m not quite done with fall yet. Love the Florida pictures. Especially the pelicans in flight and the pool water reflections…and love love love the shadow legs…

    • Kathy says:

      Autumn in the Upper Peninsula always seems to end too soon. Sigh. I want it to last another month. Spring, on the other hand, never seems to come. I want it to come earlier. However…Nature doesn’t listen to my pleading, so I’ve come to–almost–accept that she will do what she wants.

  11. Cindy Lou says:

    Great photos today….rejects? Nah, they just had to wait their turns! My favorites – pelicans, shell underwater and the bird’s feet.

    I’m still trying to cultivate my attitude for winter – trying to get to the point of embracing it. It’ll come – I’d really rather have snow than just the cold, cold brown.

    • Kathy says:

      We must “cultivate our attitude for winter”. I like that, Cindy Lou! You will have to read my blog today. I am trying hard to “cultivate my attitude for winter.” Cold, cold brown can get so dismal. As can endless gray, gray skies. But NO! Let’s not get stuck here–after all, it’s only November!

  12. truels says:

    Here in Denmark the winter comes closer too these days, but not with snow and clear sky: It is raining, cold, winds are blowing — bbrrrrrr! Your pictures make me forget this awful weather for a moment, thanks!

    • Kathy says:

      Rain, cold & blowing winds sounds awfully chilly, truels. I can almost feel the cold through the computer. (Actually, I think it’s getting cold in our house…must go stoke the woodstove now.)

  13. You found a way to make talking about snow feel warm. Maybe that’s the way to get through a long winter. Talk about it and show photos of tropical warmth, people on beaches and birds being birds in warm Florida sunshine. Well done! I feel warmer already. Nothing but a little wet snow here so far.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Scott~~so glad to make so many people feel warm. We actuallly have a few flakes falling ths morning from gray skies. A little skiff of leftover snow on the ground, not even a half inch. It looks like more is in the forecast, though.

  14. Karma says:

    We can certainly wait for the snow shots! It is not even Thanksgiving yet, afterall. Mr. Rebel is yet to feast his lens-eye on snow.
    I love the pelicans in flight! That must have been great to see. And the last shot with the feet and the shadow is adorable.
    I’m not ready to surrender to the season! It is more than a month away if one wants to get technical about it. Although, I promise to try to see it with new eyes this time around.

    • Kathy says:

      Karma, new eyes! That’s what we always need to remember. Fresh, new eyes, no matter what the world presents. I wish we could count on the Winter Solstice as the beginning of winter. But, around here, when Winter Solstice rolls around we’ve already been in winter for at least a month. Alas.

  15. What a treat ! Sitting inside on a cold day, snow topped mountains not far at all and… Florida right in front of you ! The mind can adjust easily to such beautiful photos. Water patterns, pelicans, shell, feet and shadow… all is adorable and most welcome. Thanks Kathy 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Isa, I am always delighted when you come visiting. Glad you enjoyed the Florida photos. (I would enjoy seeing that snow topped mountain in Switzerland, too…)

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

