The Santas, the Snowmen, the Tin Man and popcorn!

Christmas carnation from my “get well” flower arrangement

You guys simply wouldn’t believe the things that happen in Aura, Michigan!

It’s a magical place.

Lean close by our fire and I will tell you a magical tale.  OK, you can drink some hot chocolate first if you want a cup.  No, you can’t go make snow angels in the snow.  Not ’til we’re done with our Christmas story.

K’s favorite ornament from childhood

This is not the story of  Mary, Joseph and a babe in the manger.  This is not even the story of a fat jolly old elf with his sack full of toys magically emerging soot-free from a chimney.

This is the story of the Santas and Snowmen.  Settle yourselves down for a long winter’s snooze and listen to our Christmas story.

Christopher is not forgotten on our tree…

Years ago I walked into a raffle at the Aura Hall.  (I think it was the Aura Hall.  But it could have been the Skanee Hall.)  My eyes surveyed the scene and lingered on the only Prize I wanted.

Three inch high Santas and Snowmen sat on a tic-tac-toe board.  With cheery scarves, swirls and caps, they announced “CHRISTMAS” with utter joy.

I–who do not necessarily like very many decorations–fell head over snowflakes in love.

“The Santas and Snowmen are mine,” a voice in the head claimed them utterly.

However, who listens to voices in the head when they say such things?  Certainly not me.  I paid for a few raffle tickets and went home, never thinking about the tic-tac-toe Santas and Snowmen again.

Until the call came.

“You won!” announced a triumphant voice.  “A tic-tac-toe Santa and Snowmen set!”

The Santas and Snowmen set up residence every Christmastime beneath our tree.

Then–one Christmas–the Fun Began.

The Santas and Snowmen–and, oh yes, the Tin Man, too!

Someone (no one likes to admit who) decided that the Santas and Snowmen must be prime players in our Christmas scene.  One of the first years one of us–we won’t reveal who–set up a tableau in which the hapless fellows marched like lemmings, one following the other, off our living room coffee table.  (Please!  Do not judge us too rashly! We know we have weird senses of humor…)

The second year the Santas and Snowmen were all drunk and hung over on Christmas morning.  Empty beer bottles lay around their fallen bodies.  It was a frightful scene.  (We laughed so hysterically over this scene that we could barely function…HIGH FIVE for the Drue who thought that one up!)  Although I still remain partial to the lemming scene.

The Snowfolk (with popcorn)

The Santas and Snowmen have been found perched ‘way up high among our plants.  They have been found descending into the basement.  They gathered one year in our refrigerator. Last year they marched outside…well, I don’t want to spoil the story.  You really MUST click here and read what they did last year.  It was absolutely amazing what those fellas decided to do.

The Santas (with popcorn)

What would they do this year for an encore?  I went to bed before the Other Two occupants of the house.  When I awoke this morning…well, you can see the above scene.

The Santas and Snowmen AND Howard’s Tin Can Man (see story here if you’ve forgotten) were gathered around the TV watching a DVD and eating popcorn!

A note lay in their midst:  “After a long night delivering presents, the guys relax with a movie and some popcorn… and a new friend!”

(The Tin Man, being a recent arrival, is of course the “new friend”.)

Please let me know if you spotted any of these fellows delivering YOUR presents last night!

Ho!  Ho! (I’m sure they shouted.)  A MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU AND TO YOU A GOOD NIGHT!

29 responses to “The Santas, the Snowmen, the Tin Man and popcorn!

  1. A marvelous tale! I wonder what they will do next Christmas, hmm? I love that the Santas and Snowmen allow Howard the Tin Man to hang out with them. ;-)

    Have a fabulous evening!

    • Mother Kitty, I am so impressed that you liked the tale! I, too, was impressed with the positive behavior of the Santas & Snowmen. Wishing you a Lovely Christmas Evening! May you find many more entertaining stories…

  2. Ya gotta love these heartwarming little family traditions. Looks like the popcorn fight ended in a truce.

    • Gerry, thank goodness. I love when the popcorn fights end in a truce! The best kind of fights of all. :) merry Christmas to you & your amazing family!

  3. Very cute story, Kathy. Hope you are feeling better and better everyday.

    • Better and better every day, Marianne. Today is my first day “out on the town”. After lunch and a bookstore, I was exhausted so Kiah’s dropped me off at a coffee shop to recover before we head out in an hour or so! Glad you enjoyed the story.

  4. I love this annual tale and the new chapter with this year’s adventure! LOL! Just enchanting and hilarious! And I wonder what movie the guys agreed on … I’m pretty sure a couple of them were here in the wee hours. Woke with a start at 4:30 a.m. when I heard what sounded like candy wrapper rustling! Sure enough, I see a candy cane next to one of the Santas that looks suspiciously like one missing from my collection! Looks like an empty beer mug in his hand, too. Hmmmm…

    Delightful! Thank you for this Christmas night story, and for letting us participate in Drue family traditions. Love the pictures, and the Spirit … and am so happy you can laugh again without too much pain. Arrgghh, people have no idea how HARD it is NOT to laugh when recovering from tummy surgery! Love you!

    • I WONDER what movie the guys agreed on! My goodness, you are right. I have NO IDEA. I didn’t see any of OUR Santas or Snowmen imbibing this year…although there may be ONE in the bunch who got addicted after that one year. ?? So glad to have recovered (almost recovered) before running into YOU! Because we wouldn’t be able to resist laughing. Would we?

  5. I love traditions AND this one is fun! A tradition that have taken on a life of its own! Nice to have your own “family” nurse home.

    • It is fun, Jane, to have a family tradition like this. I like that it’s creative and changes every year. :) My nurse is taking me out shopping today, Jane…but am spending time in the coffee shop instead…

  6. What a cute story and tradition ! Too funny as well! I love that everyone gets in on the act, the santas and snowmen have their own personality, as well as a new friend.

    Merry Christmas !

    Jeff

    • It is the funniest thing, Jeff. Love to see what different family members come up with. I’m wondering if we will ever run out of ideas? Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you!

  7. Kathy – I’m a day late, but it was well worth the wait! Your funny story and photographs are great.

    • There is nothing like a day later in the blogging world, Laurie! I am amazed that you find time to visit other blogs when traveling. When I’m traveling, it proves literally impossible. Enjoy your time with your dad!

  8. lol! Wonderful story and tradition. It sounds like great fun, and like your Christmas was a good one. :)

  9. Ha, ha!!! I love it! Reminds me an awful lot of a certain Christmas village with zombies and crashing police cruisers. I’m never sure exactly what the scene will look like on Christmas morning.

    • Like I just said over at your blog: you better keep an eye open next Christmas. Our Santas and Snowmen love to travel. They might just decide your Village with those zombies and police cruisers looks like fun!

  10. Smiling some more Kathy and wishing you the best of all wishes. I love your Christmas traditions and the whole cast of little characters :) Are they willing to travel and if so, how far? They’re adorable!!

    Hope you had a lovely and quiet Christmas and that you will soon be able to laugh out loud with great gusto!!

    • Colleen, you never know when and where those snowmen and santas will travel! I wouldn’t doubt that they would head to California some year. (I can laugh out loud now. Not with gusto. But with joy. Coughing, though, is still challenging. Working on that!)

  11. Kathy……How cute! Santas, snowmen & Tin man……always so creative. Love the popcorn.
    Take care! Hugs….

    • I’ll bet you and Howard were surprised to see the Tin Man again, Doris!Thanks for the hugs…and all the healing energy you sent during the last week.

  12. Kathy, you are a wonderful story teller, I simply loved the Santas and Snowmen’s Saga. I hope you are feeling better and are ready to celebrate the New Year soon ! May it be a fruitful year, one filled with love and hope. All the Best to you and yours.

    • Isa, I so love telling stories! Thank you for enjoying our holiday tradition. I am feeling better each and every day. Blessings to you and yours as well!

  13. Giggle… I LOVE that story. I remember reading about their exploits in the snow last year, it was funny to read it all over again, as of course I just had to follow the link. Hm… I wonder whether we will ever see them marching across the desert dunes of the Namib? Or clustering around a waterhole in the Etosha National Park in Namibia or the Kruger National Park in South Africa, pointing out the giraffe and hippos and zebras and lions to each other? Or whether someone will spot them trudging up Table Mountain for sunset drinks (it seems they do quite fancy a bit of a tipple occasionally), overlooking our glorious city?

    Happiest of New Years to you and your loved ones, Kathy!

    • I’m glad you remembered the story from last year, Reggie! It’s always fun to see these Santas and Snowmen again with every new Christmas. I wonder if they would hide themselves in my suitcase and travel to someplace like South Africa? What a good question, considering how much one must stuff in a suitcase on trips overseas. Hmmm….they are crafty wee folk, so you never know. I know I would LOVE to see South Africa, whether the little ones come or not. Happy New Year to you, too, Ms. Reggie!

  14. Oh! the snowmen look so cute! :)And thats a beautiful carnation picture.. wonder what will they do next Christmas!! Kiah has got nice hair :)

  15. Pingback: Santas and Snowmen play in the snow | Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

