Pets versus technology…

Daisy

 

I am trying to change my perspective today.  Laurie, over at Speaking from the Heart, wrote a magnificent blog today about Our Perspective.  There is more than one way to view the world, you know! 

I am trying to change my perspective today.  You will all be pleased to know the computer is operating with the utmost cooperation!  None of my previous data was swallowed! 

Life is good over here at Life Superior Spirit…or IS it?

Lancelot in the manger

 

Well, it will be good as soon as I change my perspective.  For you see, the lovely attached printer (which is needed this weekend, mind you, for printing tax receipts and bank deposits) is no longer working.  We hooked it up when the computer returned from the Doc.  It turned on.  But the computer does not recognize the printer…and Kathy suddenly did not recognize either technology with friendly appreciation…and suddenly Kathy found herself swamped with frustration.

She meditated.  She came upstairs and heard advice.  “You should uninstall the printer, then re-install it!”  said the advicees. 

Kathy, instead, worked on changing her perception.  Her attitude.  She returned to the Past.  Something she rarely does.

She is specifically returning to the Days when we had pets.  Ahhh…the days when the Drue Household had pets.  First, after our marriage, we had a puppy named Bucky.  A black lab.  Who died when he ran to the neighbor’s farm and ate poison, so we think.  I cried as if losing a child. 

Then we had a suspected half-coyote named Tasha.  I am not going to tell you any more about Tasha, as that would take an entire blog.  Someday–if I reconcile with technology–I will scan a photo or two of Tasha and introduce her to you.

Lancelot expresses absolute shock at presence of new kitten, Daisy.

 

After two dogs, we switched to cats.  First there was Mango.  Then came Hunter (the most magnificent spiritual wise cat in the Universe!)  who is worth another blog by himself.  Hunter was a wanderer.  (Hmmm…sounds like more than one of our pets were wanderers, doesn’t it?) 

After Hunter, or simultaneous to Hunter, came Lancelot (Chris’ cat) and Daisy (Kiah’s cat).  I could tell you stories FOR DAYS about these cats.  About who liked to misbehave in certain ways, and who was anti-social, and who was found after running away three weeks later eating partridge five miles away. 

Yep, the latter would be our wanderer, Hunter.  The most spiritual and wise cat of the Universe.

OK, my mind is mostly happily nostalgic in the past.  It can’t remember all the pet-challenges.  It only remembers pet-love.  The final three cats (Hunter, Sir Lancelot and Miss Daisy) died within three years of one another.  Their passing coincided with the the departures of the children.

Barry and I are now pet-less.

No Bucky, Tasha, Mango, Hunter, Lancelot, Daisy.

None of those hamsters or guinea pigs.  (Oh yes, you would like to hear the story about how we cleaned the hamster cage that year outside under the oak tree and a half-dozen babies fell out, wouldn’t you?  Oh no, I think those were gerbils.  We had gerbils, too.)

Now we are animal-less.  Our lives run as smooth as clock-work.  Life is easy, life is simple–WHAT AM I SAYING?  Our pets are now computers and printers, I think!  They refuse to “sit” and “stay home” and “quit barking!” don’t they?  They have a mind of their own!  They rule the house!

Perhaps we should consider getting a cat or dog.  They might be more well-behaved than these technological marvels!

Barry, what do you think?  A cute little kitten or puppy for Christmas?

JUST KIDDING, sweetie!  I am fully content to look at these photos of our darlings, and remember days gone by. 

OK, I think my perspective has mellowed.  I’m sure by tomorrow the printer will be barking again. I’m sure.

Hunter--and Christopher

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Pets versus technology…

  1. Dawn says:

    Funny, today I was wrapping Christmas gifts, using that ribbon you can curl and was reminded of Smokey our cat, who used to eat all the ribbons off of all the packages under the tree. So I just stopped putting ribbons on packages. For years. She’s been gone 6 years now..and I haven’t thought of her in a long time. But tonight I had a Smokey memory…and you had yours. Funny. In a sentimental way.

  2. Marianne says:

    Beautiful picture of Daisy!

    I understand your printer frustration. I like it when everything works well, which is, fantasy land, I know. Do you remember Fantasy Land? I remember going there when I was young.

    • Kathy says:

      Gosh darn, Marianne, what happened to Fantasy Land? (I remember the board game “Candy Land”. And I remember traveling to visit the fairies at age 12. Spent a whole afternoon with them. One of the first and only times I lost track of several hours and “awoke” back playing Barbie dolls. I wish the printer would get fixed. But have–mostly–passed the Frustration Stage.

  3. Kiah says:

    I’ll get you a kitten for Christmas!!

  4. fountainpen says:

    I just had to put my calico, Miss Withiawheniwannabe,
    down….age and a serious thyroid tumor…..
    I miss her deeply…..not replaceable……many other
    cats in the universe, but Withia was just oh, so special!

    Fountainpen

    • Kathy says:

      Fountainpen, was Withia (OK will leave out her full name) a deeply wise spiritual cat, too? I am sorry you had to put her down. These precious ones are indeed not replaceable. I think you had a dear one.

  5. Tammy McLeod says:

    I love your kitty photos. I lost my most beloved feline ever this past summer and still miss him. We have a new kitty but alas she’s a bit skittish. And so is my printer.

  6. Elisa's Spot says:

    wow! your lancelot and new kitten daisy images are exactly like the first stray that we fed, tiger. We think Tiger didnot make it through the winter, though we hope someone took him in. The little fat gray puffball daisy, is exactly like Dingle’s kitten Fezzywig. Sadly, he escaped his mamma somehow and–going to cry–was run over in the parking lot. He was a runner and a hider kind of kitten very hard to locate when tiny.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, so sorry to hear about both Tiger and Fezzywig. Fezzywig is quite a name for a cat! Isn’t it interesting how all kittens are different and unique right from the beginning? There is a part of me that thinks all kittens should be the same. but how different they all are!

  7. Susan D says:

    I love the analogy of our computers and printers being our pets … for those of us who are pet-less now. I laughed with delight. I believe you’re right! Great insight … love the pet pictures and found myself longing for a furry kitty to love again. Ahhhh, but no … the computer screen would object to the fur flying….

    • Kathy says:

      Compliments like yours, dear Susan D, make me feel better. After I wrote this blog I thought, “What in the world are you writing about NOW? What a stupid blog to write! Who in the world wants to look at pictures of your cats from years ago? Shouldn’t you have just remained quiet??” But your laughing with delight makes it all worthwhile.

  8. holessence says:

    Kathy – I love your reminiscing and the photographs. I’ve never in my 53 years of living known what it’s like to live without companion animals. I imagine I’ll draw my last breat with a cat on my chest or a dog at my side (’cause it’s sure not gonna happen in a hospital).

    And while the inside of your home is animal-free, the outside of your home is surrounded by woodland creatures. And that’s equally lovely.

    (thank you for pointing to Speaking from the Heart)

    • Kathy says:

      You are exactly right! We are surrounded by many, many animals around our Little House in the Big Woods. Mostly deer. I would like a deer for a pet. (They say we shouldn’t do that…even if we could…) I am smiling thinking of you with a cat on your chest and a dog by your side. 🙂

  9. Karma says:

    I, like Ms. Holessence, can not imagine not having a pet in my life. I can’t remember a time as a child when we didn’t have at least one cat or dog, and hubby and I have always had pets. I’m imagining our current pets’ life-spans, like yours, may co-incide with the moving out of the kids. I’m not sure what I will want for pets the next time around, but I’m sure there will be a 4-legged furry creature in my life until my last day.

    • Kathy says:

      Smiling at your love of animals, Karma. So many people feel this deep love and appreciation and connection to their special pets. Blessings to you and your animal friends, both passed away and living now!

  10. barb says:

    I spent 10 hours in the past week at the Apple store – DURING the CHRISTMAS RUSH – sorry for yelling… I think my problem is finally solved. Sigh… However, I sometimes would rather have a pet than this new computer system.

    • Kathy says:

      OH BARB I THINK I WOULD BE YELLING TOO! You poor thing. 10 hours. I think you have me beat…although I’ve been working on my computer problems for at least ten hours. I am glad your problem is finally solved. You need to celebrate!

  11. Colleen says:

    This last five years is the first time EVER that our life hasn’t been shared with at least cat friend. I would love to hear the story of the most spiritual and wise cat of the universe. And of Tasha….having had several coyote experiences and encounters myself over the years. I’m wondering if our last friend and most amazing companion, Miss Kitty, might have been related to Hunter 🙂

    I’ve always loved cats and you’re so right about them all beind so very different. What lovely memories and photos….. and good luck with your printer!

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, this seems like another thing we have in common. Deep bows to Miss Kitty… (I would tell the stories now but it’s been a little challenging this week…which is another story. too many stories, too little time!)

  12. flandrumhill says:

    We’re pet-less too for the first time in a quarter of a century after finding a new home for our cat a couple of weeks ago. I’m liking it. So far.

    That photo of Daisy is beautiful. Her fluffy fur contrasts so nicely with the sleek leaves.

    • Kathy says:

      Ms. Amy Lynn, I am always SO happy to see you! You have become cat-less just in the past couple of weeks? For the first time in a quarter century? It must feel like retirement, or the kids moving out, or something!

  13. Carol says:

    Petless is not an option for me. Although there are those days. . . . Love your old photos; that’s why we take them, so we can go back and look at them and share them and remember. Also settle arguments – this morning the discussion was how old Twiggy is so I drug out the scrapbook. I won that one!

    • Kathy says:

      Congrats on winning that Twiggy argument, Carol. I love having some of these old photos on the computer now. (Thanks to our son Christopher for that!)

  14. Reggie says:

    I LOVE those stories, Kathy, what a wonderful, warm-and-fuzzy amble down memory lane. Thank you for sharing, and I hope you’ll tell us more!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

