Old Man Winter wears a beard of snow.

Autumn leaf in snow

Old Man Winter wears a beard of snow.

Grass and ice

You can ice-skate in the frozen pools of his eyes.  You can sled down his snowy chest.  You can drink hot cocoa against his slow beating heart.

Grass and snow

Old Man Winter takes a bride each December.  You can see her shadow as you celebrate Christmas, as you dance around the Solstice fire, as you sing songs of peace and joy. 

Shadows

Winter shadows birth deep within our soul.  Winter freezes our exteriors and carries us deeper, deeper, into the Cave of the Dreaming Bear.

In ice caves of our soul Winter shares secrets which can only be whispered at this time of the year.  Winter mouths words whispering us back to our essence, back to the time before birth, back to the time before you skied into this fresh new world of white flakes and full moons.

Winter is a gift.  Only when the world freezes, shuts down, covers in snow, will we find the deepest parts of ourselves…the parts we ignore in the easy breezy shine of summer’s sun.  Heat keeps us at the surface, sunning on hot beaches beneath bright rays.  Cold begs us to remember that which we forget in easier warmer times.  Cold takes us down snowy paths, empty paths, paths where the moon illuminates all we’ve forsaken in our rush toward warmth.

The larger vista

Old Man Winter tugs at his frosty beard.  He bellows frozen words across the woods.  The trees dance in his icy wind.  The snow pelts sideways. 

Winter tiptoes in...

Winter tiptoes in…but soon it shall settle at our hearth. Snow shall build its forest dens, deeper and deeper, until we fashion snowshoes to walk within the magic pristine world which Old Man Winter rules with his Christmas bride.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Old Man Winter wears a beard of snow.

  1. jeffstroud says:

    Kathy,

    How inspiring and thoughtful! I know there are more words I wish to say here but they just don’t seem wish to express themselves.

    I am Love, Jeff

  2. holessence says:

    Kathy – I really enjoyed the photographs you used to support your thoughts this morning. My favorite two are “Autumn leaf in snow” and “Winter tiptoes in.” Brrrrrrrr

  3. Dawn says:

    Ok. You’re beginning to convince me of Winter’s good points. But I’m still not ready! 🙂

  4. Karma says:

    BRRR! Your prose is poetic, but it doesn’t make me feel better about the Old Man’s approach, LOL!

    • Kathy says:

      Old Man Winter says he doesn’t care much about poetic prose, either, Karma. He just took a deep breath of the North Wind and blew it down on most of America. Better run for cover!

  5. Kiah says:

    Tee hee..at first glance, I though ‘grass and ice’ was some kind of green bean casserole!

  6. Bobz says:

    You have convinced me of Winter having positive points. Found your blog by Regg’s Grains of Sand. Nice work!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Bobz! Old Man Winter says, “I like this guy.” (And I am glad you found me via Reggie’s wonderful blog. Old Man Winter visits South Africa during the opposite half of the year. He likes to travel around. lol!)

  7. Kathy we have 3 inches of fresh snow this morning right here on Mayne Island on the 20th of November. Very exciting. We get so little snow it is a real treat. May even do a bonus post later today. I am inspired by your words “winter is a gift” and this morning it seems extra special with a break for gray skies and rain.

    • Kathy says:

      I saw your wonderful photos, Terrill. You had much more than a skiff of snow! You had a miniature beautiful snowy wonderland. Glad you enjoyed your break from the gray skies and rain. May you enjoy more snow this winter, if Old Man Winter agrees. (Just talked with Old Man Winter. He said he’ll do his best.)

  8. Susan D. says:

    Early this morning, Andrea and I visited the Pow-Wow grounds and planned to walk along the shore. We were too chilly. But I did tell her about the “hidden” pond and all the magic there. We enjoyed looking at the gray and white hues, and mysterious invitations to stay and gaze at Winter’s delights. Last night, we bundled up and walked under a crystal clear sky and nearly full moon. I could breathe! And breathe and breathe. Welcome, Dear Winter. How I welcome your softer quieter pace. Thank you, Kathy, for welcoming cold and for wonderful pictures of the evidence…

    • Kathy says:

      Old Man Winter says he likes you a lot, Susan. He liked your walk, even though you didn’t make it to the shore. He said he would make you his bride if he could–except for his prior engagement to the Christmas Bride. He says when you breathe deep into his crystal beauty, his love for the world grows stronger. Enjoy your visit with Andrea.

  9. Colleen says:

    Kathy, I’m chuckling at Kiah’s comment. The two of you must share the same wonderful sense of humor ……. and (I’m guessing) the same ability to see the world from unique-delightful-unexpected angles. I love your tribute to winter….just beautiful, but am happy to have only fond memories of snow and 40 below temperatures and to live vicariously through your words and pictures!

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, I must admit that we are quite the witty family. We compete for witty awards. (Old Man Winter just butted in and said HE is suppose to respond to comments, not me. Move on over, he said, or I will give you some slippery icy roads and you’ll be sorry.) Old Man Winter says he is glad you at least vicariously like him.

      • Colleen says:

        I still like him, I really do! It’s just that I don’t miss him the way that I once thought I would. He’s a lovely Old Man and I’m sure we’ll meet again one day. Please give him my love and a hug ….if he’s up for it!

  10. Cindy Lou says:

    You weave words so wonderfully that I’m ready for winter….’K, not really, but your words helped! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Old Man Winter says he’s been working on you, Cindy. He says you’re getting closer, getting warm. No, not warm! He says you’re getting cold. That’s how he plays hide n seek. (You’re getting cold, getting colder, colder, almost there!)

  11. Carol says:

    Winter is a guest – but like fish, guests that are around for too long . . . . In that light, I would prefer that winter not start until the middle of December and that it leaves by March. I love the seasons, I’d just like to see them divided up a bit differently. Winter should not be the longest of them, that should be fall.

    • Kathy says:

      Old Man Winter says he would stay for shorter periods of time, but people fight his presence. He says “What you resist, persists.” (I was going to try and convince O.M.W. otherwise but maybe you should give it a try?) lol.

  12. Nomme de Plumme says:

    That “Grass and Ice” reminds me of my, I mean my neighbors medical marijuana….

    Nomme

  13. Barbara says:

    Love the leaf in the snow and the larger vista… I love being tucked inside during a snowfall, or going out for a walk in flurries at dusk. “He bellows frozen words across the woods…” I love the old man!!!

    • Kathy says:

      Old Man Winter says you would make another good wife. However, he doesn’t believe in polygamy, so he’s sticking with the Christmas Bride. He said to tell you that he loves you, too. He says: Come for more walks with me this winter. I’ll show you surprises you’ve never even dreamed.

      • Barbara says:

        You can tell him I’ll definitely be coming out and eagerly looking forward to the surprises! I forgot to mention that I like your new blog theme, Kathy! Do you feel like you have more room to spread out?

        • Kathy says:

          Yes, indeed, Barbara. That is why I like it. It feels like it’s a larger living room in here now. The photos can stretch out all they want and it doesn’t feel cramped. Thank you!

  14. Robin says:

    I love the lines in grass and snow.

    I think Old Man Winter is hiding from us here in Ohio this year. We’ve had a few snowflakes mixed in with some rain (the day we left for San Diego, in fact) but nothing more. It’s been warm and mostly sunny, and it’s confusing the trees and shrubs which are starting to bud. Poor things won’t know what hit them when Old Man Winter finally does make an appearance.

    • Kathy says:

      Old Man Winter said he’s been having trouble getting across the Ohio Border. There’s a Summer Woman that spreads her wings up from the south, and she’s preventing entry just yet. He says you need to contact the Summer Woman about those buds. He says it’s not his fault. He says, “Tell the plant energy to move to the roots!!” I’m just passing it on…

  15. Winter tiptoes in…but soon it shall settle at our hearth. Snow shall build its forest dens, deeper and deeper, until we fashion snowshoes to walk within the magic pristine world which Old Man Winter rules with his Christmas bride.

    These words take me into a whole new realm of wonter….LOVE IT!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

